We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Kimberley Club; a good mix of history and comfort”
Review of Kimberley Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kimberley Club
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The Kimberley Club; a good mix of history and comfort”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were a group of four and very pleasantly surprised by our overnight experience at the famous Kimberley Club. Considering its age it has been beautifully maintained. The parking is convenient and boomed off across the road from the entrance. Arrival at reception was very efficient and friendly. There is a charming mixture of the Club's history with the modern boutique part of the hotel. We stayed in the older section in very comfortable, quiet and spacious rooms with all the modern amenities. We had an excellent dinner with good service sitting on the long north-facing veranda (remember to ask the friendly staff to show you the north-pointing arrow specially placed for CJ Rhodes whose sense of direction was apparently somewhat lacking!) and an equally good breakfast sitting in the newer courtyard close to the entrance. There is nothing one can do about the location considering it was built in the 1880s but we were still able to go for walks to some of the memorials and the older suburb of Belgravia. All in all a very happy, pleasant and educational experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    52
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
41
4
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I love the Kimberley Club building. It is iconic of Kimberley's rich history, most particularly the period at the end of the 19th century. I love to revisit it when I am visiting Kimberley, which I left 34 years ago. While I have not complaints about the food quality in the diningroom and restaurant, I do know there have been some complaints about it by other members of the club and visitors to the hotel. I was perfectly happy, however, with the food quality on the two or three occasions I have visited in the last year.

Room Tip: I only went in for lunch on the Sunday. I was in Kimberley to attend my mom's birthday... who li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donwald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
335 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a truly inspiring and wonderful place to stopover in the heart of Kimberly.
Excellent service, wonderfully maintained house - and one would expect Cecil John Rhodes to walk around the corner at any moment :-)
The Restaurant's menu is superb - no need to go to the new Protea Hotel (where dinner is more expensive and less tasty!).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marathon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Despite older inner city location, the hotel was a charming surprise - wonderful staff in a well preserved setting of a bygone era. We had very specific requirements - quiet, absolutely clean room away from any hotel noise, with a firm extra length queen bed. Our requirements were readily met. The restuarant was reminiscent of a fine dining restuarant from Cape Town. We had the springbok shank and kudu loin both if which were deliciously succulent and tender. The springbok meat easily pulled from the bone with a fork. Yum! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MinaF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The area around the hotel is dodgy but the hotel is lovely. We stayed in the annex which was pleasant and the rooms lead onto a small garden. Don't check in before 4 and leave by 8 as it is next door to a noisy car wash.
The food was simply outstanding. Beautifully presented. Good value for money. Really fine dining.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Very helpful staff - from chef (carried my luggage) to reception staff (who organised a specific room request)! Dinner was great and second night ordered toasted sandwiches (not very hungry) - it was a feast in quantity!! Upstairs rooms with balcony are great, especially if you a smoker.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank judith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable 2 nights stay here. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, including Elizabeth on reception, and Isaac who helped us with our luggage and waited on us in the restaurant. He also showed us around some of the hotel and gave us lots of information about how it was many years ago.
We chose a luxury room in the courtyard which had a small sitting area. It was a lovely room with nice old furniture, all mod cons and a large comfortable bed. It was also quiet with no traffic noise even though the hotel is virtually in the centre of the town.
The food was quite good at breakfast and dinner but could be improved for such a prestigious and historic establishment.
We were surprised that they didn't have free wifi in this day and age as everywhere else we have stayed during our 6 week trip to SA had.
Allow a whole day to visit The Big Hole and The McGregor museum. Both were excellent.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
1.7 mi away
Kimberley Anne Hotel
Kimberley Anne Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Kimberley
Road Lodge Kimberley
#7 of 10 in Kimberley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diamond Lodge
Diamond Lodge
#6 of 10 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oleander Guest House
Oleander Guest House
#2 of 71 in Kimberley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Solomon
The Solomon
#13 of 71 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Club

Property: Kimberley Club
Address: 35 Currey Street | 72 Du Toitspan Road, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Club 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Club offers 21 en-suite bedrooms tastefully decorated with the ambiance of a bygone era. Facilities include all the "modcons" one would expect of a four star boutique hotel. The Club boasts a member's bar, lounge and dominoes room, an a-la-carte restaurant,ladies bar,Bistro Cafe, 3 conferencing venues, a reading room and a billiard room. The ideal venue for functions, weddings and conferences. "Modern comfort with old world charm". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kimberley Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing