We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Cabanas, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cabanas, Sun City
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were booked for 5 nights but moved to the Cascades as soon as we could. Not good value for money at all. Room was tiny and in dire need of refurbishment. Beds needed new mattresses and sofa bed for kids was shabby and very uncomfortable. Cupboard had extensive water damage and electrical adapters lying on the floor. Lots of noise from surrounding guests.
Resort itself is great with lots to do and kids loved it.
Restaurant was so busy we had to wait for a table at breakfast - however once we got a table it was good.
Main gripe is the room - definitely not worth what we paid.
Wont go back and do not recommend it. Visit Sun City by all means but stay at one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the survey sent to us about your stay. We value your feedback and appreciate the time taken to let us know how you experienced our hotel.

We regret that we did not meet your expectations and wish that we could have made it feel much better. We apologise for the inconvenience.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

The service from the hotel staff was friendly and efficient. Our room was quite small but very clean and had all the amenities required for a comfortable stay. (Hairdryer, bar fridge, loungers on the patio) Our room was on the ground floor and faced the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank cathysmith082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the review on Cabanas. We are very pleased that you found our hotel comfortable with friendly staff.

We hope to see you soon in order to enjoy more facilities around here.

Kind regards

Ntebi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This particular 3 star property needs renovation badly. The room and changing rooms didn't had a door in between. The bathroom doors were transparent with no locks. We didn't stay much there and couldn't get time to use other services at the hotel, so can't review on that. Though the Sun city resort has a lot of activities which make the experience of the stay wonderful; but cabanas is not the recommended property on the resort.

Room Tip: Stay at the other hotels on the resort!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. It is just a pity you did not use the facilities around the Resort as you could have enjoyed them. There is more to offer on this complex

We continuously do upgrades to our properties and Cabanas is one of them.

We apologise for not meeting your expectations.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

At the rates this place charges, and for what one gets, it's pathetic. No wonder the place is empty. With the rand as weak as it is, one would expect the place to be pumping. It is so dead, they haven't even opened the buffet for dinner! It's difficult to rate the service, because there is nothing happening to judge the service on. I always hope when I have to come here that it is going to surprise me, but it just gets worse.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank LTWells101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Good morning sir/madam

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. Sun City has many restaurants that caters for all guests from different units.

We apologise that you wanted to dine at our restaurant specifically and we were closed. We hope that next time you visit us we will be opened. If not we can make reservations for you at other hotels and get transport to take you there.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

At this price, you cant find a better option. It offers value for money, nice location, nice amenities and Nice hospitality. However you are looking for comfort, then you are looking at the wrong hotel.
Some of the problems I faced are these. Rooms are small with glass doors so you have to place curtain always. Washrooms are very small and placement of shower and tub makes getting entire room wet inevitable. They don't help in getting shuttle transfers to Jo'berg. Instead they encourage private transfers at a steep price. Also breakfast options were really bad in comparison to all hotels I stayed in South Africa. Charge heavily for local calls as well. Charged me more than 100 ZAR for 7-8 minutes of calls to Pretoria. Disgusting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vabhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear sir/madam

Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you found Cabanas to be of best value. We are hoping that you will visit us again when you decide to come to Sun City.

We also hope you took good memories back home to share with friends and family members.

Thank you once again

Regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Cabanas is not exceptional but not that bad as well. Didn't stay at the other hotels at sun city, so couldn't compare, but I believe its a good starter. Plenty of facility available but I enjoyed the valley of waves most, and if u stay with the hotel u get a free entrance to the valley of waves, so don't miss it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJJH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for sending a review on your recent stay at Cabanas. We are glad to hear how you enjoyed your stay and the overall activities we have on our resort.

We hope you will take time again and visit us to enjoy more.

Kind regards


Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I had a fabulous stay here
went with my partner and was amazed. At the time of my visit room was beautifully appointed, heard not a peep from the people around me. The level of service was amazing and the selection of food at breakfast was divine. Obviously the furthest from the main "attractions" but the walk was fine.
We used the tours offered on site to go to the Lion Park and a sunset safari an experience I will remember for the rest of my life

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank megwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for the feedback on your stay with us. We are glad that you took good memories with you and enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon bringing more friends and family to enjoy our resort

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.8 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
656 reviews
24.1 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#5 of 6 in Sun City
509 reviews
3 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
863 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas, Sun City

Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: £100 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas, Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas hotel offers guests a contemporary twist and great ‘base’ to explore the resort. As the sun sets over the open spaces and rolling lawns the nights begin at the Cabanas Pool Deck, with chic cocktails and a vibrant island setting. No other resort in South Africa has as wide a variety of accommodation options as Sun City. If you’re looking for unsurpassed 5-star luxury, something to suit the whole family, or your own comfortable unit away from the crowds – we’ve got everything you need. Each hotel has its own unique style, character and attractions. These are your five Sun City accommodation options: The Palace of the Lost City, part of the Sunlux Collection. The 5-star Cascades hotel is elegant, comfortable and central to all of Sun City’s attractions. The flamboyant 4-star Soho hotel boasting the Sun City Casino where all the action is. The 3-star Cabanas hotel and the self-catering time share option, Sun Vacation Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cabanas, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing