We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimberley Club
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Lodge(Kimberley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
66
56
14
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
56
14
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth african historygrand staircaseboutique hotelamazing historyan interesting placereading roomall mod consan evening drinkstep back in timeold worlddiamond miningfirst floorair conditioningbig holestayed here for one nightsecure parkingstaff are very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have been staying at the Kimberley Club for well over 10-years and ever since it's upgrade of a few years ago it has been an absolute pleasure. What makes this venue is not only the great service, but the history which literally seeps through the walls. If you love the history of old Kimberley and the Diamond Fields, you should not miss this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My uncle Braganza, could tell great stories. One of them was about this hotel. I always wanted to go there. When there was not a bed to be had on the N12, we decided to bite the bullet, blow the budget and end our 4500 km trip around SA in style. The room was a cool oasis. Beautiful. We were really looking forward to dining in style... Safe parking was avaiable and a friendly porter brought our luggage to the room. Breakfast was included but dissappointing. The restaurant was a dissapointment. See separate review. It would have been nice if there was a little tour offeref to show guests around this historic building.

Room Tip: Room 5, has two queen beds, delightful slipper bath and huge shower. Great A/c
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaraScholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel has a wonderful old world ambience and charm. The lobby is littered with interesting furniture and artifacts. The check in was super efficient and friendly. All staff encountered were really friendly and most helpful. The room had a balcony, and was tastefully furnished. Well equipped with satellite tv(limited channels), fridge, aircon, ceiling fan and coffee/tea facilities. The bed was very comfortable and the linen crisp and clean.

The dinner menu is superb but a little expensive. Again service was excellent.

Breakfast has a wide range of buffet and cooked options.

The only downside is that the hotel is not in the most attractive part of town. However, once inside this is soon forgotten

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony have a nice table and chairs for relaxing outside
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was last in Kimberley, SA twenty or more years ago. Things have changed. The car park is now a fortress opposite the hotel and my (sadly now lost) Sat Nav had a bit of a brain wobble and took us up some surrounding streets that I'd generally prefer to travel in an armoured car rather than a rental car.

Once inside the hotel that all changed. Fabulous period building. Loads of history. Founded by (amongst others) Cecil Rhodes himself. Great staff, excellent evening meal. Huge room although a bit cold at the time of year. I wouldn't look for anywhere else in down-town Kimberley. But then, apart from a great big hole in the ground - you know, The Big Hole - which is probably why you came in the first place, there isn't anywhere else I'd risk visiting in Kimberley. Apart from the flamingoes on the lake outside town. They were good too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

So this is a Victorian gentlemen's club which has been preserved by running it as a characterful boutique hotel. It oozes South African and British Empire history. I would not recommend it if you are offended by colonialism, Cecil John Rhodes - or taxidermy!

Our room was huge and luxurious and our meal in the Rhodes Dining Room was suprisingly good. I appreciated the historical context and thus loved our stay. We were there on a weekend and practically had the hotel to ourselves.

I think the Kimberley Club makes for a very passable business hotel during the week - we went to the Club as a destination in itself and were glad that we did.

We travelled with little children and were nearly turned away because the hotel's only cot had been booked - by another family we were travelling with! The hotel was practically empty and our booking was only accepted when we managed to get through to the reservations clerk that we were travelling with our own camp cot. The hotel is managed independently and it shows a little...

Room Tip: There are quite a wide variety of rooms available - including some in an Annex away from the main building - be careful to discuss your room choice in detail when booking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CIVUH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews