We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
151
166
121
58
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
166
121
58
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun city hotelsun terracevacation clubgolf courseindian restaurantgary playerlost citynon smokingbusiness conferencebuffet breakfastwater activitieswater parkvisited sun citypool sidecascades hotelwave poolpilanesberg national park
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We had a great family holiday, the rooms where ok and the staff did their best to make our stay enjoyable.
The kids events are brilliant and the facilities do accomodate children.
There is no facility for prams, only one elevator in the entertainment area, so this needs to be looked at.
The waterworld activities are very overpriced, certainly for the average South African holiday maker.
As mentioned in other posts, the hotel has not been maintained and really needs a revamp, it seems like it is still stuck in the 60's.
I would stay at the hotel again, i hope that when i do there have been some changes made. I got the feeling that Sun City is more for the "lower class" visitor and that more attention is on the Palace Hotel.

In general it was a great holiday getaway for our family. We will be trying out The Palace in 2013, so what this space for an update on our stay.

Thanks to the Staff at Sun City, they were great!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heyboyeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Heyboyeesa
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your visit to Sun City resort and your stay at Sun City Hotel. We are committed to given you our valued client million thrills. I apologize that we failed to thrill you in some of the areas of our services in this regard. I have noted your comments and concerns and I can assure you that an action has been taken to rectify the service lapses you experienced.

I trust you will give us another opportunity to satisfy your future lodging needs.

Sincerely
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Accommodation was fine,we had a ground floor room nice and spacious, soft beds with the bonus of outside space which was good as other friends had adjacent rooms. Shower and bath were v good.
The grounds and pool area were top notch with lots of loungers and good service.
Breakfast was extensive and when on the outside terrace at the weekend was a lovely setting.
Staff were very friendly.
Agree the golf course was a pleasure to play and for 96 pounds including club hire was good value.
Now the downside
We stayed for 7 nights and could not believe that there is only one bar in the hotel in the casino. For a hotel of this size thats awful. They had one other serving hatch for drinks in the lobby but no seating. As the casino is smoking your snookered if you want somewhere different to drink.
They had a girl singer on most nights who would not get through the auditions for X factor in the uk.
Its a joke to say Sun City is an alternative to Vegas.
The entertainment centre a 5 minute walk has a bar which closed at 10.30 during the week as did all the food outlets.
In the Hotel itself there is a Chinese which is fine, an Indian which was closed the night we tried and a buffet style which was average.
Best tip is book meals at the PalaceHotel which was superb.
Shame the accommodation and ground facilities were let down by everything else in the hotel or rather lack of it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Paulo
Thank you for the feedback on your visit to Sun City resort, and your stay in Sun City Hotel and Casino. We acknowledge your comments about the services on offer and the operational times of our dinning facilities. The resort offers a variety of restaurants from the Cabanas to the Palace, which, all the guests within the resort has access to. There is 24hours shuttle service too and from any of the Hotels around the resort to access this facilities.
We are committed to providing you with the Million Thrills, and if there is anything else we can do to improve our service to you please share with us.

Sincerely
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

From the staff at the entrance to the complex, porters, receptionists and restaurant staff - the service and friendliness is top class. The buffet supper and breakfast on the terrace - to die for. Stunning room and view. My husband says this is the best golf course in SA. To top it all - the casino pays!!!! What an awesome stay after not having been to Sun City for 10 years !!

Room Tip: We were in room515 and the children in room 514 - overlooking the Golf course which suited my husband as they played a round of golf and could therefore dream about it before and after - hehee
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Terry S

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your last visit to Sun City resort. we appreciate you taking the time and I look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The whole Sun City idea is in my opinion really good. To have different kind of hotels (more expensive and cheaper ones), casinos, many many leisure facilities and to be so close to a game reserve. It looks like the perfect get away for everyone.

Unfortunately it it is badly maintained.

Hotel: I had a towel with holes all over (really big holes), on the wall were some parts badly painted, the drainage didn't work very well and out of 4 towles there were 2 with hair inside.

Entertainment Building: It looks quite old, the walls, the carpet, it just looks like nobody is looking after it.

Reservation: It was really rediculous! We knew about a special and called reservation the day before we wante to arrive but could not do the booking because we didn't have a credit card. So the woman said we can just go the next day, probably there will be space. So we drove there went to reception but they said we must pay the normal rate, they don't do the specials. So after some time we figured out that we had to call the reservation of the hotel, they had to speak to the receptionist and after definitely too much time we could get the room for our special rate. In my opinion not very customer friendly and quite weird that I can't make the booking for a special at reception (it is the same company).

All in all it was fine for the special rate of R 1100 per room per night but definitely not worth for the normal rate of I think R 3000!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S-Nicole-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Svenja N
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your visit to Sun City Resort and your experience at Sun City Hotel and Casino. I sincerely apology for the poor standards that you received during your stay, something I am not proud to repeat.

We strive to provide our guests with seamless and stress free experience, and I am sorry that in this regard we failed to meet your expectation. It is feedback like this that will assist us to improve our services to you, our valued customers.

I trust you will give us another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.

Sincerely
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The accomodations were fine, rooms were clean and a decent size. The hotel grounds were beautiful and the common areas of the hotel were nice. The food was average but having said that we went for dinner at the Palace and that was nothing special either. Compared in price to the Palace I would say you get what you pay for. The Palace is a stunning hotel but about 3x more $$$. The only real complaint I have about Sun City Hotel was the staff...rude and really slow. It was like they really didn't want to be there or you were inconviencing them. The only fellow that went above and beyond was a gentleman at the concierage desk. It was a good change of scenary, we liked playing the slot machines as casino on main floor but if you are staying there pay the money for the hot air balloon ride it was amazing and worth every penny!!! A highlight of our 3 week vacation. Top notch staff, pick up early in the morning and watch the sunrise over the herds of zebra, wildebeast and other animals while in flight.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52Joanne1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Joanne

Thank you for taking the time to give such an extensive review of The Sun City Hotel and the resort. Based on your review, we have taken a closer look at ensuring that our staff are all well trained for the service industry, such as the gentleman you mentioned at the Concierge desk.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to deliver on our promise of a million thrills; the first of which is our dedicated team willing to go over and beyond.

Kind regards
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews