We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Sun The Ridge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in eMalahleni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Southern sun hotels always maintain a good standard in terms of room finishes, linen and toiletries, the Ridge is no exception. The rooms are large and clean with nice airy colour scheme. Bathrooms are well appointed with great towels. Linen was nice crisp clean percale, Staff were friendly and accomodating. Breakfast is served at the Cuban Coffee shop next to reception, good clean restaurant. Hotel is very convenient as it is attached to a casino and shopping mall. There is also a beautiful picnic area at the local dam thats a lovely day out. I've stayed here about 5 times and was never dissapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Kevin

Great Stay

Southern Sun The Ridge management is proud to have hosted you. We hope it was not your last visit. Please keep on supporting us.

Best regards

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed from 12/10 to 14/10/2012. A great weekend breakaway from Johannesburg as the resort is only just over an hour. From the time of arrival to departure, all of the staff we interacted with were superb. On arrival, there was a thank you card and a bottle of wine with a carry case, which I must add, set us in the right positive mood. Rooms were clean and neat on arrival and the days that followed. The hotel is very nicely located with a huge shopping mall, great restuarants and the Casino. We were very taken in when the General manager came into the breakfast place and introduced himself and chatted with patrons. Certainly a good touch. What would be nice is, if the hot breakfast could include some chicken meal as well.

Room Tip: Rooms 105 to 110 on the 1st floor are well located. I presume rooms 205 to 210 on the second floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Logan

We are indeed a great break away from Gauteng. We are only about an hour drive from Gauteng. Our one stop shop Complex will always be waiting to welcome you back.
Your visits are important to us.

Best regards

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Hotel was clean however the fittings need refurbishing. Carpets badly stained and pile was flattened. In the room the desk varnish worn down to wood. Delayed checkout due to meals not included in bill Hotel General Manager apologetic.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Robert

Tired but convenient will be the say of the past soon. We are scheduled for the soft refurbishment during the course of this year whilst having been in existance for the past 12 years. We hope to see you back to taste and experience the new look and feel interior of our rooms.

Best regards

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed here for just over a week. The rooms are quite nice and have most things you need for a pleasant stay. No fridge in the room isn't great when you are here for more than a couple of days. The meals served in the restaurants in proximity to the hotel are pretty good, great steaks at very reasonable prices. The staff are generally pleasant and helpful. This hotel is fine for a stay of a couple of days. A big let down is the fact there is no gym of any sort which is pretty strange. Sleep quality was poor on the weekend due to the noise outside as the hotel is part of a casino complex (a pretty average one too!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kosta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Kosta

Our pristine hotel is waiting to hear from you when you would like our reservations team to book you back to experience the 3D and Digital Movies recently introduced in our Complex. As you are aware that there is more to offer in our Casino, Hotels and Entertainment Complex through various services and products offered by our experienced and professional teams, we have a room waiting for you.

Thank you for your support.

Best regards

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We requested a double room, and this means two double beds in the room. Very comfortable, very clean, and although the hotel is part of an entertainment complex, the rooms are soundproof, so no disturbances from the hustle and bustle downstairs. The hotel itself is in the same complex as the Ridge Casino, there is a children's entertainment area (bowling alley and computer games),a multi-cinema complex, a sweet shop, a coffee house and a restaurant. Breakfast is served in the coffee house. There is a big shopping mall next to the hotel/casino complex, easily accessible by escalators. The food at both the hotel restaurants are very much overpriced and service at the coffee house is very slow, but being next to the mall gives you a wide choice of eateries.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Erica

Please accept my sincere apologies for responding back to you almost 2 years later. We have been experiencing some technical glitches with our connection which has now been resolved. We note and appreciate your feedback with regards to our hotel, assumingly products and staff involved to complete a great stay for you. Not sure if you have visited us again, if not, I am certain that you will enjoy the recent developments that have taken place in our Complex and Emalahleni as a whole.

Your feedback and visits are important to us and we hope to see you back many more times in our Complex.

Best regards

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a room with 2 doubles. It was up to American standards w/ duvets, coffee/tea pots, granite & tile. The staff was helpful, when we needed them. There were snacks in the lobby every afternoon. Birds singing outside our room which was overlooking a small courtyard & pool. Breakfast was included w/ our room & it was wonderful. It included the breakfast "bar" at the coffee shop & anything else we wanted to order from the menu. This hotel is attached to a casino & huge mall. It was an easy drive from Johannesburg & you can see it from the highway. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstahura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph M, Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you very much for the excellent feedback. It is our aim to provide uncompromising service to all our guests at all times. Please accept my sisncere apologies for the two years later response. We have been experiencing some technical challenges on our side.
Best Regards

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Would not go back here if they paid me. The staff were terribly rude, unprovoked. Obviously unhappy working there, but really is that our problem? And beyond belief unhelpful. They had also messed up our booking so we were only given 1 night of the 3 we'd booked and no apologies, no assitance in finding somewhere else to stay in a town somewhat lacking on hotels.

Location is good. There's a casino and shopping centre adjacent. Also a cinema, which was closed when we were there.

But I would go with the Proteas or one of the guest houses as this place was terrible. The bathroom stank and had clearly not been cleaned. The beds were made but with filthy sheets - like I'm talking wearing full clothes to bed, wouldn't sleep on them dirty - and I don't think there's any excuse for that whatsoever. Yes, it was noisy also, but there's so much construction going on everywhere in SA getting ready for 2010 Soccer World Cup.

Wouldn't go back here. Would tell everyone I know not to go here. Worst hotel we've stayed at, and such a disappointment for such a big chain.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near eMalahleni
3.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Emalahleni Highveld
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Emalahleni Witbank
15.4 mi away
Kairos Home
Kairos Home
#1 of 2 in Middelburg
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Visit Vakasha Guest Lodge
Visit Vakasha Guest Lodge
#7 of 41 in eMalahleni
3 reviews
2 mi away
Yalla Yalla Boutique Hotel
Yalla Yalla Boutique Hotel
#1 of 41 in eMalahleni
46 reviews
4 mi away
Kalahari Guest House
Kalahari Guest House
#13 of 41 in eMalahleni
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Ridge

Address: 4 Cnr President Avenue and N Highway, eMalahleni 1034, South Africa (Formerly Ridge Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > eMalahleni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in eMalahleni
Price Range: £72 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Ridge Casino and Entertainment Resort in Mpumalanga lies Southern Sun the Ridge Hotel which offers the excellence that you have become accustomed to from Southern Sun. Located just off the N4 / N12 toll road from Johannesburg / Pretoria to the Kruger National Park and Mozambique, this is the ideal overnight stop on your way to the Mpumalanga Lowveld or Mozambique. The Ridge entertainment complex offers a wide variety of fun activities including shops, restaurants, cinemas, a ten-pin bowling alley as well as the casino tables and slot machines. The Highveld Shopping Mall adjoins the complex and offers a wide variety of retail options. Hotel residents receive 500mb per day free W-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Southern Sun The Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing