We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed two nights, had the Family suite, massive main bedroom, had the camp cot in there (they offered a cot, but anyway),had our own Baby sitter, Lorraine. She was a life saver, kids bedroom had two beds plus TV, awesome. Buffet breakfast, buffet dinner, delish, delish! Chef is first class and very good. Lovely time, lots for the kids to do, all activities plus more....Janine and I just recharged batteries and relaxed... who needs self- catering here?

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Janine & William,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at Sparkling Waters Hotel, and thank you for your wonderful compliments.
All hotel reviews are discussed in staff meetings as they assist us in evaluating if guest expectations are exceeded.
We look forward to opening our doors to you again on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    28
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
27
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

If you want to spend a weekend away to a very exclusive place and not far away from Soweto, then the Sparkling Waters Hotel is a must! We enjoyed our stay there and my wife said the Spa facilities are awesome.
More importantly, the guest helpdesk questionnaire you complete on departure is dealt with professionally - follow up and feedback was handled to my satisfaction.
I will definitely make another turn at the hotel soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Papi,

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review, following on from our own Guest Questionnaire.
We pride ourselves on hosting many repeat guests that enjoy our hospitality. Our proximity from Gauteng, just an hour from Pretoria and 1.5 hours from Joburg, is a bonus that makes us a favorite destination for a perfect getaway.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked this accommodation not expecting much. However my booking e-mails were replied to very promptly. From arrival, service was fast and attentive. Rooms are very big, and bathrooms very spacious too. There is a fantastic breakfast spread, and the dinner buffets are awesome.

What surprised me most is on the day we were due to arrive, we had a car rental problem at the airport. This is were sparkling waters really impressed, they noticed we were late and called us to ask if we had eaten, as the restaurant closes at 9pm, could they dish up some food for us, so we could at least have dinner upon arrival. We checked into our rooms at around 9:30pm and there was a nice warm meal waiting for us. Fantastic, after a long day of travelling.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will return again in Feb 2015 for the Xterra Buffelspoort event.

This time I will allow myself more time to enjoy the fantastic facilities.

Room Tip: Try to enjoy all the amenities on offer, there are a fair few. You will be kept very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Matthew,

Thank you for your kind thoughts about the hotel.
We are delighted that your expectations were exceeded, as this follows our service delivery philosphy, and is in line with our motto of "'Going the Extra Mile"
Next time you visit, you may wish to experience the Magaliesberg Canopy Tour, and the Sparkling Health Spa, both operated within our grounds.
We look forward to opening our doors to again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for three nights with my partners daughter and her family which includes three boys 11, 9 and 3. There was lots for the boys to do and they ate separately in the evening with the other kids. We ladies enjoyed the very relaxing Spa. The food was great and the rooms were spacious with nice bathrooms and air conditioning. The garden setting was lovely and all in all I thought it was great value for money. The owners were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Barbara,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa is a family resort, so that parents can relax in the knowledge that their children will be safe and entertained.
Our aim is to exceed our guests expectations, and it is gratifying to read your comments.
We look forward to opening our doors to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My family stayed at sparkling waters for the December holidays for 6 days. It was a memorable experience especially for our son who was kept busy by the various entertainments for kids available. my husband & i were able to rest as our son hopped from the games room to the swimming pool, to water slides & other activities provided by the staff now & then! i had aproblem though with their rooms. the beds were not that comfortable and the bedding is a little bit dull. thers also need to install better TV screens. on another positive note, the food was superb, the baby sitting arrangement is very helpful and the highlight of our stay was the Newyear count down party! a great family holiday destination!

Room Tip: dont knw much about other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmabontle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at Sparkling Waters for a Leadership retreat. They were willing to accomodate us for a Thurs and Fri night, without the Saturday evening having to be included. We took the kids with and they really appreciated the games room, & additional activities laid on for them. And the food was incredible - great variety, tasty and well prepared.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Ever since we done the Magaliesberg Canopy tour at Sparkling Waters hotel we wanted to go back. My husband suprised me last weekend the 29 July and booked us in at Sparkling Waters. What an amazing place. Reception staff was warm and friendly and made us felt right at home. The room was amazing, warm and homely. My husband was concern about the amount of guess and the little space available in the resturant. We decided to go early for dinner to beat the crowd. The resturant was still close when we arrive,a waiter appear asking if he could take our order and also advise that soup was serve outside. When we enter the resturant shortly there after I was blown away. The staff clearly knew what they where doing. Each room was allocated a table that was market off as you walk in so even if you have a quick dinner or just a long kuier dinner that was your table for the night. Voilet our waitress was friendly and quick never let us wait to long for our order. She is a big asset to the hotel. Food was devine and big thumps up to the chef. Great selection and a large variety to choose from, so if you where hungry after dinner then its your own fault. We arrive back at the room and found something amazing something only seem in you fancy hotels, a turn down service. Something sweet was left in the room to round dinner off and hot chocolate to have before going to bed. Breakfast was a repeat of dinner each room was allocated a table. Despite the fact that Voilet done dinner duty the night before she was on her post and ready to serve warm and friendly. Great selection of dishes available and staff ready to serve you at all time.

A big thumps up to this hotel managment and staff. Each one plays a big roll to make this place a success. You guys set a bar for each and every hotel out there and they can learn a lot from you all.

Thanks and thumps up to you all Rina & Johan vd Walt Room 29.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
16.8 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
13.7 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
26.9 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
26.5 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
12.3 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa

Property: Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Address: Rietfontein Farm JQ 348, Rustenburg 0300, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family resort hotel in the Magaliesberg Mountains, approx 35 kms from Rustenburg, 1 hour from Pretoria, and 1.5 hours from Johannesburg. Ideally located for a convenient break away from the cities of Gauteng. Our motto is 'The getaway that's not faraway'. Both Sparkling Spa and Magaliesberg Canopy Tour are located on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing