We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite spot”
Review of Ambience Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambience Inn
Ranked #9 of 36 White River B&B and Inns
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Favorite spot”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I stay at Ambience often. A lovely, quiet spot with two gracious hosts and the best breakfast in town. Painting classes are organized from time to time and the house is filled with art from your hosts travels. A beautiful garden filled with orchids and a lovely swimming pool. And then there are the three friendly dogs who will greet you upon arrival and visit with you in the garden.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
32
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a beautiful, relaxing B&B, set in the artistic city of White River. The owners welcome you as friends, with ready suggestions for things to see and do or, if you just want to relax, you can enjoy the spacious, flowered grounds and the wonderful pool. Breakfasts are simply amazing; be sure and select one of their fabulous omelets!

Room Tip: Be sure and get a room with an outdoor shower - heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3900Highland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I had used a number of bed and breakfast establishments in the Nelspruit/White River area before finding Ambience Inn in White River. Ambience is now a place I consider home. It's an easy 45-minute airline flight from Johannesburg, and I customarily pop over when in Johannesburg/Pretoria on business since I'm guaranteed fresh highlands air, a good night of sleep, and a nice choice of gourmet restaurants.

White River is an upscale golf resort for Johannesburg, and Ambience Inn fits right in with the tone of the town. It's also very convenient for Kruger Park visits, as well.

Issy De Lira, one of the two owners, can arrange airline flights to Kruger-Mpumalanga as well as a car rental there. His arrangements are flawless. I know that all I need to do for a relaxing weekend is to show up at OR Tambo in Johannesburg, board the South African Airlink flight, and the rest is taken care of for me.

Ambience is conveniently located between the city of Nelspruit and the trendy, country-style shopping and crafts center known as Casterbridge Farm. Issy can make reservations at any of the top restaurants in the area and is always spot-on with his selections.

Ambience caters to a large diplomatic clientele from Mozambique so your fellow guests will be multi-national and multi-lingual. It's a sophisticated group of guests and a quiet, comfortable environment. I highly recommend Ambience Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerbTreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We just checked out "some B&Bs" in the neighborhood before we went,and never expected to see the elegant place that was before us. I was frighted the price quote for the room was wrong, but it wasn't. Our bed had 13 pillows on it including a hot water bottle(disguised as a hippo), and the bath had every amenity imaginable, including an outdoor shower. The string of rooms appear to be in tropical forest with lush growth on each patio, where you could sit and relax or eat. The room doesn't need to be big because you aren't in it that long. It has a huge salt water pool with plenty of lounge chairs. Breakfast is either on a patio or in the dining room, which is surrounded by a trough of koi fish swimming about. The food is home cooked by the owners, and is out of this world delicious. They are kind and most obliging. We would go back in a flash!!!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

This is a very nice place, tucked away from the hustle bustle.
We stayed there just one night, the rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. The hospitality was wonderful, the meals were great and they made extra effort to accomodate us as we are vegetarians.

They have beautiful gardens and have hammocks on which one can easily watch the afternoon go by completely relaxed!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this B & B. Rooms on the small side and need updating . Mattress on bed very old and lumpy. Small but functional bathroom, also outside shower. Very helpful host Izzy and 2 lovely dogs, channel and Tosca on site. Very good breakfast and lovely gardens.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2008

Don't be put off by the access to this B&B - along a rather ordinary suburban street. The place is gorgeous, with beautiful, well tended gardens, a lovely pool and comfortable and well appointed rooms. When your host greets you with a complimentary cold drink after your long journey, and later brings you a platter of fruit he has just brought back from the market, you know you are in good hands. We had an almighty thunder storm just after our arrival, and when we emerged from our room to go for dinner, it was to find that a large umbrella had been delivered for our use. Breakfast was beautifully presented and delicious (loved the peppadew sausage). Most guests we met were on their fourth or fifth visit and I am not surprised. Hannes and Issy have created a gem.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank ganifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White River hotels
3.0 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
209 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#1 of 10 in White River
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Country Lane Lodge
Country Lane Lodge
#3 of 36 in White River
135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nut Grove Manor
Nut Grove Manor
#2 of 36 in White River
133 reviews
2.8 mi away
White House Lodge
White House Lodge
#1 of 36 in White River
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambience Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambience Inn

Property: Ambience Inn
Address: 28 Wally Scott Street | White River, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambience Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ambience Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing