We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday and Fathersday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Thabazimbi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Birthday and Fathersday treat”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Me, my wife, son in law and daughter was as Kwa Maritane for the weekend to selebrate my birthday as well as Fathersday on Sunday. When we arrived on Friday, we were treated on freashly baked pancakes and coffee. All the staff where very friendly and professional. The rooms are beautiful! There is live CCTV from the waterhole hide 24/7 on the Tv in the room. The dinner that evening were fantastic! Breakfast next morning were also excellent. Saterday we went for a game driive and after that dinner in the bush. Andre, the game ranger was very good, he know all the anemals behavior and stopped to let an elephant bull walked right next to the bakkie, so close , you can touch him! He knew that the elephant was not dangerous and give as a big treat ! unbelievable! On the way to the bush braai, we stopped next to a herd of elephant with a very small calf with them. Andre handled that also very good , and we never felt that we were in danger. Thanks Andre, you were great! At the bush braai, we were treated again on very good food and a choir from Kwa Maritane that tell us more about the Tswana culture and sings traditional tribe song. The highlite there was when the choir sang to me " Happy Birthday, Madala". !! Kwa Maritane is an excellent hotel, with excellent staff !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeetThabazimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Greetings from Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge,

Thank you for taking this opportunity to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor - It is much appreciated!

It is such a pleasure to hear that you had such a memorable 2014 birthday and Father's day. It is wonderful to here that all these experiences you had with us, exceeded your expectations and created many fond memories to tell.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the pancake and coffee treats on arrival, together with fantastic meals in our restaurant and most of all the Bush Braai at our Boma accompanied with a lot of birthday cheer.
I will be certain to pass on the word of thanks to Andre for creating such an unbelievable Safari experience.

Once again, thank you so much!

Kind Regards,
Megan Heydenrych, Guest Relations Manager, Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    208
    69
    29
    15
See reviews for
269
138
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kshitiz
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

i found the property average. Definately not 4* .Not very clean resort. The service was very bad. The porters were Rude. The food was below average.
The best Part about the hotel was the safari . Our Ranger MJ was one the best rangers i have ever experienced , She was funny and Witty and made the whole process quite enjoyable.

Would i Recommend: NO

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kshitiz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were here on conference last weekend and we had a wonderful time. The conference facilities are fantastic, although not enough tables when it came time to eat lunch. the food is awesome. The bush braai is a must! We got to see giraffes and elephants on our game drive.. amazing! The staff were so friendly and helpful. The location is great, everything is so clean and comfy. The rooms are close to the main conference/reception/breakfast area so don't have to walk far. I would love to come back with my family next time I visit. after visiting Kwa Maritane myself, I can understand why a friend of mine has been going back once a year for the past 19 years. As a Travel Counsellor, I can most certainly recommend it to future clients. Really exceptional!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleBarrettTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Greetings from Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge,

Thank you for taking this opportunity to provide us with some valuable feedback - It is much appreciated!

It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a wonderful conference experience with us and at the same time were able to experience the African wildlife in your leisure time. We are indeed delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation and Bush Boma too.
We are delighted that you had a memorable and great experience and we definitely look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge.

Thank you once again and we appreciate the recommendation.

Kind Regards,
Megan Heydenrych, Guest Relations Manager, Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent the weekend of the 31 May at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge. The conference & public facilities were good. The hotel rooms were comfortable and very spacious, however a fair uphill walk from the conference facilities - maybe golf carts would be ideal. The meals were average and don't feel offers much for the high rates charged. The game drive was very exciting as we saw many animals and some up close, we weren't as lucky as our colleagues who saw more on the Sunday morning. The atmosphere for the Boma dinner was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the public or conference venue, as the walk to the rooms is up hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoshneeG2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Greetings from Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge,

Thank you for taking time to provide with feedback on TripAdvisor - much appreciated!

It is a real pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our conferencing and public facilities, and more especially our Bush Boma.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future on a leisure capacity and perhaps another chance of more exciting game viewing.
Thank you for the suggestions.

Once again, thank you so much.

Kind Regards,
Megan Heydenrych, Guest Relations Manager, Kwa Mariatne Bush Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Kwa Maritane offers timeshare, Hotel accommodation, cabanas and chalets, which are fully equipped to allow you feel like you are going from home to home, but for the fact that the moment you drive through the gates of Kwa Maritane you are treated like royalty, The staff are in attendance and are extremely efficient, knowledgeable, polite and willing to assist. The game drive and bush braai are a must. The game rangers know the area so well that you will definitely see all the game that the park has to offer. It is so relaxing to sit outside with a cocktail and watch the animals graze, rest, see how alert they are to danger. They offer a hide where you can see the animals up close and personal, this hide is accessible from the internet too so you can view the animals from wherever you are. There is an amazing spa where you can experience awesome massages, facials and hot rocks. All in all a holiday destination not be missed, a truly wild experience, the best evah!!!!!

Room Tip: Rent a chalet or cabana, preferably purchase a timeshare this is truly the best investment as its li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
Greetings from Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge,

Thank you for taking this opportunity to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor - It is greatly appreciated!

We are grateful that you enjoyed your chalet, our friendly staff , knowledgeable Safari drives and African Bush Braai experience, but most of all the amazing Spa we also have to offer.
It is exciting to hear that you mention the Hide with such enthusiasm and that you appreciated this unique facility Kwa Maritane has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge in the near future.

Once again, thank you so much.

Kind Regards,
Megan Heydenrych, Guest Relations Manager, Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I spent the weekend on conference at KM Bush Lodge. The rooms were very comfortable, and the public areas fine. The food was very average and for this reason, I feel that the general rates are quite high.
The conference room and set up was good, apart from serving buffet lunches requiring cutlery with insufficient tables, but maybe this was a choice made by the conference organiser.
The game drive was uncomfortable and I couldn't wait to get off the vehicle. The un-tarred roads were understandably bumpy in places, but the driver was in a huge hurry for most of the duration of the drive so that we had to find a 'brace' position to prevent being thrown out, or onto the fellow passengers. A shorter drive with more liquid refreshments during the experience would have been made it more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite a walk, uphill from the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We actually did not stay at the lodge itself. We were brought in and just went on a day safari with Cathy. She was wonderful, and took us to as much of the park as time would allow. We were very fortunate to see everything when we went (elephants, rhinos, giraffes, hippos, etc.). The staff was great to work with and did everything they could to ensure we had a great experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dustin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Guest Relations Manager at Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Greetings from Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on Tripadvisor - It is greatly appreciated!

We are grateful that you enjoyed the day excursion to the lodge for a wonderful Safari experience.
For that reason we look forward to welcoming you to Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge in the near future for a night's stay or two!

Once again, thank you so much.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
3.1 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cabanas
Cabanas
#5 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge

Property: Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Address: Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath “the Rock”, from whence Kwa Maritane gets its name, this luxurious four star hotel offers excellent service, mouth-watering cuisine and spacious en-suite accommodation that exude elegance in true African style.Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge is located in malaria free Pilanesberg National Park, an easy 2 hour’s drive from Johannesburg and a mere 10 minutes from Sun City. This is the perfect setting for a relaxing family weekend away or for a corporate conference.Kwa Maritane Spa Rejuvenate your mind, body and soul in our magnificent Spa. Indulge yourself with treatments such as Thabayadiotso, our signature treatment, or be pampered with a pedicure while watching the game feeding on the plains in front of the Spa. Whether it is a full body massages, in which the masseur uses Mountain Aloe oil, or a soothing, deep cleansing facial using warm volcanic milk, the professional therapists will simply spoil you.There are four treatment rooms, including one suite suitable for couples looking to share the experience. There is also a manicure and pedicure lounge, a rasul chamber, relaxation area and hydro pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwa Maritane Bush Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing