We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Cabanas, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabanas, Sun City
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been here a few times and love it every time. The staff are friendly and the room is spacious and clean and very comfy. We also had breakfast here and it was top class. Better than some 5 star hotels in Europe.Will go there again, every opportunity I get!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uggelsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for such feedback on your recent stay. Your feedback is important to us and we are pleased that you enjoyed every minute of it.

We hope to see you again to enjoy more of the facilities around Sun City.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

On our way to Madikwe Reserve we decided to overnight at the Cabanas. Being a Vacation Club member, we have been spoiled with the luxury of their units compared to what we receive at the Vacation Club. Pool bar and pool was being renovated at the time we were there as well as the falls and ponds at the Cascades. Bad timing on our part I suppose. Also disappointing was the aviary which had about 10 birds in it compared to hundreds when we were last at the VC.

The biggest disappointment was the breakfast. If you had fried eggs or omelettes to order the food was warm whereas all the other items were cold and no one seemed to be bothered about it. (I'm not a big fan of cold scrambled egg on cold toast!!) For the price they charge for the breakfasts they could at least ensure that he food is always hot during the hours of service.

I'll think twice about staying in any of the resort's hotels again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for giving us feedback on your recent stay. We regret that we did not meet your expectations.

We have noted your comments and will address them as your feedback is very important to us. Please note that once a year we do our maintenance on different pools and in order to keep the standards in line.


Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Nice hotel inside of suncity, breakfast is good although it gets really busy during peak periods where you have to wait for a table. Rooms are well appointed although the bathrooms could do with some improvement. Staff service was good.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MuhammadHajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear guest

We would like to thank you for taking time to send a review on our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us and very sorry about how you found the bathrooms to be.

We are working on a plan to refurb the hotel and your comments will really help us.

Thank you once again

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We wanted to stay in the 4 star but sadly it was booked out for engen conference. We had to settle for family room with twin beds as that was all that was available.

Theres lots to do in sun city and alot of beautiful sights, but sadly the room we stayed in was disappointing. Small room with hard beds and older toilets. Also bathroom had paint smell. Also small tv.

The worst part was shower - shower curtains & not doors
One has to press a button down constantly to allow the shower to run.

Im glad I only stayed in the hotel for just one night

Room Tip: Goto 4 star hotel rather Or else just goto room to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoePa786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the feedback on our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. We strive daily to make our guest stay a memorable one.

Please accept our apologies and be assured that we take your comments serious and will address the issues you mentioned.

Our sincere apologies one again

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

When i made my choice to book at Cabanas Sun City hotel during my trip to the beautiful South Africa, i reviewed the below comments of others. But i really found this hotel much much better than i expected. It is perfect for a Family! Room was good enough for us specially it is 3 stars hotel so it is fine. Hotel view and landscape is amazing! People there are very helpful with a Smile always printed on their faces. The value was very reasonable compared to other hotels in Sun City. A small zoo located inside the hotel was perfect for my daughter! I think you will all enjoy it! TV system with highly selected channels is available.

I tried also the Dry Clean and it was very good. One of the excellent things i found there also was the breakfast! many many items you will find. Also a sign of Halal food was available which was highly appreciated for my self and my wife.

Little negatives i saw, including that the Wifi was very weak in my room! so i can hardly find any connection. Also for MTN network users, the signal was died inside my room.

All other things was very good. I even recommended this hotel for my friends.

Room Tip: Try to book 2nd Floor Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the feedback on your recent stay. The Cabanas is definitely a family hotel with all the children's activities around it.

We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed every minute of your holiday. We also hope that you took lots of pictures to show your family back home

Thank you once again

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

On arrival, we were greeted by many a porter, eager to whisk our bags away. Our car was parked a mile away, not very convenient. There was apparently no record of our booking. After a scuffle and many a phone call - it was found. This took 45 mins. Rooms very basic and small. Pool restaurant was closed. Dinner buffet a bun fight. I should've known better really.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank gdmm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please note that we strive to make each and every guest happy at Cabanas and apologised that this is not what you felt when you were here.

Please accept our apologies and hope to see you again at our Resort.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The check in was slow, the staff were friendly but were understaffed. The room was very disappointing it was dark and humid. The room was clean but definitely in need of a renovation. Paint was pealing off in the bathroom. I requested a crib when I made my reservation and again at check in, never got it. I asked for the sofa bed to be made, someone delivered sheets and left.

Breakfast had an amazing variety of food service was good.

We had a very expensive sub standard dinner at Santorini in the Cascades, an breathtaking setting but the food was
disappointing.

I can't believe that Sun City and all South African hotels charge per adult and for children over a setting age. I'm in the hotel business and this is highway robbery.

Overall it was very memorable vacation, the game drive to Pilanesberg was the highlight for me. Next time I'll stay at the Palace and pay the extra.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricanKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. I regret that there were elements that did not thrill you during your stay with us. We apologise for this as this is not how we treat our guests.

I will also pass the information to Cascades on Santorini comments. Our sincere apologies and hope that this will not stop you from visiting our resort.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.6 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
0.2 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
635 reviews
803.3 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
815 reviews
22.3 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
3.0 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas, Sun City

Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: £89 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas, Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas hotel offers guests a contemporary twist and great ‘base’ to explore the resort. As the sun sets over the open spaces and rolling lawns the nights begin at the Cabanas Pool Deck, with chic cocktails and a vibrant island setting. No other resort in South Africa has as wide a variety of accommodation options as Sun City. If you’re looking for unsurpassed 5-star luxury, something to suit the whole family, or your own comfortable unit away from the crowds – we’ve got everything you need. Each hotel has its own unique style, character and attractions. These are your five Sun City accommodation options: The Palace of the Lost City, part of the Sunlux Collection. The 5-star Cascades hotel is elegant, comfortable and central to all of Sun City’s attractions. The flamboyant 4-star Soho hotel boasting the Sun City Casino where all the action is. The 3-star Cabanas hotel and the self-catering time share option, Sun Vacation Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabanas, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing