We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place of beauty”
Review of Ambience Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambience Inn
Ranked #9 of 36 White River B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A place of beauty”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This place is so beautiful........We were immediately seduced........Surrounded by a beautiful garden(and very exotic for us, with avo and macademia nut trees among others). There is a great feeling of peace and tranquility and everywhere you look, there are all these interesting details and the whole inn is very stylish. And friendly, from the cool owners, who are very welcoming and very helpful, to their dogs, who are just amazing and cute...............
My husband and I are currently on a holiday stay in SA and the 2 times we travelled to Mpumalanga, we stayed here, at Ambience Inn. We really liked the first time and so we knew we wanted to come back.
White River is a very nice and convenient place for exploring Mpumalanga and we got a lot of useful tips from the owners as well.
There is one more thing I have to mention - this inn serves the best breakfast ever!!!! We really enjoyed the fresh fruit and juices( as well as the eggs & sausages)......but the fruit........so beautiful and tasty..........
We are looking forward to being back one day again.
Thank you Issy and Hannes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagmar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbienceLover, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Dagmar, what a lovely surprise ! Thank you so much for your kind and sincere review. We enjoyed your company and it was really a pleasure for us to be of service to you both. It's reviews like yours that keep us motivated and we look forward to your next visit whenever you are back in South Africa. Very warm regards to you both, Issy and Hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
32
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed their for a night , but was one of the best places i visited . Lush green gardens, open shower and beautifully decorated rooms and very neat and clean .. The place felt very secure and the staff was helpful . The place is a beauty .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANKIT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbienceLover, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ambience and that you have good memories of your visit. Thanks for your photos as well. Kind regards, Issy & Hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A tranquil ambiance plus warmhearted hospitality equals a wholly satisfying experience.

The alluring grounds and gardens, creatively decorated interiors, welcoming service and an excellent breakfast fare lead me to highly recommend the Ambiance Inn. It is a refreshing place to stay after a drive in the Kruger National Park or a trip through the Mpumulanga Lowveld. The proprietors go out of their way to make their clients feel comfortable.

As always, we had a marvelous stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambience I, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Good morning Michael, thank you so much for making the time to share your experience about Ambience Inn ! We're delighted and it's great to know that your enjoy our environment. We also enjoy having you here, your interesting conversation and look forward to your next visit. Take care Hannes & Issy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I spent three nights here and found it a truly relaxing experience. Well managed, rooms, garden and breakfast top notch. Garden enticing, pool lovely for afternoon or early morning swims. Great value.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zinkwazisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambience I, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Greetings and thank you for your review, we're pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. it's what we love doing and we really appreciate your positive feedback. Best wishes for a very good year ahead, Issy and Hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I cannot add much more to what has already been written except to say that I agree with all the previous reviewers that this is a wonderful place to stay in the area of the Kruger Park, Nelspruit and White River. The B&B is very clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated, including some magnificent original art in the dining area. Each room has a patio overlooking a beautiful, indigenous tropical garden, where the clivias were in full bloom, and there are many interesting orchids. It was tranquil and serene. Breakfasts were superb, especially the fresh fruit and freshly made juice. Rusks in the rooms with the tea were also great. Service was friendly and very competent, but discrete and unobtrusive. We also received great advice on restaurants in the area for other meals, road conditions, and tourist attractions in the area. I completely recommend this B&B and I am sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambience I, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip advisor, following your recent stay at Ambience.

We have shared your comments with our staff and are extremely proud to have made your stay a relaxed and memorable one.

Kind regards, Issy & Hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I am always weary about booking accommodation online. When I saw the pictures for Ambience Inn on the website, it looked so beautiful and I decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed: the guest house is stunning. Beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable and very secure, in a peaceful tropical setting - ideal for getting away from the rat race. The service from the hosts is impeccable, they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The breakfast is fresh, healthy and tasty.
The guest house is ideally situated for visits to the area: Kruger, Graskop, Sabie, Hazyview.
You will not be disappointed if you book at Ambience Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbienceLover, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind opinion and support. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you another time. Take care Hannes & Issy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa, North West Province
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

when selecting a place I always look for SMALL PEACEFUL and Stylish places to stay.
Ambience provided all this! it is situated in a doubly secure area with spacious well manicured grounds. Issy and Hannes go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable and at home. It is and 'open' Guest house and where i felt part of the family. the breakfast is "taylor made" to each guests preference. What stood out for me is the FRESHLY CUT and prepared fruit and the FRESHLY PREPARED fruit juice. (jugs with juice made from concentrate do not appeal to me)
due to the size of the house and facilities and the limited number of guests they take in, the nett result is personalised attention and privacy...the question i ask myself about a guest house/hotel is "will i go there again?" the answer seldom is yes. in the case my answer is an an unqualified yes.
(my deciding on ambience was based on a TRIPADVISOR review, my experience was consistent with this which i am happy about, given the fact that people see and experience things differently)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambience I, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hello and thank you so much for your review. We're pleased that we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back another time. Kind regards Issy & Hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White River hotels
0.7 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#6 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nut Grove Manor
Nut Grove Manor
#2 of 36 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.0 mi away
El Roi Guest Lodge
El Roi Guest Lodge
#4 of 36 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.8 mi away
White House Lodge
White House Lodge
#1 of 36 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambience Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambience Inn

Property: Ambience Inn
Address: 28 Wally Scott Street | White River, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambience Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambience Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing