We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Ambience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raj Restaurant

The Raj Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Sun City
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Raj is a halaal restaurant in the Sun City Hotel, offering an array of all flavours, spices and aromas of the finest traditional Indian cuisine. The Raj is open daily for lunch from 11h00 to 15h00 and dinner from 18h00 to 22h00.
kshitiz
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Ambience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This Restaurant is located in Sun international hotel . The Restaurant is in the same premises as the casino and it is made in a pretty interesting way thus creating very good ambiance. The service was good and the food was decent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kshitiz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    84
    45
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrible food! Over priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I am Indian & this was terrible food in my opinion.
Firstly - we were 3adults, 3 children - 2 children aged 5 & 2 shared with their parents.
We ordered 4 curries between us. The curries were bad - then on top of that they charged a 10% fee because we were more than 5people. Seriously do you count the 2 & 5 year old - they didnt even order a meal. We complained to the waiters and asked for the manager - who was not around to deal with the matter & the waiters were not helping either. I honestly will not recommend this restaurant to anyone - I for sure will not be back. They seem to be over charge and think its fine!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDreamer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipur,
Level Contributor
193 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very Good, Tasty and Authentic Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

It was good to have indian authentic food at south africa. Not much restaurants of this quality in south africa. We also took dinner at The Raj in Johannesburg...same quality. I think this in the only all indian restaurant in sun city and you should opt for this place even if you wish to eat indian food twice or trice in one trip. Dal Tadka, curries and rice preparations are really good. Little expensive to the level of other restaurants in south afrcia but as compare to indian standards in India it is quite acceptable. Only usd 10 per person.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sanjaykala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Business Meal Gone Sour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

To have a meal at a restaurant at Sun City is quite expensive. But if the experience is shocking on top of this, then it deserves a bad review. Keep in mind a lot of international travelers frequent Sun City. Firstly the service was below standard. Slow, unfriendly and sloppy. The wines on the wine list where not available. The beer was not cold. This is a so called Indian restaurant. Well I suggest no Indian food lover goes there, because the food was shockingly bad.

It was an embarrassment to "entertain" our customers to a meal at the Raj Sun City. Not again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had delicious meal here. The roof above us began to leak after rain and they did not hesitate to move us to another table in a very busy restaurant. The saag paneer and chicken korma were both very tasty and the naan was fresh.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobble2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raj Restaurant also viewed

Sun City, North-West Province
Sun City, North-West Province
 
Sun City, North-West Province
Sun City, North-West Province
 

Been to The Raj Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing