We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service, what service?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Desert Palace Hotel And Casino Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Upington
Gauteng
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service, what service?”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I had to change rooms three times first from a smoke filled room, then to a room with hair in the bed and finally to a somewhat cleaner room. The request for a room change from the first was met with hesitation, the second was met with a firm no to a clean linen request resulting in a room change. The staff throughout my stay were not flexible or willing to cater to the needs of the delegates in the training. When I requested some Tabasco sauce from the hostess in the dining venue, I was told that is was not her job and I had to find someone else to help me.
There were no healthy options for breakfast or lunch. I would definitely not recommend this venue to anyone else, as staff were not very helpful or client centered.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E_traveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This hotel is really not going anywhere fast, it provides the basic, the staff are very nice and willing, but just lack the hospitality training that I call class. There is ample parking space, but this area is really hot, so make sure you park your car in a shaded area, otherwise you will struggle to drive. The hotel has really got clean sheets and willing staff! There is a casino in the premises, so if you wish to pass time, this may work. I grudgingly come back to this establishment because of its ability to accommodate large conferencing groups, and my team seems to have forged some good relationships so I tag along. The rooms are basic, but the bigger rooms can be a bit more interesting if you manage to get one of them and they are on the golf course part so there is some elegance in that respect. The food is really basic and limited, so is the coffee!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel is out of the main part of town, and is fine for a stopover or a conference venue. I had a pretty bad room - it looked straight into a wall. Also there was a group at the pool having a noisy, late barbecue - unfortunately nearest to my room. The hotel lacked some attention to the little things e.g. Tv channels not tuned, no extra blankets, grumpy receptionist, and there was a very loud hum which I think was a ventilation system. I think the golf-course facing rooms would have a much better experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This was a very upscale and quaint hotel in the middle of the Kalahari on N8 towards Joburg.The casino is not that big but it gives you the coin slot machines which are many peoples favorite including the locals.The rooms are well appointed and the decor is excellent I almost forgot i was in the Kalahari.There is also a restaurant that serves world class dishes at a very affordable price.Friday and Saturday nights are busier and the crowd is so much fun.
I would recommend this hotel and Casino to anyone whoever finds themseves on the other side of the Green Kalahari...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGurira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windhoek namibia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

typical small town casino. Seems very popular as a weekend outing for folks from the surrounding farming areas. Service erratic, rooms clean except in ours the aircon did not work. Food OK. We used it as a overnight halfway stopover between namibia and the eastern cape. At least it has a kids games room - something for them to do. Note - about 4 miles out of town.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Upington hotels
4.1 mi away
River City Inn
River City Inn
#3 of 6 in Upington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
4.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington Oasis
4.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
a La Fugue Guesthouse
a La Fugue Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Upington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.7 mi away
River Place Manor
River Place Manor
#1 of 71 in Upington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
18.4 mi away
African Vineyard Hotel/Guesthouse, Wedding, Conference & Wellness SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palace Hotel And Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palace Hotel And Casino Resort

Property: Desert Palace Hotel And Casino Resort
Address: Erf 1, Golf Course Road | Keidebees, Upington 8801, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Upington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Upington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palace Hotel And Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Palace Hotel & Casino Resort is located 7km from the CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Palace Hotel And Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing