We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rustenburg
Reviewed 8 April 2014

While traveling we have been staying at the Safari Lodge in Rustenburg for a number of years now.

Our experience has always been of comfort,service,great food and really ,really nice place to take the entire family.


We wanted to Thank the management and staff who have been been absolutely outstanding in customer care. Job well done ,guys.

Kind regards

Ben and Family

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank botfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Ben

Thank you for your review following your stay at Safari Lodge. We thank you further for your kind words about the staff and management-we will definitely pass on the compliments. Kind words from a returning guest is really great and we hope to see you and your family again soon.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

It's not going to win any international awards but if you are looking to get out of town with the kids and don't want to travel too far, this is a great choice. It's budget accommodation at a budget price, fairly basic rooms just two hours outside Johannesburg

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Michael
Thank you for your review following your stay at Safari Lodge. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we do agree that we offer value for money escapes for anyone and everyone. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Orion Safari Lodge for on evening. We booked a luxury rom, as it contains two double beds, which comes in handy as we have children.

The room was quite a bit smaller than I expected a luxury room to be, with the result that the room didn't feel all that luxurious. The very small shower room also didn't feel that luxurious. The room was clean, and everything worked as it should, so no complaints there. The bathroom basin is very dated with small cracks everywhere - which shows the age of the room. Given the rates we paid, my experience was less than luxurious.

We had a buffet style breakfast, and that was superb - lots of choices and lots of food available.

I forgot to take photos of the room, but did take a photo of the swimming pool, which is in desperate need of some treatment for algae.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildeWillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your honest review following your stay at the Safari Lodge. You have raised some valid points which we assure, will be seen to promptly. We are glad that you enjoyed the spread laid out by the chef and his team and the good service you experienced during your stay-we will pass on the compliments respectively.
We do hope we see you and your family again.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Orion Safari Lodge in Rustenburg is a rare gem. The staff really go out of their way to make the stay as pleasant and as enjoyable as possible. The attention to detail is very impressive. It really is the little things - small pleasurable signs of effort and concern. These things count. The food is outstanding!! The rooms are extremely neat and the entertainment excellent. We could not find a single fault. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrill Victori... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Merrill

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Safari. We are delighted that you had a memorable experience during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing only the best experience for our guests. We do agree with you in that the “little things” matter the most and we will continue to make sure that we never overlook them. We will pass your wonderful compliments to the chef, staff and management.

We do hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

What an amazing place - one thing that we can honestly say is that the hotel staff were always friendly, always willing to help and always had a smile on their faces. Their attitudes alone made our holiday/stay a really great one!

Entertainment was fantastic, food was generous and we dont have a bad thing to say about this place and we WILL definitely be coming back! Would most definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Tracy

Thank you for your review following your stay at Safari Lodge Hotel and Convention Center. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we will definitely pass your compliments to the staff and management, especially the chef and his team.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My Husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Orion Safari Lodge in November 2013 and it was wonderful, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and our suite was beautiful. We had such a relaxing time - thank you for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back soon

Room Tip: We stayed in the Executive Suite and it was very private and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Heidi

Thank you for your review following your stay at Safari Lodge. We are glad you had a great time. Hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This being our second weekend at the Orian Safari Lodge in Rustenburg speaks for itself. however this time around it was even better. The service had improved two fold and the smiling extremely helpful staff and GM, Charles just put that special touch to make the stay so special. Beautiful, well appointed and comfortable rooms have all you need. I highly recommend the Orian Safari Lodge for any occasion or for just a break away from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Melanie,

We are very happy that we could host you at Safari Lodge again and thank you for your wonderful review. We are always striving to improve our guest experience and your compliments will be passed onto all staff involved in making your stay pleasant and memorable.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
3.8 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#7 of 13 in Rustenburg
34 reviews
4.1 mi away
Magia Guest House
Magia Guest House
#4 of 13 in Rustenburg
8 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#9 of 13 in Rustenburg
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rustenburg
244 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
22.2 mi away
WoodRidge Palms Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: Donkerhoek Road, Rustenburg 0300, South Africa (Formerly Orion Safari Lodge)
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range: £29 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foothills of the Rustenberg Kloof and Magaliesberg Mountains, the Safari Lodge is easily accessible from all the major metropolitan areas of Gauteng. The tranquil and relaxed country setting, together with its central location, makes it an ideal conference venue, or holiday destination, from which to explore the many attractions and natural splendours of the area.The Coach Restaurant offers gourmet dining and is perfectly complimented by the Usutu Restaurant and Cocktail Bar that serves mouth-watering buffets. This country hotel has numerous activities and facilities onsite. The swimming pool and pool bar are the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day at a conference, or after enjoying a scenic walk in the Rustenberg Kloof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Safari Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing