We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Kimberley Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimberley Club
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The Kimberley Club has been a hit/blessing since my childhood days!!i remember our family coming here for Sunday buffet lunch...and we(me and my brother and sister) would save ourselves for the pudding table!!we were NEVER disappointed!!!today, as a married woman, I went back with my parents for the first time in years!!!!We had Very friendly staff!!! I had the gourmet burger!200g meat, absolutely fantastic!!!!completely affordable at R65!sat outside in the winter sun!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Lieze N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, very good breakfast. We were only sad that we arrived so late and so couldn't enjoy what looked like a very lovely restaurant out on the veranda. Highly recommended and will definitely be staying again when next in Kimberley.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at the 'Club' on three occasions now and always find it a welcoming experience. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff have always been able to answer any questions I have. It is close to any attractions you may wish to visit and also to the centre of Kimberley. I will definitely be staying at the Kimberley Club on my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A wonderful trip back into history with the added benefit that one can eat excellently and sleep in great comfort in the middle of it all. The bar and billiard room are exceptional examples of well maintained memorabilia - and they work as well.

Room Tip: Can do with a refurbish of the curtains and blinds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

i submitted my comments on the previous communication -- the reception could have been a little more welcoming. Otherwise i was very impressed with the history of the place. Also the quality of the facilities. It would have been useful to get a brochure that told one what all the facilities are in the Hotel - Bar. Reading Room and so on. May be some of the people who spent time in the Hotel.



Room Tip: Provide a label on the wall box housing the electrical points
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were a group of four and very pleasantly surprised by our overnight experience at the famous Kimberley Club. Considering its age it has been beautifully maintained. The parking is convenient and boomed off across the road from the entrance. Arrival at reception was very efficient and friendly. There is a charming mixture of the Club's history with the modern boutique part of the hotel. We stayed in the older section in very comfortable, quiet and spacious rooms with all the modern amenities. We had an excellent dinner with good service sitting on the long north-facing veranda (remember to ask the friendly staff to show you the north-pointing arrow specially placed for CJ Rhodes whose sense of direction was apparently somewhat lacking!) and an equally good breakfast sitting in the newer courtyard close to the entrance. There is nothing one can do about the location considering it was built in the 1880s but we were still able to go for walks to some of the memorials and the older suburb of Belgravia. All in all a very happy, pleasant and educational experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I love the Kimberley Club building. It is iconic of Kimberley's rich history, most particularly the period at the end of the 19th century. I love to revisit it when I am visiting Kimberley, which I left 34 years ago. While I have not complaints about the food quality in the diningroom and restaurant, I do know there have been some complaints about it by other members of the club and visitors to the hotel. I was perfectly happy, however, with the food quality on the two or three occasions I have visited in the last year.

Room Tip: I only went in for lunch on the Sunday. I was in Kimberley to attend my mom's birthday... who li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donwald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
1.7 mi away
Kimberley Anne Hotel
Kimberley Anne Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kimberley
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Road Lodge Kimberley
Road Lodge Kimberley
#7 of 10 in Kimberley
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diamond Lodge
Diamond Lodge
#6 of 10 in Kimberley
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oleander Guest House
Oleander Guest House
#2 of 73 in Kimberley
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cecil John Rhodes Guest House
Cecil John Rhodes Guest House
#12 of 73 in Kimberley
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Club

Address: 35 Currey Street | 72 Du Toitspan Road, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Price Range: £66 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Club 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Club offers 21 en-suite bedrooms tastefully decorated with the ambiance of a bygone era. Facilities include all the "modcons" one would expect of a four star boutique hotel. The Club boasts a member's bar, lounge and dominoes room, an a-la-carte restaurant,ladies bar,Bistro Cafe, 3 conferencing venues, a reading room and a billiard room. The ideal venue for functions, weddings and conferences. "Modern comfort with old world charm". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kimberley Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing