We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rustenburg
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first stay at any hotel as a couple. We enjoyed every moment and the service was a blessing. The friendly people made us feel so welcome. The food was of the highest standard and was such a variety to choose from. We felt si spoiled all the way. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loureneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for this lovely review. We thank you for all the kind words and compliments and we assure you that we will share with the entire team. We strive to make sure that each guest leaves us with lovely memories and we are happy that we didn't disappoint you. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great and affordable place to stay in Rustenburg if one plans to visit Sun city and Pilanesburg. The inside rooms are modern, big flat screen and a variety of sports channels. The food is great too with a variety for that price. I was impressed with d staff, starting from d gate they are all friendly. The only thing the management need to do is to modernise the outside apparence (looks)of the hotel, the buildings looks old fortunately d inside that matters a lot in up to standards. I didnt like payin the deposit fee, I would expect that from small lodges which charges low low prices.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Farai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Farai

Thank you kindly for such a great review. We appreciate your kind words and honesty and will definitely take your points for consideration. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Charles and your team, deserve all the credit for running a hotel with exceptional service and great food, especially on the Coach. Sam you are a great Maitre D and most caring as are all the staff in the Restaurants and at Reception. When I was 'disappointed' there was no pap with the oxtail, I found it had been made especially for me the next night!!!!!! This is service!

There was always a smiling face to great one and the rooms are kept immaculately clean which is most important to me. Thanks to everyone for making our stay comfortable and enjoyable with laughs and caring all round.

Roland Garros was put on for us.
A thought for the top floor Luxury Suites: why not put down some astro turf or paint and make it a container garden of sorts just to enhance the view towards the mountain. Something to think about in the future.

This is great value for money and we will certainly return in the summer months. Thanks to one and all staff and management. Glynis and Zegui Rozendo

Room Tip: I would most certainly stay in the Luxury Suite. It is great value for money but closer to the tenni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynis0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Glynis

Thank you for this amazing review. We appreciate each and every kind word and compliment which will be passed on to the staff concerned. We are grateful for awesome guests like you who make our establishment great. We are glad to have been of service! We cannot wait to see you again once the warmer months come back.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The entire hotel was built long time ago and is in average condition. The rooms are confortable with new beds that are very hard. There is a number of tv channels and the staff is professional, friendly and helpful. The rooms are joined and the doors are very thin, so sound carries loudly from one room to the other.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abobrinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your honest review following your stay at Safari Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality of our staff-your kind words will be passed on respectively. We also acknowledge the valid points you have raised and will look into the matter. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

While traveling we have been staying at the Safari Lodge in Rustenburg for a number of years now.

Our experience has always been of comfort,service,great food and really ,really nice place to take the entire family.


We wanted to Thank the management and staff who have been been absolutely outstanding in customer care. Job well done ,guys.

Kind regards

Ben and Family

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank botfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Ben

Thank you for your review following your stay at Safari Lodge. We thank you further for your kind words about the staff and management-we will definitely pass on the compliments. Kind words from a returning guest is really great and we hope to see you and your family again soon.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It's not going to win any international awards but if you are looking to get out of town with the kids and don't want to travel too far, this is a great choice. It's budget accommodation at a budget price, fairly basic rooms just two hours outside Johannesburg

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Michael
Thank you for your review following your stay at Safari Lodge. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we do agree that we offer value for money escapes for anyone and everyone. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Orion Safari Lodge for on evening. We booked a luxury rom, as it contains two double beds, which comes in handy as we have children.

The room was quite a bit smaller than I expected a luxury room to be, with the result that the room didn't feel all that luxurious. The very small shower room also didn't feel that luxurious. The room was clean, and everything worked as it should, so no complaints there. The bathroom basin is very dated with small cracks everywhere - which shows the age of the room. Given the rates we paid, my experience was less than luxurious.

We had a buffet style breakfast, and that was superb - lots of choices and lots of food available.

I forgot to take photos of the room, but did take a photo of the swimming pool, which is in desperate need of some treatment for algae.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildeWillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your honest review following your stay at the Safari Lodge. You have raised some valid points which we assure, will be seen to promptly. We are glad that you enjoyed the spread laid out by the chef and his team and the good service you experienced during your stay-we will pass on the compliments respectively.
We do hope we see you and your family again.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
3.8 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#7 of 13 in Rustenburg
34 reviews
4.1 mi away
Magia Guest House
Magia Guest House
#4 of 13 in Rustenburg
8 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#9 of 13 in Rustenburg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rustenburg
244 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
10.6 mi away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: Donkerhoek Road, Rustenburg 0300, South Africa (Formerly Orion Safari Lodge)
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range: £28 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foothills of the Rustenberg Kloof and Magaliesberg Mountains, the Safari Lodge is easily accessible from all the major metropolitan areas of Gauteng. The tranquil and relaxed country setting, together with its central location, makes it an ideal conference venue, or holiday destination, from which to explore the many attractions and natural splendours of the area.The Coach Restaurant offers gourmet dining and is perfectly complimented by the Usutu Restaurant and Cocktail Bar that serves mouth-watering buffets. This country hotel has numerous activities and facilities onsite. The swimming pool and pool bar are the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day at a conference, or after enjoying a scenic walk in the Rustenberg Kloof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Safari Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing