We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boring town but nice accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Agros Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agros Guest House
Ranked #6 of 69 Kimberley B&B and Inns
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boring town but nice accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I must say I thought Kimberly would be less boring. What do people do there ( besides stare into the big hole .....I wonder if any throw themselves into the big hole?) The Agros guest house was neat and clean and comfortable .... Thumbs up

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Basbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
14
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and what a lovely stay we had Peter and Alta really made us feel welcome. The room was lovely and spotless the breakfast superb !!! A really friendly couple that couldn't do enough for you . They kindly did some washing for us and Peter took us to a restaurant at night and picked us up because he said taxis were too expensive . As we were leaving early the next day Alta made us a huge lovely pack up for our journey . I can't recommend this guest house enough . It really is home from home . After staying in several places during my stay in SA this has to be my favorite place and the friendliest with the comfiest bed ever !!!! We also left some items behind which they were kind enough to post on to us .A must visit if in Kimberley ... Thank you so much Peter and Alta

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lisanicYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We are a retired French couple from Canada (Montreal) and traveled South Africa during 2 months renting 31 different lodgings. This one was # 11. Very warm welcome by Peter and Alta Adams. Spacious room with support for luggage, cable flat screen TV, sofa, refrigerator, big clean pool in a beautiful garden. There is a lounge with a huge flat screen TV and sofas. Excellent breakfast. We highly recommend this lodging.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We were three couples travelling together and opted for Agros Guesthouse for a one night stay over on our way to Cape Town. There are many guesthouses and B&Bs in Kimberley, but we were very pleased that we chose Agros. The attention of Peter and Alta was superb and they made sure we enjoyed our stay and found our way to the Hole and dinner. It honestly felt like we were staying with an aunt and uncle in Kimberley. The rooms and beds were comfortable despite the intense heat outside and we lacked for nothing. On the morning that we checked out we were given a hand drawn map to make sure we were on our way safely.
We will definitely make use of Agros again if we return to Kimberley.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Agros on our way from the Northwest to Cape Town earlier in December and liked it so much that we arranged to stay again on our way back just before Christmas. Although the Guesthouse was supposed to be closed for Christmas when we were due back in Kimberley they took us in again and, not only hosted us like we were family, but fixed a small problem we were having with our car as well! A fantastic Guesthouse (home away from home) and car repair place in one. The hosts are lovely & the rooms comfortable & clean. We will definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

In a nutshell this is what a home away from home is...They were very friendly and made me feel at home.The best moment was when they made sure that my breakfast was packed when I was to leave early morning, and that sure was a lot.Keep up the good work..Good bless.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrusdal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed over at Agros quite a few times over the years and every time our stay was more than just a stay at a guesthouse. Pieter and Alta are very warm and friendly people and excellent hosts. The rooms are clean and neat and everything is there to make your stay comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surieta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Kimberley
Road Lodge Kimberley
#7 of 10 in Kimberley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kimberley Anne Hotel
Kimberley Anne Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kimberley Club
Kimberley Club
#4 of 10 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Solomon
The Solomon
#13 of 69 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oleander Guest House
Oleander Guest House
#2 of 69 in Kimberley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agros Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agros Guest House

Property: Agros Guest House
Address: 3 Oakridge, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agros Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Agros Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing