We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backubung Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Backubung Lodge”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just returned from our 4 night stay in the Bakubung timeshare, this was our second visit this year. As usual we had an excellent time, the staff as always were ready and willing to help. On arrival we checked in at the time share office with no problems, we purchased our entry permit at reception and had lunch overlooking the waterhole. We had to wait for our chalet to be prepared but this was no hassle, we were still able to take residence before 4 pm, the official check in time. The unit is comfortable and everything I have come to expect at Bakubung, we attended the Tuesday morning meet and greet, had coffee and a snack and listened to some verbal nonsence from a small corner who in my opinion talked rubbish, We entered the park at 4pm I offered my permit for inspection to the security man and entered the park for our first of 8 drives. I have found that the park has improved over the last 12-18 months and most of the roads are good and passable for the family car. The wildlife is sufficient for the park size in my opinion, we saw lions, elefant, rhino, hippo, brown hyeane, Eland, Jackal. as well as the abundant zebra, wilderbeast, springbok, impala, worthog and others. Although we do not usually take the game drives offered, choosing to take our own routes instead, this visit I took the wildlife walk in the park, a great experience.We had breakfast at the picnic site Fish Eagle, tranquility. I am already booked in for our 2 visits in 2014 and look forward to our return. Many thanks to all the staff at Bakubung

Room Tip: We have been in different chalets everytime we visit they all have good qualities, 419 looks down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    302
    69
    26
    12
See reviews for
338
180
37
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had a lovely weekend but it was marred by a small irritation of a lack of service from the hotel staff to our requeat for some toilet paper as we ran out. Asked 3 times and nothing happened. No answer from housekeeping.line so left a message on their answering service. Phoned reception and they promised to organise it. The next morning still nothing so asked reception again before we left for the game drive. Got back and still nothing. We checked out after that.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent a pleasant and relaxing weekend at Bakubung.
On arrival the reception staff were friendly and helpful.
We were assisted with our luggage by friendly ground staff after we had located our chalet.
The chalet was clean and well equipped with a TV, comfortable furniture, kitchen utensils, glassware, and braai facilities.

One small niggle- the main bedroom cupboard had been damaged and did not close properly.A room check by maintenance could have put this right..

Game viewing was great and the small plunge pool attached to the chalet was a godsend after the fairly hot game drives.

The food at the restuarant was very good and the buffet offered a variety of choices.

We can easily recommend Bakubung to our overseas and local friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a chalet with its own plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 184smithers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Bakubung Lodge in Pliansberg Nation Park was a delight. The rooms were clean, and decorated to make you feel at home. The staff went out of their way to accommodate needs. It was the first time in Africa and the safari staff was really great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed in a timeshare in the Bakubang bush lodge.
The timeshare unit was adequately furnished. They had fans in the rooms, but
at times felt we needed air conditioning on the really hot days. Our patio faced the watering hole and we had some fantastic game viewing right in front of our chalet. The ranger at night would walk around and shine his light on the grounds around the resort for any game coming to the the watering hole at night. We did not eat at the restaurant, but cooked our own meals and braai each night. The units were serviced daily by staff.
Unfortunatly the monkeys started to become a nuisance and would dash into our chalets and steal our fruit and whatever else they could carry out. One of the family got bitten by the monkeys when running after them, to keep them away..
Great place for the week, enjoyed out stay and the trips into the Pilanesburg park to see the animals .Tthe staff were efficient, not as friendly as I thought they would be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I thought I was booking into some hobby game park next to Sun City from the pictures on Expedia. Nothing could be further from the truth. Pilanesburg is a proper reserve and the 'Bush Lodge' is a huge accommodation complex INSIDE the park.

Complimentary fruit juice and, idiosyncratically, candy floss for the kids on arrival.

There was also a complementary safari drive for all guests in the room. Park is easy to navigate with a 2WD vehicle. Buffet excellent. Loved the BBQed whole lamb.

Park full of Rhino and elephants. Also spotted lion but still no cheetah (they're there but we didn't see them).

A real bonus for the final night of our trip to Southern Africa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joburg
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Bakubung bush lodge is one of a kind. We stayed here for two nights and no words can express this experience. Best location,beautiful scenery, nice food, spacious rooms, clean bathrooms/ toilets and game drive? wonderful!! a kind of experience that lasts a life time. You are given a choice of either one game drive per person per day or a free entrance to Suncity per person per day. We decided on a game drive and managed to see different species of animals this includes: Zebras, white rhinos,giraffee, spring boks,water bucks,elephants,lioness looking after a cub and one leopard resting on a rock.
Our game ranger ( Lizzie) made it even more interesting due to the fact that she had knowledge of all the animals we came a cross. She was very friendly and involved the children( little rangers ) all the way.
To add to all the excitement, we had dinner in the bush and this was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolkenya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
5.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
645 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
2.6 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
303 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
705 reviews
5.5 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakubung Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Property: Bakubung Bush Lodge
Address: Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing