We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
hayleyi2013

A little disappointing

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jan 2017
I had booked an executive suite, which was more expensive than the standard room. The suite was half the size of the standard room I moved to, and the suite had only a shower, so I downgraded as could not understand this. The room we were given was good, except there was a dirty coffee cup on window sill and it was not very clean. The food in the restaurant was between below average and average.
Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elmarie D, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley, responded to this review
Responded 16 Jan 2017
Dear Hayley,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced with your room allocation. The overall housekeeping has been addressed with housekeeping. We are extremely saddened by your feedback about your experience in the restaurant. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up with the Kitchen manager and her TEAM. Remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Kimberley.

Sincerely,

Elmarie De Villiers
Protea Hotel by Marriott ® Kimberley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £76
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
1.3 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £77
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.2 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room A3
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.7 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 6
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £41
  • Hotels.com
1.6 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £47
  • Booking.com
1.9 miles from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
View more hotels in Kimberley
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
85
113
75
34
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
113
75
34
23
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We are traveling around South Africa. After a 4 hour drive from the Johannesburg are we arrived in Kimberley, a city of 250,000 people. There isn't much in the area, but Kimberley is known for Diamond Mines. There are many huge holes from past mining operations. Directly behind the Protea is the largest, (The Big Hole) Its huge and almost scary to be so close. The Hotel feels like an old place, and it basically is. They have kept the historic theme and yet the rooms are modern and up to date. This is a very nice place, for a real inexpensive price. Definitely worth staying here if you are passing through. A great staff and nice room.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The staff were very friendly. Enjoyed the Manager Johann. The food were not that great but there is good food at the big hole. The rooms were clean.We had excess for free to the big hole. Hotel is full nof history. Pool is an old farm dam children loved it.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the big hole.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annelizeroetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Our first night of our holiday could not have started better - we stayed at the Protea Hotel at the Big Hole and we were seriously impressed with the service. All the staff were extremely friendly. We felt they understood the concept of service more than most places in Johannesburg, with every staff member going out of their way to assist even if it wasn't their job description that they were assisting with. This must be the best place to stay in Kimberley!
The only negative I would say would be the price of breakfast. We opted to find breakfast in town as R185 seemed more food than we needed.

Room tip: There are rooms with a "view" of the Big Hole.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget612
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Rooms are very nice and overall look is lovely and quaint. The dinner however was a complete disaster. Waited two hours for food to arrive. Had to send back the starter it was so bad. Menu reads glazed salmon with creme fresh. I got lettuce and tomato with not very fresh smoked salmon on top, dressed with soy sauce. Rather try a restaurant in town. You arrive tired and hungry and then have to wait ages for bad food. Not very pleasant. And by the looks of all the same comments dating back months followed by letters of apology from management here, without any change to the food or service ,anyone would be served well to skip the food at this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2017
Thank Maried704
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bianca K, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear Marie D,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you were happy with the overall look of the room. Your commendations are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated the Housekeeping TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

We are extremely saddened by your feedback about your experience in the restaurant. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced on your arrival. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up with the Food and Beverage manager and his TEAM and remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Kimberley.

Sincerely,

Elmarie de Villiers
Protea Hotel by Marriott ® Kimberley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Our family stayed in this Hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The Big Hole is just a few steps away and the rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. The staff were helpfull and friendly and the breakfast was fantastic.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AdventurerousFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews