We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel in Namaqualand”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Okiep
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Okiep Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Okiep
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in Namaqualand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here two nights while touring the West Coast and Namaqualand, heading towards Augrabies Falls and Kgalagadi. Its literally the only place in town, and "Country hotel" is a bit of a misnomer, because it has no real grounds. But it is comfortable and clean, with a very friendly staff. Complimentary local port on arrival! Good cable tv with a couple of movie channels. And the food was excellent--a great buffet spread at breakfast, with eggs and omelets cooked to order. Since they were far from full when we were there, they did not have a buffet dinner but regular menu service. The food was excellent with great steaks and chops, and a very nice wine list as well, with many local Orange River area wines which were quite good. Another plus was reasonable laundry service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jczinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    34
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
28
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
antwerp
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed 1 night as part of a tour. We liked our stay. The hotel is ancient, dates back from the day Okiep had the biggest coppermine in the world in operation. The rooms are not modern but we found everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Shower worked just fine, beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. The restaurant served a buffet diner and breakfast that was first class.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Okiep was once the site of the largest copper mine in the world (great to see a Cornish engine still there in the museum!) and the Country Hotel was once the Recreation Room for the mining community, but now the site of the town Bottle Store - ensuring year-round trade -as well as a really comfy hotel. Proper country hospitality, comfortable and clean and if the room was a bit small because of installing an en suite bathroom it was at least big enough and we appreciated the tea tray. Delicious food at the generous buffet and comfortable public rooms, so the one-horse nature of the town wasn't a problem as there was no need to go anywhere! It is clearly a travellers' hotel as it is almost the ideal halfway stop on the road between Cape Town and Windhoek but is boosted at Flower Time when the desert blooms - our reason for being there. The only, and main drawback is that there is only one no smoking lounge, at quite a distance from the comfy and attractive bar - this is SO behind the times!! everywhere else is totally non-smoking and smokers must go outside, but otherwise you couldn't do better!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brecanus2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Okiep was recommended to me as we were doing a road trip from Cape Town to the Kgalagadi Transfronteir Park and back. We used it as a 1 night stopover. What a lovely country hotel. We were greeted with a smile, our room was very good, the service was top notch and the food generous and delicious. This is a definite must for travellers on this route.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okiep
5.5 mi away
Springbok Inn
Springbok Inn
#1 of 3 in Springbok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kleinplasie Guesthouse
Kleinplasie Guesthouse
#1 of 17 in Springbok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
14.9 mi away
Naries Namakwa Retreat
Naries Namakwa Retreat
#2 of 17 in Springbok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Namastat Lodge & Caravan Park
5.3 mi away
Springbok Apartment
Springbok Apartment
#3 of 10 in Springbok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
7.2 mi away
Daisy Country Lodge
Daisy Country Lodge
#4 of 10 in Springbok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okiep Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okiep Country Hotel

Property: Okiep Country Hotel
Address: Main Road 10, Okiep 8270, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Okiep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Okiep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Okiep Country Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing