We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“that's what camping is about!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pilanesberg National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane
Reviewed 9 February 2012

i am a memeber of the pilanesberg and go there as often as i can, yes the camp sites can get busy over thhe holiday periods,but you know what that's what camping is about, if you dont like a lot of people then you shouldn;t be there, i have always found the staff friendly and helpfull yes they had a problem with the resturant in the middle of the park,due too fires it burnt down,i should hope by now they have fixed it,problem is if people dont support the facilities they dont have the funds to then repair them! you see more animals in the pilanesberg than you will see in the kruger national park! the bird life is amazing,and it's one of the best game reserves i have ever been to. the abultion facilities are a problem at times because of people walking in and out with dirty shoes!! getting into the showers and then walking out again with the same dirty shoes on the cleaning lady's are working damn hard all the time trying to clean.

Room Tip: i have not used the chalets so can't comment yet will try them soon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soetcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

We rented a 4 bed chalet at Manyane resort in mid-January. Most of the resort was empty because the South African holidays had just finished, but the rate was still around 150 euro. I was in n.35, with a large lounge, one bedroom and an upstairs loft bedroom. The place is nice, nothing fancy but clean and well equipped. We tried the restaurant, which was ok and reasonably priced. The safari was ok, 35 euro each and we saw a lot of animals, which made it definitely worth the trip from Pretoria.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Booked a double chalet room, figuring it is a double bed, we got 2 single beds. Website wasn't working. Chalet was run down and had terrible lighting, could barely see anything. One of the lights in the room had no off switch, so we would have to turn off the mains power before we went to sleep.
Waiters were friendly and food was reasonably priced at the restaurant, but it was not great. Enjoyed the buffet breakfast.
Some of the security guards seemed to go out of their way to be unfriendly and offer terrible service.
Bought some biscuits from the shop on site, they were over a year past expiry.
Pool was very dirty and green.The put put course only had a couple left hand clubs and was run down like everything else.
Game drive place only opened after 9am, had a drive booked, guide came half an hour late, also overpriced, only took us to the areas were you see buck, warthogs, elephants, hippos.
Stayed there dec/jan holidays and most of the chalets were empty, certainly says something about the place.
Totally overpriced at R1630/night for the facilities on offer. Definitely will not go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were trying to book on-line using the Golden Leaport resort website. It offered us a camp site at Bakgatla resort but after entering credit card details an error would occur. When I phoned Golden Leapord they said the system was offline and if I booked with them over the phone it would be 10% more expensive (even though not my fault their system is down). The next day when the system was still down they only then advised me that Bakgatla is actually fully booked even though their website allocated me a camp site. I was then offered the last camp site at Manyane. Arriving at Manyane was pleasant and we were greeted with friendly smiles. However it was very full and cramped - they certainly can pack the tents in. We were very luck to have found a site by the fence away from most of the noise. The ablutions nearest to us only had 1 shower so there was always a queue. The shower floor was covered in mud obviously from peoples shoes but there was noone there to clean it. We then decided to use the ablutions further from us which at least had 3 showers. It was adequately clean but looking run down. The swimming pool is in serious need of an upgrade with paint peeling and green mould on the bricks. On the 2nd morning of our stay someone came to clean out the braai and replace our dustbin bags in our site. We had a HUGE baboon coming through a hole in the fence right by our tent who then proceeded to run through the tents stealing food. Why don't they patch the hole in the fence? He knew exactly where it was so obviously does it often. Going into the reserve is expensive - cost over R200 for 3 adults and 2 kids. We had an amazing experience at Mankwe Dam though, the birds and animals were amazing. A pity the restaurant in the middle of the reserve has closed down so you either need to pack a lunch or make your way back to the campsite.

I used to stay at Manyane often as a child but don't think I will be back to this resort when visiting Pilanesberg again.

Room Tip: Do not go camping there in busy season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NadineinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The resort consists of self catering chalets. A main bedroom at ground floor and an upstairs room with two single beds. We were accompanied by an elderly aunt, who could not manage the stairs. The Golden Leopard resort managers changed our chalet for one which had a downstairs sleeper couch, and this served our purpose perfectly. Our holiday group consisted of two couples, our aunt, and a 22 year old cousin. We had two chalets next to each other, so we could share the braai and kitchen facilities, and have our meals together. We went for dawn and sunset game drives, and had breakfasts at the resort dining room. This accommodation was comfortable, air conditioned, and perfectly fit for purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoamingNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The chalets are basic, but clean. Private braai area and nice bonus. There is an average to poor restaurant in the resort, so I would suggest going self-catering (Although breakfast was included in our booking).

The pool area is ok, and is a plus during the midday heat!

All in all its a basic resort at a mid-level price range. Kruger park offer much better value.

Would I go back: - Probably, purely because i enjoy Pilansberg game reserve rather than because I loved the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnDB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We took our friends on their first trip to South Africa, as we have been in many game reserves and lodges throughout southern Africa. Manyane was the least expensive of all the lodges, but was really surprisingly good value. We each had a most comfortable and spacious chalet, with a small bedroom upstairs suitable for children. The restaurant provided excellent food and the service was top class - typically South African. We went on several self-guided drives, and were pleased that our friends are now hooked on South African game-spotting!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
7.8 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
691 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
832 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyane Resort
Manyane Resort
#12 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
93 reviews
10.4 mi away
Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatla Resort
Golden Leopard Resorts - Bakgatl...
#9 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane

Address: Rustenburg Square cnr Von Wielligh and Wolmar, Rustenburg, Pilanesberg National Park 0299, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: £62 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Going out for an extraordinary adventure often means stepping out of your comfort zone, but not at Manyane Resort in Pilanesberg, South Africa. A haven within the borders of Pilanesberg National Park, the resort embraces you and your party in a world of essential comforts that serves to highlight the raw beauty of your great escape. For starters, the resort offers a wide variety of lodging, from cottage-like Chalets and Safari Tents each furnished with a refrigerator, plus real beds to Caravan Sites and Campsites with electricity. These are then matched with facilities and services that you won’t usually associate with safari accommodations, such as a swimming pool, restaurant, and superette. With all these on hand, it’s easy to go to one of South Africa’s wildlife safaris and just enjoy its numerous outdoor diversions. After all, when the sun goes down and it’s time to retreat to a relaxing and convenient space, Manyane Resort is here to answer your most crucial needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing