We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No tea or coffee available for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peermont Metcourt at Rio
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Klerksdorp
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No tea or coffee available for breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Generally the accommodation and service were of a reasonable standard.

However in the morning, we arrived for breakfast at 6.15 am having been told (unprompted) that breakfast was served from 6am. The breakfast was all ready, but tea and coffee were not available - we were told that the machine was still being cleaned, and that this would take a further 20 minutes. No other options were available. The staff then all disappeared. After waiting at reception for five minutes (also unstaffed) and making a huge fuss, I finally managed to acquire one sachet of instant coffee and a pot of hot water (this took two requests and twenty minutes to get). When we left at 6h55 other guests were arriving for breakfast but there was still no tea, coffee or hot water available.

I was promised that the catering manager would be in touch but have not heard anything since,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Arrived there late and cold after being caught in a huge traffic jam in Joburg, and the welcome couldn't have been warmer. Receptionist acknowledged my tiredness and was really efficient and empathetic. Room was also really nice, and once unpacked, I made my way to the restaurant which is in the adjacent casino. I asked for a quiet table, but the noise from casino/kids entertainment, combined with the music, was just too loud. Food was great, but the charged me extra for a small portion of starch when I asked for no veggies. Also, although the restaurant was not anywhere near full, the service was distracted and slowish. Food was delicious though.

Next morning, check out was great, and directions to my final destination were great - doesn't always happen. In all, a positive experience just slightly spoiled by poor management at restaurant.

Room Tip: Move away from breakfast area and reception on ground floor, as it can be noisy if there is a functi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AkiJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I decided on a last minute weekend away. I was unable to find a hotel room in Potchefstroom so I decided on this one in Klerksdorp.
Check in was swift and efficient and every member of staff we encountered friendly and helpful. When I called reception from the room to report that I was having a problem operating the air-conditioning it seemed as if the maintenance man arrived almost before I hung up the phone! Great service!
The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed in a modern style. Unusually the bathtub was IN the room (although it could be screened off by a curtain)
We decided to eat lunch at the restaurant in the adjoining Casino. This food was delicious and great value for money. So much so that we had dinner there also.
Breakfast in the hotel more than lived up to our, by now high, expectations. Excellent choice of both hot and cold dishes, cereals, fruit, pastries and more. The only thing I could fault was that the coffee was from a machine and not freshly brewed. If it had been this review would have been five stars.
This place is definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cookspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
285 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We went to visit my daughter who studies at the North West University in Potchefstroom, and decided to stay over at this hotel in Klerksdorp, that is only a short distance away. We were pleasantly surprized to find such a neat and well maintained hotel with a casino in the countryside.
This hotel exceeded our expectations in many ways. The hotel staff members were all very friendly and attentive to our needs. The food quality was also found to be of a high standard.
Our only unpleasant experience was during breakfast. Upon returning to our table after having dished up, we found that it had been “high jacked” by a local stranger, despite many other tables being available. We informed him that the table was already being used, but he showed total disrespect for our privacy and asked why he could not also sit there. We then thought of an excuse and said that friends would be joining us. He then moved on to another table, where another group of guests were seated. When they also informed him that they were already seated there, he refused to move. After a short argument they then decided to move to another table. The waitrons or management made no effort to resolve the situation. We feel that the hotel staff should have intervened and informed him that in the Western culture people respect other’s privacy. Afterwards they were observed having a friendly conversation with him in their African language, indicating that they were acquainted.

Room Tip: Although check-in time is from 15:00, don't arrive to early as our room was only ready after 16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klerksdorp hotels
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Klerksdorp
3.8 mi away
Housemartin Guest House
Housemartin Guest House
#3 of 38 in Klerksdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.4 mi away
Home Away Guest House
Home Away Guest House
#1 of 38 in Klerksdorp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ukarimu Guest House
Ukarimu Guest House
#2 of 38 in Klerksdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Be@Home Guest House
Be@Home Guest House
#6 of 38 in Klerksdorp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
3.7 mi away
St. Andrews Guesthouse
St. Andrews Guesthouse
#19 of 38 in Klerksdorp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Metcourt at Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Metcourt at Rio

Property: Peermont Metcourt at Rio
Address: Rio Boulevard, Meiringspark, Extension 8 | on the N12 Treasure route, Klerksdorp 2570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Klerksdorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Klerksdorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Peermont Metcourt at Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a carnival delight...the 3-star Metcourt hotel at Rio Hotel Casino Convention Resort boasts a beautiful 70-key 3-star select services Metcourt hotel. Facilities include a pool terrace and swimming pool, buffet restaurant, adjoining bar and Wi-Fi internet access. There is also beautiful convention facilities and loads of entertainment for the whole family from vibrant casino action to the games arcade. The hotel features (70 rooms) with 30 Classic twin rooms, 20 Classic king rooms, 10 Superior twin rooms, 5 Superior king rooms, 4 Executive suites and 1 Special assistance room. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available. Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peermont Metcourt at Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing