We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family lodge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakubung Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good family lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We spent two nights with our 2 daughters in a spacy room with two king size beds. The room had a shower, a tub, a fridge, coffee and tea facilities and a little terrace with furniture..

We especially enjoyed the fabulous breakfast and dinner buffet. We booked two safaris and particularly appreciate the tour with Oliver who is truly a great and informative ranger!
Great game reserve, we saw the big five and many more from very close!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gicabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    284
    67
    21
    12
See reviews for
320
169
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed in this bush lodge for 2 nights, the lodge provided 2 game drives with free shuttle bus to Sun City which is less than an hours drive from this lodge. internet is also free. room i stayed in was big enough & can accommodate a small family. food was good and vegetarian friendly. the best part of the stay was the game drives we were allotted a big van as our group was about 12 guests. the ranger was very friendly and knowledgeable. he had answers to every silly questions that we asked. the staffs wee friendly and overall i would rate this as a 4+* lodge.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barani007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We a group of six senior citizens from India touring South Africa, booked The Bakubung Bush Lodge, at Pilanesburg (near Sun-City) for Two nights from 15th to 17th Sept. 2011. This hotel is one of the Legacy group of hotels, well known for their business acumen in hospitality industry.
The reception took minimum time to check-in so that we could enjoy the four rooms on arrival. The staff is outstanding, very friendly prompt and accommodating. The rooms were spacious, clean & nicely decorated. We appreciate that the Hotel provides Complimentary Tea/coffee facility, with hot water kettle in each room! I credit the management to provide free mineral water in our rooms. The hotel provides a very nice spread for breakfast buffet - full English plus! Restaurant had great food options. Generally the staff is always ready to please and offer extra service with a smile. The housekeeping staff was great & not to forget a piece of chocolate every night.

Pilanesburg National Park has very small population of wild-life as compared to The Masai Mara & Lake Nakuru National Parks in Kenya or The Sarengeti & Ngorongoru in Tanzania in East Africa. The Bakubung Bush Lodge has a very beautiful layout & setting fully geared up for tourism! I strongly recommend to stay at The Bakubung Bush Lodge, at Pilanesburg, an experience which is worth its price.
Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daganagpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Had a great time here at Pilanesberg National Park.
2 game drives were included in our 2 night stay. Saw spectacular wildlife, were very lucky to see Lions, Leopard, Elephants, Rhinos (4 of the big 5!) all up close - BOTH days!
Nice hotel, nice rooms - comfy bed, and nice view. Good buffets - plenty to choose from!
Nice pool - although was slightly too cold for a swim (but it was winter!).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bungleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Nice accommodation and nice Buffet. Great location which we could see some wildlife from my bungalow. Amazing 3 hours game drive which we could see a lot of animals who are in there way of life. Great ranger to explain and point us where we can meet and see the wildlife.

Free internet and free shuttle bus to Sun City.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristy_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok,Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We are having a nice time here in the Bakubung Bush Lodge! we really loved the buffet dinner-very good for vegetarians. the rooms are very nice and spacious. Overall its great here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel3sixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

As a get-away compensating for the inability to get a Kruger Park booking, Bakubung was a worthy, high-class alternative, exceeding our wildest dreams!
Accommodation, service, food and attractions were all superlative; I would return year after year, if it were possible... Highly reccommended for solos, families or even business venue.
Adjacent to Sun City Complex, (for those bored with wildlife!), the game viewing and availability was superb, with the "Big Five" accessible to the keen-eyed. A MUST!
It is also only 2-3 hours west of Johannesburg on a scenic route which is a free bonus...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eilonglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
2.1 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cabanas
Cabanas
#5 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakubung Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Property: Bakubung Bush Lodge
Address: Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing