We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Asian Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchid Restaurant - CLOSED

The Orchid Restaurant
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Orchid boasts a scrumptious Oriental menu and has proved to be one of the most enjoyable restaurants around. Specialising in a wide variety of authentic Asian dishes, this restaurant seats 130 and accommodates small parties of up to 10 people in the Tatami Room, which is separated from the main dining area by sliding screens. The Orchid boasts a sushi bar and stays open daily for dinner from 18h00 until 23h00.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Asian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We had dinner at The Orchid. My son had sushi and he enjoyed it. My husband and I had the Thai prawn soup and it full of flavour and delicious. We shared a nasi goreng. The portion was huge. It was excellent. I will definitely have this again. Overall great service and great food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    6
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wide range of tasty traditional Thai food. Located on the main street, this restaurant has a relaxing, cosy and friendly atmosphere. Staff are friendly and service is excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Feuerfisch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very surprising experience considering the venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I recently went out to Sun City to handover a Harley Trike as a prize to a lucky gambler! Once we'd handed the trike's keys to its delirious new owner we went looking, somewhat circumspectly, for a restaurant to eat dinner. We didn't expect much but took a chance on the Orchid because we like Oriental food. Honestly, the food was amazing! I had calamari with dried chillies, followed by a Thai sea-food and my wife Sharon had Thai soup followed by Nasi goreng. We had a very good, and reasonably priced, Chenin Blanc.I really couldn't fault any aspect including attentive waiters. Hats off to the Orchid!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
306 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Excellent Food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The food is excellent! We have eaten here on many occasions when in SA and staying at Sun City and have never been disappointed. The service is also fantastic. This time we were celebrating a 40th birthday. We had the back room giving a little more privacy to the group. The food (although a set menu) was again excellent. A must ;)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoedspruit, Limpopo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fair place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The atmosphere was average as was the food. It was well priced and not over the top.
The service was somewhat disappointing as the waiters tried to hoodwink a large table, thinking they were tourists but they were from SA and did not succeed in their quest.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyChappie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orchid Restaurant also viewed

Sun City, North-West Province
Sun City, North-West Province
 
Sun City, North-West Province
Sun City, North-West Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing