We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite hotels, so steeped in history!”
Review of Kimberley Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimberley Club
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have been staying at the Kimberley Club for well over 10-years and ever since it's upgrade of a few years ago it has been an absolute pleasure. What makes this venue is not only the great service, but the history which literally seeps through the walls. If you love the history of old Kimberley and the Diamond Fields, you should not miss this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

My uncle Braganza, could tell great stories. One of them was about this hotel. I always wanted to go there. When there was not a bed to be had on the N12, we decided to bite the bullet, blow the budget and end our 4500 km trip around SA in style. The room was a cool oasis. Beautiful. We were really looking forward to dining in style... Safe parking was avaiable and a friendly porter brought our luggage to the room. Breakfast was included but dissappointing. The restaurant was a dissapointment. See separate review. It would have been nice if there was a little tour offeref to show guests around this historic building.

Room Tip: Room 5, has two queen beds, delightful slipper bath and huge shower. Great A/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaraScholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel has a wonderful old world ambience and charm. The lobby is littered with interesting furniture and artifacts. The check in was super efficient and friendly. All staff encountered were really friendly and most helpful. The room had a balcony, and was tastefully furnished. Well equipped with satellite tv(limited channels), fridge, aircon, ceiling fan and coffee/tea facilities. The bed was very comfortable and the linen crisp and clean.

The dinner menu is superb but a little expensive. Again service was excellent.

Breakfast has a wide range of buffet and cooked options.

The only downside is that the hotel is not in the most attractive part of town. However, once inside this is soon forgotten

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony have a nice table and chairs for relaxing outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was last in Kimberley, SA twenty or more years ago. Things have changed. The car park is now a fortress opposite the hotel and my (sadly now lost) Sat Nav had a bit of a brain wobble and took us up some surrounding streets that I'd generally prefer to travel in an armoured car rather than a rental car.

Once inside the hotel that all changed. Fabulous period building. Loads of history. Founded by (amongst others) Cecil Rhodes himself. Great staff, excellent evening meal. Huge room although a bit cold at the time of year. I wouldn't look for anywhere else in down-town Kimberley. But then, apart from a great big hole in the ground - you know, The Big Hole - which is probably why you came in the first place, there isn't anywhere else I'd risk visiting in Kimberley. Apart from the flamingoes on the lake outside town. They were good too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

So this is a Victorian gentlemen's club which has been preserved by running it as a characterful boutique hotel. It oozes South African and British Empire history. I would not recommend it if you are offended by colonialism, Cecil John Rhodes - or taxidermy!

Our room was huge and luxurious and our meal in the Rhodes Dining Room was suprisingly good. I appreciated the historical context and thus loved our stay. We were there on a weekend and practically had the hotel to ourselves.

I think the Kimberley Club makes for a very passable business hotel during the week - we went to the Club as a destination in itself and were glad that we did.

We travelled with little children and were nearly turned away because the hotel's only cot had been booked - by another family we were travelling with! The hotel was practically empty and our booking was only accepted when we managed to get through to the reservations clerk that we were travelling with our own camp cot. The hotel is managed independently and it shows a little...

Room Tip: There are quite a wide variety of rooms available - including some in an Annex away from the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CIVUH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What makes this hotel is the history. There is so much potential with this property but it seems like the owners are cutting corners. White the dinner iserves generous portions, the breakfast buffet is very dull and service non chalent. I guess you pay what you get for. All together an interesting visit because of the hotel's historical aspect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XPL2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at the Kimberley Club Hotel for 2 nights. The club was inaugurated in 1881. I loved the historic photographs and interior of the whole hotel. With a visit to the big hole, you really feel like living in the diamond dynasty era. The staff were friendly and helpfull. We had breakfast, but I feel that other restaurants can offer better food. The hotel has wi-fi, but you have to pay extra for it.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 faces the street, so the traffic can be a bit noisy, but on the otherhand you get a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Procerus85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
1.7 mi away
Kimberley Anne Hotel
Kimberley Anne Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kimberley
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Road Lodge Kimberley
Road Lodge Kimberley
#7 of 10 in Kimberley
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diamond Lodge
Diamond Lodge
#6 of 10 in Kimberley
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oleander Guest House
Oleander Guest House
#2 of 73 in Kimberley
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cecil John Rhodes Guest House
Cecil John Rhodes Guest House
#12 of 73 in Kimberley
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Club

Address: 35 Currey Street | 72 Du Toitspan Road, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Price Range: £66 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Club 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Club offers 21 en-suite bedrooms tastefully decorated with the ambiance of a bygone era. Facilities include all the "modcons" one would expect of a four star boutique hotel. The Club boasts a member's bar, lounge and dominoes room, an a-la-carte restaurant,ladies bar,Bistro Cafe, 3 conferencing venues, a reading room and a billiard room. The ideal venue for functions, weddings and conferences. "Modern comfort with old world charm". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kimberley Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing