We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A truly wonderful 2 night break! For once the reality is better than the brochure photos. Service was excellent, Evan and the other staff were very helpful knowledgeable. Stunning location, rooms and setting. Do yourself a favour and book it. Thank you to all the staff for looking after us so well. We will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCCourtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    10
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
106
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very enjoyable stay and personal attention. Good personal attention and learned new things about wild life. Good food and good game walks. Two days is long enough as there is a limit to how many bush drives and walks you can do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this trip for the 13th and 14th of Feb and when we got the itinerary initially we were skeptical because there were so many game drives and one very early in the morning. We really wanted a relaxing getaway and this sounded like it was full of activity - but this turned out to be the best part of the trip.

And it makes sense - when you are in the Pilanesberg you are there to see the animals and we saw lots! But I digress- let me do a proper review.

The hotel is located on private land and it is picturesque! Really gorgeous. The rooms are beautiful and have magnificent views to just soak up all the nature and enjoy the sounds. The rooms are also luxurious being mindful that you are literally in the middle of the bush.

The staff were amazing - it is a small lodge - only has 6 guest rooms so it is quite an intimate experience. They go out of their way to make you feel special. It being valentine's day we got a bottle of Champagne and on the game drive the ranger also took us to a romantic viewpoint. Really went the extra mile here and not just sticking to formula. The ranger, Evan, was fantastic. He was a great host and made us feel very at home but most of all he really knows the bush and impressed us on the Game Drives. We really enjoyed these drives so much - it was like our own private nature show - we saw rhino, elephant, lion and also smaller creatures that would normally not get attention but Evan had something interesting to share about every animal.

The only critique I have is on the food - definitely not the quality of it, it was great and tasty - but rather the quantity. Between breakfast and the afternoon tea we didn't have the opportunity to eat again. The one staff member said we should have just asked - so maybe it was just our own fault, but we did get peckish around lunch time despite the later breakfast.

Overall a fantastic place - a fantastic Game ranger and great attention to detail by the rest of the staff (chef, waiters etc.) we hope to go back soon - we still need to see a leopard :))

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Elna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Ha d a great experience at this lodge. Spotted 4 out of the big five, and other species as well. Stayed here two days and had a beautiful experience of the wildlife in South Africa. The lodge facilities where perfect, als o the swimming pool was a nice for a relaxing moment. Breakfast, lunch and diner where well served. It's also nice that this lodge is small based, only 6 lodges are available, if fully booked it's still a small group, which makes this experience even better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrisianEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Thanks everyone at Tshukudu. We had the time of our life. Perfect lodge for nature and relaxation lovers. Highly recommended, so many nice things to see at once. The lodge blends beautifully and discretly well in the bush. Perfect, can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Exclusive kid-free zone in the middle of the Pilanesberg. Only 6 chalets ensures that it is peaceful;0) it is not 'over-the-top' luxury. Since there are only a few guests & dinner was around one table - it almost feels like a dinner among friends - especially after 2 game drives together. Lucky for us we had a great group of people! We really enjoyed relaxing on our balcony overlooking the park, beer in hand from the 'included' mini-bar. It was so quiet we could hear the 'noises of nature' from birds to Dassies at the same time having a view over the water hole and all animals that pass by - we saw Wildebeest, impala & Zebra from our room! The safari drives were amazing, our guide, Evan, was very passionate & knowledgeable. He was keen to show us as many animals (& preferably the big 5) as possible. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatashaInGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

..this place is for you!the setting is amazing as well as scenic views...everything is being taken care of by the friendly staff.
our safari guide evan is passionate and respectful of nature and animals and we learned so much from him,thank you so much and we hope to be back there soon!
marie-camille and alex

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
3.6 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
794 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
658 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
518 reviews
9.7 mi away
Tambuti Lodge
Tambuti Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
309 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
Ivory Tree Game Lodge
#3 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tshukudu Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshukudu Bush Lodge

Property: Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 6805, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tshukudu Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tshukudu Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tshukudu Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park
Tshukudu Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing