We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away”
Review of Cabanas, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cabanas, Sun City
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Jhb
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Theres certainly never a dull moment at Sun City (except for when you check out and pay the bill), we went for golf at one of the top courses in the world (Gary Player country club) but there is so much more from water sports to safari and lots for the kids as well. This is a massive, well oiled resort..except for the particularly slow service on a number of occasions at the pool bar. if you accept that you will be paying slightly higher prices then you will have a fantastic time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_zaJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased that you had fun at our golf course and around our Resort.

We apologise for the slow service at the pool. We hope you took lots of memories home and that we will see you again

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    238
    188
    91
    80
See reviews for
344
174
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

A bit disappointed on the condition of the room and bathroom as it requires some drastic updating - showing its age.
Issues with access card for room, had to be re activated 5 times over the 2 day stay.
Friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermaak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much on the review you sent to us. We are pleased that you found our staff very friendly.

We really apologise for the key that made you come to reception continuously. Please note that we have noted all your comments.

Kind regards

Ntebi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kshitiz
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Cons: The Room were very small and it was like a small studio room, it felt like there is no separate bathroom .it was open to the room. The disappointing factor was that the hotel has no Room service .Even overall the service is bad in this hotel.i remember when around 11 pm i was felling thirsty and called them for Sending me some packaged bottle i was told to take from vending machine which was on ground level but to fetch from the vending machine i have to go to the reception which was far, and take a coin and again come back and take from vending machine. Ridiculous. Even here we dint find the porters and few other staff member co-operative.

Pros:Despite of flaws , the Property and the room was clean. From my room i have a view of the lake which was quite nice.
the pool area and other common area of the property are quite decent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshitiz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for taking time to send us a review on your recent stay. We apologise for not meeting your expectations.

We do not have room service at Cabanas and we will address that the staff must assist should you need such help with our vending machines.

Thank you for the feedback

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sun City hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nothing much to write home about the Cabanas. It's relatively a comfortable place to stay. No real perks to keep you in the hotel so thank goodness that it is in Sun City resort which has plenty of activities to keep you out of the hotel.

The staff are always pleasant throughout the resort and the breakfast is always a winner.

The rooms need a thorough spring cleaning as this hotel is starting to show its age drastically.

All on all, it really is just an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loyiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the review on your recent stay. We value your feedback very much and all comments are noted and will be addressed.

I am glad that you found more to do on our resort.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The room was good with every feature you could expect, although having to remove a wall panel to get at a plug socket was interesting. It has to be said the room was a bit of a hike from reception but that was probably good for me anyway! The downer was that the hotel had no bar - allegededly as it was off season it wasn't viable so we had to walk down the road to get a drink.........strange

Room Tip: ask for one close to reception and on the same level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the feedback given about your recent stay. We are sorry that we did not meet some of your expectations. We apologise for the inconvenience

We have noted your comments and will address the issues mentioned

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the cabanas for one night when in Sun City in May. Nice rooms, great breakfast but a hotel with no open bar in the evening is poor. Reception telling me to go to the casino next door was not really the answer. We spent over a 1000 rand in another bar/ pub venue in just over an hour so that's what you missed out Cabanos management and we were not the only disappointed guests. When we rang room service for ice they couldn't help but three hours later there was a bucket of ice on the doorstep?

Room Tip: Facing the lake gets the early sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for the review on your recent stay with us at Cabanas. We apologise for not meeting some of your expectations.

We will address the issues you mentioned with our staff to ensure that this does not happen again. We believe that the ice should be delivered immediately when requested.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here couple of years ago, our first time in this area of South Africa
There was 4 adults and 1 child we shared the same chalet and there was more than enough room
Lovely accommodation very spacious and we used the BBQ outside built in a few times
Would definitely return
Loved the valley of the waves
Loved everything about the place
Thumbs up and 10 out of 10
Staff very helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest

After reading you review I realised that you stayed at Sun Vacation Club chalets. We will be passing this to the management there and want to thank you for taking your time in letting us know about your stay.

We value your comment as they keep us alert.


Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.6 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
0.2 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
614 reviews
238.0 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
794 reviews
22.3 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
3.0 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas, Sun City

Property: Cabanas, Sun City
Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas, Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabanas, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing