We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pilanesberg National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is an excellent place to stay when visiting Pilanesburg National Park. The staff are very friendly and helpful and chalets are wonderful (although a tad bit costly). The food is excellent, I strongly suggest the Impala shank. The best part was the herd of impala that roam around in the premises.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    98
    81
    40
    33
See reviews for
140
76
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Meyerton, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The staff are friendly and only 2 willing to help. Whilst the chalets are a bit on the small side, they are spotlessly clean and comfortable. The facilities are more than adequate for a comfortable stay. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who wants to visit the park without breaking the bank. Definitely GREAT value for money. We will definitely be back. Thank you Manyane for an awesome stay !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The chalets are not worth half the money. The main bedroom is just bearable. The second bedroom had a tiny , tiny!! room up some crazy steep narrow stairs. A certain death trap. The rooms have view or large wall.

The garden is view of long grass. The restaurant is run by great people who must eat all the food. One day the burgers were big and good the next it was tiny little meat pattys or chicken Brests , smaller than a kids McDonnals.

Slow but friendly service. The camp site is dust bowl. And on the long weekend were were there it was like a squatter / refuge camp with a caravan every few meters.

The place needs a BIG LIFT UP.

THE GAME PARK IS FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: Avoid chalets at all costs. Unless you get 50 % off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pilanesberg National Park hotels

Roodepoort, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Visited Pilanesberg NP during the long weekend of 9th August 2012. Camped for three nights. Camping is the cheapest accommodation option. The campsites at Manyane were pretty much full but there was a very nice holiday atmosphere. The whole camp was silent after 10pm may be due to the cold winter nights!
All key personal were very friendly and full of jokes however the staff of the restaurant a bit grumpy and extremely slow! Took the waitress 10 minutes to fetch 6 menus! The kitchen and bar runs out of supplies very quickly, especially over long weekends and holidays. Before you place your order, ask the waitress what is available and what is not. The reply may take 10 – 15 minutes! The food is good.
The ablutions are very tired, missing shower heads, lack of hot water and lack of lights and during peak periods the drains tend to block. Staff were quick to unblock it. However they were clean most of the times, peak hours it can be muddy inside due to heavy traffic. To keep your clothes dry during a shower is a major problem!
The only shop for provisions is located in the campsite and is not well stock other than liquor. Bring all your provisions if you intend to camp. Organized game drives are conducted on open vehicles which can be very uncomfortable if the weather is cold, windy or raining and is fairly expensive! Rather buy a map at the park’s entrance and conduct your own game drives.
Most of the gravel roads are ok for sedan vehicles, no need for a 4x4. The few tar roads in the park needs urgent repairs as there are numerous potholes! There use to be a restaurant at the center of the park, the old Magistrate building. Soon after the World Cup Soccer tournament in South Africa (2010) it burnt down. Since then it was repaired but till today nothing is happening at the building other than working toilets! It’s a shame! Sightings of wildlife and birds are great. Try and prevent camping over weekends as it is a popular place to visit and can be cramped as well as a lot of vehicles on the roads. We’ve visited the park twice a year and still have not seen a Black Rhino, Cheetah, Buffalo and many of the nocturnal animals, but a visit to Pilansberg NP is still a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Opsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The Manyane chalets are comfortable and clean but not very big. A unit that sleeps two people can be cramped. The restaurant decor is very nice (compared to the ugly restaurant at the sister lodge Bagatla) but the food varies between average and good.
Mary, the front office manager, always gives us a 5-star welcome so she makes up for the average service we get from many of the other staff members.
The camp does not have a waterhole but there is a walk that you can do in an enclosed area where there are zebras, antelope and ostriches.
The chalets are expensive for what you get and we therefore prefer to stay at lodges like Kwa Maritane or Ivory Tree that have much better rooms and excellent food. They are 4 and 5 star lodges respectively while Manyane is 3-star, but they do have out-of-season specials and so we end up staying for less than we pay at Manyane!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caen, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed in a chalet in the Manyane Resort : 2 single beds, tv, separate own bathroom with shower, boiler and fridge. Comfortable enough for anyone who is not too comfortable with camping in the bush ! The Resort even has a swimming pool and good restaurant with buffet.
I booked my trip via Eco Africa Travel - Elsabe was very helpful to organise my stay (she answered all my questions about the camp among others) and safari with Outlook SGE Safaris. The park itself is gorgeous. I totally recommend Pilanesberg, the resort, Eco Africa and Outlook (my guide Kylie was fantastic) !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zebra2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goes, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Pilanesberg game reserve is excellent - a lot of game, easily accessible from Pretoria. You don't need a 4X4, a sedan will do.The location of the accomodation at Manyane is perfect. The food is average, sometimes below average. We booked DBB. the buffet diner meal was a little bit disappointing, this was not kudu meat. we ate kudu before, this was cattle. The second night we took a meal from the menu. The meat was very, very tough. The bungalows are o.k. When you leave, close the windows, or else the monkeys will inspect your room.

Room Tip: don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
7.8 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
660 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
797 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
615 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyane Resort
Manyane Resort
#13 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane

Property: Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane
Address: Rustenburg Square cnr Von Wielligh and Wolmar, Rustenburg, Pilanesberg National Park 0299, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pilanesberg National Park
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Golden Leopard Resort - Manyane Hotel Pilanesberg National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing