We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“black rhino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“black rhino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

fantastic experience at the black rhino game park. We saw elephants drinking at the water hole, rhinos, lions, wilderbeasts, giraffes and lots of others. Our two girls aged 7 and 8 also had a great time. Accomodation was lovely. Food plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruliedoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    110
    12
    13
    3
See reviews for
104
137
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My 23 year old son and I spent a wonderful 5 days on Safari at the Black Rhino Game Lodge and were not disappointed. All the staff were warm and friendly, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the food was amazing. We ate breakfast and watched Elephants at the watering hole and ate lunch and watched Zebra, Impala and wilder beast. The whole atmosphere was so relaxing. The rangers were very knowledgeable and shared their information perfectly, answering questions, stating facts but also knowing when words were not needed. Their motto was " If you are happy, then we are happy" and they worked tirelessly. We saw most of the big 5 and actually witnessed a Lion Kill right in front of us which was awesome! I came away feeling 'changed' somehow, spiritually and mentally because of the peacefulness and relaxed atmosphere but also as if the animals had given me some sort of therapy! The Black Rhino Game Lodge has a special place in my heart and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Great welcome, great ranger in Ross! Wonderful wholesome lodge food. Awesome setting and chalet 10 perfect for my wife and I. 3 great game drives a perfect way to unwind, relax and take in nature at it's best. Well worth recommending and visiting!

Room Tip: We did request a chalet away from the main lodge...... #10 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband, 9 yr old son and I enjoyed a short three day break at the Black Rhino Game Lodge in the Pilaneberg this month. This was our little boy's first experience of the magic of the African bush and it was the perfect introduction - from seeing elephant at the lodge watering hole, to lion to rhino etc etc - it was all very special. New game vehicles, very well informed and relaxed game rangers and very luxurious and comfortable accomodation made this a fantastic holiday. Food was also above average and drinks well priced.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10 which was at the end of the pathway so no people walking past....very private a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Overall it's a good experience, food was good but what was great was sitting at lodge deck and seeing 18 elephants coming to the watering hole!! We saw most of the big 5 and rangers were very helpful and knowledgable. We'll go back. The owner of the lodge popped in and you can see he looks at improving it all the time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

What a fantastic lodge! Fantastic rooms and service. And great safari's! Also a very nice National Park with the mountains on the background.

We enjoyed our days!

Thanks to our ranger Sibu for the great experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaartendeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The rooms are not very private but they are luxurious with indoor & outdoor showers & bathtubs. I found the staff to be very friendly and we enjoyed the variety & standard of food at the buffet table. Our ranger told us the game experience is very poor especially in Winter when the animals have mostly left to visit another part of the park with more grazing. Definitely not a guaranteed Big 3, 4 or 5 experience. You're likely to see some plains game and possibly some elephant if your ranger takes you into the actual Pilanesberg next door.
Don't go for the game experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
13.3 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#3 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rhino Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rhino Game Lodge

Property: Black Rhino Game Lodge
Address: Road R565, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rhino Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rhino Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rhino Game Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing