We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Rooms need Updating; Excellent Staff; Close to Kruger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in White River
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hotel Rooms need Updating; Excellent Staff; Close to Kruger”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at the Winkler and the gated grounds and lobby are lovely. However, our room had poor lighting and most rooms need updating. There was no plug in the bathroom. However, the rooms have flat screened TVs, wifi (no internet stations), a safe and hairdryer. Please bring a flashlight, because the hotel rooms have outside entrances and the walkway is poorly lighted. The food was very good at dinners and breakfast was adequate. Having said all this, you're not in your room that much as Kruger is close by, so if your mission is Kruger, enjoy the Winkler. There is an outdoor swimming pool, but it was too cold outside to use it. Wait staff and food servers were very pleasant.

Room Tip: I suggest rooms close to the lobby so at night time you don't have to walk far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilthd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear "Hilthd2000",

Greetings from all of us at Protea Hotel The Winkler!

Thank you for the kind comments and for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear we lived up to your expectations. Your detailed comments on our room standards are very much welcomed and will be discussed with the management team soonest.

Do make sure you pay us another visit soon!

Kind regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    86
    51
    15
    17
See reviews for
58
70
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Service was excellent from every member of staff. Rooms were spacious and beds were very comfortable. Showers hot. generous buffets. Enormous grounds for the kids and gorgeous views from the deck. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: this hotel is a must book, you miss out you lose
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear "Merriam C",

Brilliant comments! Thank you for your generous recommendations and for sharing this on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear we have been able to create a fun and comfortable family get away and the TEAM and I are looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We initially booked at a hotel located in Hazyview but decided to forfeit the deposit because the internet and reality don’t always match. It happens :-/ We were glad that The Winkler were able to accommodate us at such short notice. It rescued what would otherwise have been a ruined vacation. My experience was only positive – from the room (ie: spacious, clean, etc) right through to the facilities (ie: swimming area, in-house restaurant, etc).

I do have one suggestion for those wishing to stay at The Winkler. Please DON’T use the R538 between Hazyview and the hotel, since there are countless pot-holes/craters. I preferred to travel the extra few kilometres back to White River and to then take the R40 towards the Phabeni Gate (Kruger Park). The Numbi gate is an option but you can ask the hotel whether that stretch is crater-less.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dacostri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear "dacostri",

Thank you so much for the positive review. We are thrilled to hear you have had such a great time during your visit to our beautiful hotel. Glad to know we have been able to "save" your holiday.

Do come back to us soon!

Kind regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

As a black south African, we usually are very patient in nature, not full of complaints, but hai khona! I visited the place on the 27th- 29th December 2013, generally I would say the hotel is fine, but would give it 3 star not 4. The food on the 27 was ...okay...then on the 28th and 29 you probably know it. The grape juice was horribly diluted, the custard was re-cooked obviously to try and make it fresh, watery and tasteless,the ecclairs were so old even a street kid/beggar would refuse to eat it. I think you guys bribe the star grading assessors, your establishment should be a 3 star

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rehoboth657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear "Rehoboth657",

Thank you for your honest feedback! Our apologies for not being able to live up to your expectations when staying with us and the end of 2013.

I can assure you that our hotel is graded as a 4 star hotel for many years already and that this is done in an unbiased and transparent way. Your food experience is certainly not reflective of the high standard we offer to our guests on a day to day basis, hence I will discuss your comments with our kitchen TEAM in detail. Again, our apologies for dropping the ball on some of the food items served on the buffet during your 2nd and 3rd day of stay.

Your sincerely,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We visit this hotel at least twice a year and with out fault great staff,great service. Great entertainment for the children, they have games room,water slides and sometimes a movie of their choice in the rooms. The A la Carte Menu is a great alternative to the buffet.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Noeleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear "Noeleen H",

On behalf of the TEAM at Protea Hotel The Winkler, I thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your recommendations! Its much appreciated.

We can't wait to host you and your family again soon.

Warm regards,


Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A good choice of hotel to relax and enjoy the surroundings.
A good central point to see and explore the area, a great place to come back to and relax and enjoy good food and a swim.
Sundowners overlooking the pool is fantastic with the lights lighting up the pool and grass area.
The rooms clean and big.

Room Tip: The family rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear "Mark N",

Greetings from White River!

Thank you so much for your kind recommendations of our beloved Protea Hotel The Winkler. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be an relaxing experience. A jump in the pool followed by a sundowner on the patio can certainly assist in escaping the rush of every day life.

We cant wait to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,


Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
244 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is 25 minutes from Numbi Gate and 45 minutes from Phabeni gate . It is a great option for those not wanting to spend big money staying in Sabie Sands . We were greeted with a warm welcome by Gladys who checked us in with a smile and a welcome drink . Rooms are large and bright and wifi is available for free in the bar and reception areas . Zanele was also very helpful and friendly with queries at reception . The hotel has a large lounge area with a great open fire place that you can read and relax in and huge beautiful gardens that you can walk in and do some bird watching . We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel and the food was of a high standard and quality over our 3 night stay . The only negative was the chef Precious who was unsmiling and unfriendly in stark contrast to the rest of the hotel staff . Overall though a great stay and very good value for money option outside of the Kruger park .

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnFinchPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for the excellent review! Especially your kind recommendations on the service received by our TEAM members are much appreciated. I agree with you that our beloved hotel offers great value for money while in close proximity of many attractions in the area including Kruger Park. The beautiful spacious facilities on offer and luscious gardens are enjoyed by all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
3.9 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
6.9 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
16.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.4 mi away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel The Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Winkler

Property: Premier Hotel The Winkler
Address: R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Hotel The Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing