We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jatinga Country Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in White River
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Everything about this place was great! Fantastis room, amazing garden and the best people! Wayne and everyone in your team, thanks a lot for an amazing stay!

They really did there best to make our stay as nice as posible. Also the food was fantastic. When I return to South Africa, jatinga country lodge is a stop I definately make again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
36
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My family recently arrived in White River only to find that the hotel we'd booked was nowhere close to the standard they had suggested online. So imagine the panic with having 3 hours to try and find alternative accommodation for 4 adults and 3 children - over the busy festive season?!

We were put in touch with Jatinga - but at this late stage they had no family rooms left. However no longer than 10mins after our inquiry we were called back to say that they had been able to make a plan by shifting around existing bookings to help accommodate us.

While we were quite prepared at this stage to forego some comfort and have the kids sleep on a mattress on the floor - Jatinga on their own volition however, brought in 3 proper single beds with mattresses for them - which we really didn't expect, and which really made the stay comfortable for the youngsters also. I must add that we were also only charged the standard rate for the double rooms.

The rooms were large and really tasteful. Huge bathrooms and an outside shower that was a real treat. Our 'stoeps' looked out onto really magnificent gardens, which were a pleasure to walk through. There is a river that runs through the property which we enjoyed walking along in the mornings.

The service was really warm. The small staff compliment were exceptionally attentive and sincere in their interest in our 'big fat greek family' and our daily going ons. We were made to feel really welcome and special. Even being unexpectedly treated to a complimentary round of our preferred drinks brought to our door one evening. We'd ordered these a few days in a row - when these simply arrived unasked for one evening!

Breakfast was plentiful, offered good variety and was served in a lovely dining room. The staff did struggle a bit with efficiency when more than 2 tables of guests arrived at the same time - but as we were on holiday this was really not a big issue for us.

We did not have dinner in the restaurant as its fine dining style wasn't really suited to our kids. But when we 'cheekily' asked for olive oil one night having brought take-aways into the hotel to feed the family...we received a full set of condiments to our door (again - more than we had asked for).

All in all - a truly lovely, relaxing and elegant lodge with extremely sincere warmth of service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna-Rae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Jatinga Lodge for a week and were pleasantly surprised. The lodge is conveniently situated near the Kruger Park but also well situated for us to explore the beautiful areas around the park. There was not enough time to see everything! The lodge is set in the most spectacular gardens, the rooms comfortable and clean and the food extremely good. The staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to make us feel at home. We stayed an extra night and will definitely go back. Old colonial charm at its best!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Best kept secret near Kruger . Small boutique lodge with about 15 bungalows ( each one holding 2 rooms) dispersed in magnificient gardens . Rooms are spacious , extra clean , very nicely decorated with king size bed . Main building where dining room , bar , lobby and library are located , all offer a superb view on the gardens and the pool . This place is unbeleivably peaceful , making it an Ideal location for a break between 2 safaris . Staff is absolutely charming , always ready to help with a great big smile . Food was simply gorgeous , dinner as well as breakfast . Very efficient Wi Fi in lobby .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredo025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

we stayed here in august for our good friends wedding and it couldn't have been better.
genuine hospitality and friendliness and we felt as if we had left friends when we checked out.

very, very highly recommended and just first class - the staff were impressive.

great wine cellar and sparkling white under $15 a bottle!

Room Tip: just relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here for a wedding with my family. Fantastic rooms and service, amazing wedding reception, venue and over all package. The food was lovely, both dinner at the reception and the next morning breakfast was superb. Staff work so hard! They were there when we left at 3am and there when we wanted breakfast at 9am! Very hard workers. Would happily come here again to stay next time I am in South Africa.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Booked in for one night only which was our mistake as Jatinga is a place you should spend some time.
The rooms are fantastic.
The gardens just amazing
The dinning room and food is top quality
The staff extremely helpful
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coroona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
5.7 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 10 in White River
180 reviews
5.1 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
207 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#1 of 10 in White River
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
255 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
209 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jatinga Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jatinga Country Lodge

Property: Jatinga Country Lodge
Address: Jatinga Road, Plaston Nr., White River, 1240 | Plaston, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jatinga Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 38 km from the Kruger Park, Jatinga is within easy driving distance of the scenic Panorama route and several excellent golf courses. Six new rooms opened in September '05, known as the Orchard and Forest rooms. In true Colonial style, tea and fresh scones are served each afternoon with our compliments. Complimentary sparkling wine and canapes served at sundown each day in the privacy of your room, a mere taste of things to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jatinga Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jatinga Country Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing