We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Lodge for Rest and Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jatinga Country Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in White River
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We enjoyed our brief stay at Jatinga June 2014. I visited this property with my husband and 2 teenagers and we found the host and service fabulous. Our host was Andre he provided us with excellent service and our breakfast was delicious too. Everything was fresh and cooked to order. We enjoyed the lush gardens and creek on the property.We plan to return so that we can enjoy a longer stay. I would recommend Jatinga for couples and solo. Jatinga provided a place to relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of nature. So if you do not enjoy beautiful lush gardens and the sights and sounds of nature Jatinga is not for you!

Room Tip: Contact Andre he will take good care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGurl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Jatinga is a beautiful property set in lush gardens. The rooms are spacious and neat. Lovely old world country chic public areas. Over all it would be a really nice place to stay if it was not for the owner/hostess! In our opinion she is a major draw back to this beautiful establishment. She is loud, in your face and has no respect for guest’s privacy, not to mention the extreme cursing and shouting at staff members. We as guests felt really uncomfortable as she would scream at the staff right in front of guests. We have never in our lives met such an ill mannered woman in our lives! The totally vile language she uses is beyond comprehension in an establishment like this.
The last to mention on this is the racism of the owners! With no respect to guests she uses racist words towards the staff. We felt embarrassed being in the same room with her! If not enough she would then turn around and say loudly and proudly: ‘These blacks would drive me insane’! We omitted the precise words she uses as it would not be suitable to do so.
Apart from all this we felt as if we ended up in some boot camp or something! She constantly harasses you about meals and meal times. It is a hotel with a restaurant. We do understand that there are certain times meals are served, but as guests we certainly also have the choice to have dinner at the hotel or go out for dinner without having to explain ourselves! This property is marketed as a full service hotel but it surely is run more like a limited service guest house!
We could go on and on but enough said!
We will never return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Qualitysleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had dinner there last night and even though the decor and setting are lovely, nothing could make up for the atrocious dinner we had. The service was non-existent. The hostess was wandering around the dining room barefoot and not once did she come to our table to ask if everything was ok. The food was appalling - it was the kind of food one would expect to get in a school hostel. There was a very limited buffet, the food was cold and we were lucky to get the last few bits of dry cold chicken. We will never go there again.

Room Tip: We didn't sleep there but when I did the review I couldn't change the rating for sleep quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Archie9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Jatinga and would like to mention few both positives and negatives experiences we had over these few days:

POSITIVES

Service:
- Very nice and friendly welcome - we were offered drinks (not complementary though)and were assisted with a luggage. We were a little bit earlier but there was no problem with accommodating our request. Definitely a warm welcome.

Accommodation:
- We really loved the look of the whole place. Lush and well-manicured gardens, beautiful patio, smart room interior. You can hear a river from the bottom of the garden. Very relaxing
- Our own cottage /room looked very pretty. Large bathroom with outdoor shower, pretty and private patio with a little table and chairs, large and comfortable bed, aircon,tv etc ... . (home baked biscuits/tea/coffee)
Dinning:
- Very good breakfasts – muffins and porridge were my favorite! Beautifully served. Service was generally very good and friendly. The lady who is one of the owners (family run business) was extremely friendly and making sure things were running smoothly (thank you for Easter chocolate eggs :)We should also mention that breakfast time is flexible which is great if you would like to have it later....

- We only ordered dinner once but we can recommend it.

Location:
- Close to Kruger park for those who are planning to visit, beautiful golf course….beautiful surrounding

NEGATIVES

Service:
-If not our persistence we probably wouldn’t have booked into J. I called one morning requesting a quote – Ch. promised to send it later as he could not advise on the price/availability over the phone.(system was down or slow) The quote never came through. Then my husband called and sent an e-mail. We waited until the next day and only after another phone call to the reception we received a message.

-We have ordered a room service one evening and Ch. promised to come to the room at 07pm to take an order but he never did ( no apologies later or the next morning). As per instruction in the little booklet in our room, my husband went again to the reception to order the food and 2 gentleman (owners we believe ) pointed their kitchen to him …… if you are not keen on doing room service then rather don’t offer it at all as we found it unprofessional and impolite.

- Service generally good but we would suggest that the staff should be trained/advised on things like: taking orders rather than assuming what their guest would like to eat :)
When we arrived at the breakfast table one morning , the food started magically arriving……porridge, muffins, muesli, yogurts. At first it was nice but then we realized something wasn’t right when the full English breakfast appeared…….and this is when we had to tell the waitress that we would actually like something else than what she brought.

Accommodation:
-Lighting – my side light wasn’t working, some bulbs were missing and the patio light wasn’t working at all. It was a shame as we wanted to eat our dinner outside while the baby was falling to sleep inside.

-We did read in the booklet (from our room) that J. does have a baby cot – it is a shame no one offered us one when we were making bookings. It would have saved us a lot of space in a car.

All in all, we did enjoy our stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Everything about this place was great! Fantastis room, amazing garden and the best people! Wayne and everyone in your team, thanks a lot for an amazing stay!

They really did there best to make our stay as nice as posible. Also the food was fantastic. When I return to South Africa, jatinga country lodge is a stop I definately make again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My family recently arrived in White River only to find that the hotel we'd booked was nowhere close to the standard they had suggested online. So imagine the panic with having 3 hours to try and find alternative accommodation for 4 adults and 3 children - over the busy festive season?!

We were put in touch with Jatinga - but at this late stage they had no family rooms left. However no longer than 10mins after our inquiry we were called back to say that they had been able to make a plan by shifting around existing bookings to help accommodate us.

While we were quite prepared at this stage to forego some comfort and have the kids sleep on a mattress on the floor - Jatinga on their own volition however, brought in 3 proper single beds with mattresses for them - which we really didn't expect, and which really made the stay comfortable for the youngsters also. I must add that we were also only charged the standard rate for the double rooms.

The rooms were large and really tasteful. Huge bathrooms and an outside shower that was a real treat. Our 'stoeps' looked out onto really magnificent gardens, which were a pleasure to walk through. There is a river that runs through the property which we enjoyed walking along in the mornings.

The service was really warm. The small staff compliment were exceptionally attentive and sincere in their interest in our 'big fat greek family' and our daily going ons. We were made to feel really welcome and special. Even being unexpectedly treated to a complimentary round of our preferred drinks brought to our door one evening. We'd ordered these a few days in a row - when these simply arrived unasked for one evening!

Breakfast was plentiful, offered good variety and was served in a lovely dining room. The staff did struggle a bit with efficiency when more than 2 tables of guests arrived at the same time - but as we were on holiday this was really not a big issue for us.

We did not have dinner in the restaurant as its fine dining style wasn't really suited to our kids. But when we 'cheekily' asked for olive oil one night having brought take-aways into the hotel to feed the family...we received a full set of condiments to our door (again - more than we had asked for).

All in all - a truly lovely, relaxing and elegant lodge with extremely sincere warmth of service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna-Rae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Jatinga Lodge for a week and were pleasantly surprised. The lodge is conveniently situated near the Kruger Park but also well situated for us to explore the beautiful areas around the park. There was not enough time to see everything! The lodge is set in the most spectacular gardens, the rooms comfortable and clean and the food extremely good. The staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to make us feel at home. We stayed an extra night and will definitely go back. Old colonial charm at its best!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White River hotels
5.2 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 10 in White River
188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
273 reviews
5.1 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#1 of 10 in White River
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
219 reviews
3.2 mi away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
336 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Lane Lodge
Country Lane Lodge
#3 of 36 in White River
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jatinga Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jatinga Country Lodge

Address: Jatinga Road, Plaston Nr., White River, 1240 | Plaston, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range: £69 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jatinga Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 38 km from the Kruger Park, Jatinga is within easy driving distance of the scenic Panorama route and several excellent golf courses. Six new rooms opened in September '05, known as the Orchard and Forest rooms. In true Colonial style, tea and fresh scones are served each afternoon with our compliments. Complimentary sparkling wine and canapes served at sundown each day in the privacy of your room, a mere taste of things to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jatinga Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jatinga Country Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing