We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Valentine in the Bush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this trip for the 13th and 14th of Feb and when we got the itinerary initially we were skeptical because there were so many game drives and one very early in the morning. We really wanted a relaxing getaway and this sounded like it was full of activity - but this turned out to be the best part of the trip.

And it makes sense - when you are in the Pilanesberg you are there to see the animals and we saw lots! But I digress- let me do a proper review.

The hotel is located on private land and it is picturesque! Really gorgeous. The rooms are beautiful and have magnificent views to just soak up all the nature and enjoy the sounds. The rooms are also luxurious being mindful that you are literally in the middle of the bush.

The staff were amazing - it is a small lodge - only has 6 guest rooms so it is quite an intimate experience. They go out of their way to make you feel special. It being valentine's day we got a bottle of Champagne and on the game drive the ranger also took us to a romantic viewpoint. Really went the extra mile here and not just sticking to formula. The ranger, Evan, was fantastic. He was a great host and made us feel very at home but most of all he really knows the bush and impressed us on the Game Drives. We really enjoyed these drives so much - it was like our own private nature show - we saw rhino, elephant, lion and also smaller creatures that would normally not get attention but Evan had something interesting to share about every animal.

The only critique I have is on the food - definitely not the quality of it, it was great and tasty - but rather the quantity. Between breakfast and the afternoon tea we didn't have the opportunity to eat again. The one staff member said we should have just asked - so maybe it was just our own fault, but we did get peckish around lunch time despite the later breakfast.

Overall a fantastic place - a fantastic Game ranger and great attention to detail by the rest of the staff (chef, waiters etc.) we hope to go back soon - we still need to see a leopard :))

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Elna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Ha d a great experience at this lodge. Spotted 4 out of the big five, and other species as well. Stayed here two days and had a beautiful experience of the wildlife in South Africa. The lodge facilities where perfect, als o the swimming pool was a nice for a relaxing moment. Breakfast, lunch and diner where well served. It's also nice that this lodge is small based, only 6 lodges are available, if fully booked it's still a small group, which makes this experience even better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrisianEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Thanks everyone at Tshukudu. We had the time of our life. Perfect lodge for nature and relaxation lovers. Highly recommended, so many nice things to see at once. The lodge blends beautifully and discretly well in the bush. Perfect, can't wait to go back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jean-Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Exclusive kid-free zone in the middle of the Pilanesberg. Only 6 chalets ensures that it is peaceful;0) it is not 'over-the-top' luxury. Since there are only a few guests & dinner was around one table - it almost feels like a dinner among friends - especially after 2 game drives together. Lucky for us we had a great group of people! We really enjoyed relaxing on our balcony overlooking the park, beer in hand from the 'included' mini-bar. It was so quiet we could hear the 'noises of nature' from birds to Dassies at the same time having a view over the water hole and all animals that pass by - we saw Wildebeest, impala & Zebra from our room! The safari drives were amazing, our guide, Evan, was very passionate & knowledgeable. He was keen to show us as many animals (& preferably the big 5) as possible. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatashaInGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

..this place is for you!the setting is amazing as well as scenic views...everything is being taken care of by the friendly staff.
our safari guide evan is passionate and respectful of nature and animals and we learned so much from him,thank you so much and we hope to be back there soon!
marie-camille and alex

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My family and I were there in November 2013 and we had the most amazing experience. Our safari was amazing, the food was wonderful and the drinks were always full thanks to Simon and Ernest.

We did all of our game drives with Evan who was unbelievably knowledgable and so patient with our strange questions.

The cabins were beautiful and the attention to detail throughout the entire lodge was unlike anything I've ever experienced before. I would absolutely go back to Tshukudu, in fact I wouldn't even consider going anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We went for two night stay to tshukudu as a couple for a special weekend away. We missed the original transport from the lodge but the staff were very accommodating and sent an additional vehicle to collect us. We were welcomed with a drink, cold towel and an introduction to the schedule. Everyone was really friendly, Shawn especially, who was our guide throughout.

As it is a national park you can only go on the main tracks but soon able to go on management paths as the only lodge allowed. We felt we had a fantastic guide who was so well established in the park and took us to the best sitings. We caught an early morning lion siting and a lion kill that others had not.

The food was amazing. We had a dinner on our balcony which was just fantastic and at no extra charge. A bath had been run ready for a quick soak after safari before dinner. The wine was good and there were no restrictions on timing or volume. The variety and choice of food was really refreshing.

Great stay. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
3.6 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
861 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
710 reviews
5 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
367 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
389 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#4 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tshukudu Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshukudu Bush Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 6805, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: £542 - £708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tshukudu Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tshukudu Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tshukudu Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park
Tshukudu Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing