We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple chalets surrounded by trees”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rustenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at chalets on our 2 days visit to Pilanesberg national park. It is situated just outside the game reserve. Check-in was bit messy. Resort staff denied our reservation and after lot of communication with travel agent we got our rooms.
Our chalet was neat clean. It has a double bed & 3 single beds, TV, refrigerator, oven, small kitchen & necessary utensils for cooking. Downside is it has only one toilet for 5 people, water supply is erratic. We called hotel staff thrice for the same.
There is small store to cater daily needs. The resort has swimming pool & restaurant. Overall food quality was OK but expensive.
Pilanesburg park is worth visiting as we could spot big 5 except lion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

This past weekend my Wife and I booked in for a camping weekend at the Bakgatla camp site in the Pilansberg for our anniversary. We had previously camped twice at the Manyane resort and decided to give this site a try. To put it mildly it was the most dissapointing revelation ever. The camp sites are pathetically small with hardly a space for your car, the Braai facilities per site are not consistent with some being fixed units right on the parimeter of the adjacent site which would make for an interesting fire hazard, the sites are mis matched and very close to the ablution facilities. An absolute dissapointment and at R700.00 for 3 nights in a tent you would be better off staying at home. Needless to say we turned around and left immediately. It was unfortunately a busy weekend and the Manyane resort was full otherwise we would have stayed there. Things I like about the Manyane resort is that the camp sites are a lot bigger so you never feel you are on top of each other even though it is a much bigger camp with a lot more sites available. The sites are also far enough off the road and side paths whereas at Bakgatla the only decent size site was actually on the bend of the road!,

I definitely recommend Manyane for a weekend away and stay away from Bakgatla, I suggest that Golden Leopard actually invest in upgrading the camp site and perhaps reduce the amount of sites to make it more exclusive? oh and while you are at it, a few more trees for the camp sites would not go amiss!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emailSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Chalet. And it was very comfortable. It has a double bed and 3 single beds, comfortable to sleep 5 adults. Its quite, not very fancy and very good option for those who want to enjoy life at the bush.
What makes this place very attractive, is that they have kept it very simple, with all the facilities handy. Its not a place where you go to pamper your self, its for those who want to enjoy life in the bush and capture a lot of nature and wild. The staff at the resort are very helpful. My family is vegetarian, and the hotel staff ensured we got pure veg meals and they tasted great!. We also did an evening game drive, where we managed to catch quite a few animals, the Lions and Leopards were elusive, but you don't get lucky in just one drive :)
Will recco it to any one who wishes to go to Pillanesburg for a Game drive or even visit Sun City, which is close by. Its a good and a very smart option for those who want to explore Sun City and a good game drive together.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitesh_That
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and I stayed for a two night weekend in a chalet. We were greeted warmly by staff on arrival. Our chalet was very clean and neat. The chalet is set for for full self catering. There is a small superette for odds and ends in the camp. But would recommend using the big Superspar next to Sun City to buy your food supplies. We opted for the half board option and frequented the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Our breakfast was Buffet style which offered a nice variety of breakfast options. Dinner was a three course meal from a hearty starter, very filling main and sweet dessert. The food was actually very good which we could classify as average and just like a home cooked meal. The wait staff very friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this camp for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divediva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The chalet was comfortable though not as luxurious as we expected from the rather high charges. However, the young man who runs the Pilansberg Centre restaurant and shop must be highly commended. I fell, breaking my arm badly on 12th March 2013 and found the urgent, caring actions of the young man and his staff was exceptional, calling the Paramedic from Sun City and then the ambulance from Rustenburg. The concern and help from the kitchen staff at Bakgatla was so appreciated, with meals being specially prepared and even delivered to the chalet. Many thanks to all concerned.

Room Tip: If you are after a 'bush' experience, Lodge 19 is a bit too tucked away in the trees, but fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyp242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at Bakgatla in Chalet No1 which was more that adequate for our needs, it was clean and tidy, compared to the other resorts considerably cheaper too!!!
We only booked the week before we went, and this was the lead into Easter. We were offered a deal for dinner, bed & breakfast for 5256zar or £377.34 on exchange rate. While the meals are not 5* they are more that adequate considering the costs. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant.
Also the park did not charge us non resident rates (unlike the Kruger) so entry for 3 days plus vehicle 125zar!
We were recommended to Bakgatla by a friend of ours who camps there regularly, we did have a quick look at the facilities if camping and they appeared to be of a reasonable standard.
All in all we thought that this was good value for what we have paid.

Room Tip: Pick a chalet as they seem to have recently had some refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nokiarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

BAKGATLA Caravan holiday resort started of as a RCI International resort. Then it dropped and keep silver until 2010 and since then NO Rating. This info is from the Reception Office at Bakgatla.
My Personal experience is that the service dropped considerable from 2010. I am a regular camper at Bakgatla but the resort is at a very low level. 50% percent of the toilets don't work properly, shower curtains and shower heads missing, No warm water or very little warm water, shop badly stocked, electricity trip all the time, water problems, washing machine tokens, etc.
I notice they change all the electric geysers to solar-panel geysers but to my knowledge these geysers point mostly east with a lot of shade from surrounding trees. They only have full sunlight <50% of the day.
The roads in the game park is very bad and full of potholes.
I believe however that these problems can be rectified and it can become a International resort again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DrDaubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
44.8 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
28.1 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#9 of 12 in Rustenburg
94 reviews
48.5 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.3 mi away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#7 of 12 in Rustenburg
34 reviews
16.4 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
62 reviews
43.5 mi away
Rustenburg Boutique Hotel
Rustenburg Boutique Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rustenburg
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla

Address: Rustenburg Square Cnr Von Wielligh and Wolmar, Rustenburg 0299, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Number of rooms: 205
Also Known As:
Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla Hotel Rustenburg
Golden Leopard Hotel Bakgatla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing