We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth its 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cecil John Rhodes Guest House
Ranked #13 of 72 Kimberley B&B and Inns
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth its 4 stars”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I received a complementary room for one night recently from a lady called "Madeleine" (supposedly a manager at the guesthouse). When I went to check in, they informed me that there was no record of this and that Madeleine was off for the weekend, so she was not avaiable to confirm her promise. They didn't bother to call her. I wrote it off as a misunderstanding and asked if they had another room available and was then overcharged for that room before I had to corrected them. The TV in the room wasn't working, there was grafiti on the wall outside and the staff was particularly unhelpful. I wonder how recently this place was visited by the tourism board, because they would have to remove atleast one of their supposed "4 stars".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeinrichVenter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melezaan, Owner at Cecil John Rhodes Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2015
Dear guest or rather non-guest

You made personal arrangements with my manager with regards to a wine tasting you wanted to do using our property as a base. When the wine tasting was cancelled weeks before, you still wanted to claim a free room. When the manager on duty offered you a room at a reduced price, you were not interested and left our premises. You were never a guest at our guest house. I would like to report you as a fraudulent source of information and find it very mean to write falsehoods on a public site like Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
9
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed there 2 nights and loved the heritage feel amongst the hussle of the city. Madeleine and Elri were like old friends and took care of us as if we were the only guests. The house was full but still the chef, Werner, brought us a wonderfull breakfast (eggs exactly as we ordered). They could suggest places we had to see and we were surprised at how many historical sites were within walking distance. The rooms are really spacious and well kept. We would visit sgain.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bokbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melezaan, Owner at Cecil John Rhodes Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2015
Dear guest

Thank you for your review. It is heart warming to read a positive feedback and know that our guests were happy and well taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights and had all meals at the guest house seeing that it was for a training workshop. Location of guesthouse is very central to everything. Beautiful tranquil garden with several water features which helps with the street noise. The apartment building on the one side is a bit overpowering and can be noisy. Rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated. Yet dark and cool. Bathrooms need a make-over. Food was generally good – basic home fair. The staff, Freddie and Johan, really did their upmost to make the experience a comfortable one. They were extremely accommodating – even when stretched by our requests and number of participants. As a training facility it is not ideal – there is very little space, and no break-away rooms. Fortunately we were a small group and it worked most of the time. And finally - visit the art gallery behind the guest house - was pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: Take one of the front rooms ... the are more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brutalbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melezaan, Owner at Cecil John Rhodes Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2015
Dear guest

Thank you for the positive review. It is always reassuring to read that my managers made our guests feel at home and took care of their every need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The name conjured up images of the Great Man (CJR) living in this delightful guest house. The decor and accommodation were excellent.

However we were let down by the breakfast! There are no menus for guests. The kitchen apparently has menus which are fixed for each day. We happened to be there on a Monday night so breakfast on Tueday consisted of chicken nuggets with egg, tomato, sausage and what looked like an apology for bacon. We were told that on Fridays it would be fish fingers instead of chicken!!! Ugh!!

Apart from the breakfast the short stay was OK.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melezaan, Owner at Cecil John Rhodes Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2015
Dear guest

I am glad that you found the accommodation excellent. With regards to the breakfast. We offer a standard breakfast with cereal, fruit, yoghurt, egg, bacon and toast. To accommodate our longer stay guests, we change the extras like the chicken nuggets, sausages, fish bytes, flap jacks, croissants, etc so that they do not grow tired of the excact same meal every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Kimberley
Road Lodge Kimberley
#7 of 10 in Kimberley
31 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kimberley Anne Hotel
Kimberley Anne Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kimberley
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oleander Guest House
Oleander Guest House
#2 of 72 in Kimberley
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jungnickel Guesthouse
Jungnickel Guesthouse
#3 of 72 in Kimberley
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Country House
Kimberley Country House
#17 of 72 in Kimberley
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecil John Rhodes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecil John Rhodes Guest House

Property: Cecil John Rhodes Guest House
Address: 138 Du Toitspan Way | Northern Cape, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the wealth and luxury of yesteryear at this historical property built in 1895. Our eight elegantly decorated rooms are all en-suite with either bath or shower. We are centrally situated and within walking distance from most of Kimberley's historical homes and monuments as well as the city's business centre, shopping malls, art galleries, theatre, private hospitals, Karen Muir swimming pool and restaurants. We offer a tea garden, which specializes in picnic and have a liquor license. Elri and Lyndon de Meillon are the owners. Our friendly and efficient staff will cater to your every need. Come sit in our shady garden under our beloved mulberry tree and enjoy the sparkle of Kimberley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cecil John Rhodes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing