We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not much to see”

Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Rustenburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lush valley basin was declared a reserve in 1961 and protects numerous antelope species and over two hundred documented bird species. Hikers of all skill levels enjoy short hikes, day hikes and overnight camping treks.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not much to see”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Was rather expensive for the 1 hour we spent driving through, no proper map at reception, so do not know if hiking trails or where they start - so we wasted our time and money

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grantley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    7
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rustenburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The nature reserve is not looked after by the "custodians" , there is not a lot of animals visible although they might be in remote areas ?? At the time we visited the "braai " facilities was acceptable and it was relatively safe to spend the day in the reserve BUT the bathroom/toilet facilities was dirty/ did not exist any more ( yes there was buildings ) you had to go back to the main buildings/offices if needed , we can not recommend a visit to the reserve at all unless we revisit and everything has changed for the better for tourists and visitors !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rynders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful game drive”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

beautiful landscape, we were lucky to see a newborn elephant, a 2 week old giraffe, lots of wildebeest, rhinos, hippos etc - experienced guides. Great trip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JasminSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very quiet and small”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great for cycling and running or trail walking! there is a loop that is estimated to be 10 km. This makes for a nice morning run or cycle. Limited game viewing. There are chalet's for staying over night.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jalene v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refreshingly perferct.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I nlike the fact that is on the elevated mountains of Rustenburg Chashane 4. The areal view is so fantastic and with few animals that runs the land scape is just so wow. A good place to relax and enjoy the fresh air.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert Malose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rustenburg Nature Reserve also viewed

Rustenburg, North-West Province
Rustenburg, North-West Province
 
Rustenburg, North-West Province
Rustenburg, North-West Province
 

Been to Rustenburg Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing