We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
151
166
121
58
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
166
121
58
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun city hotelsun terracevacation clubgolf courseindian restaurantgary playerlost citynon smokingbusiness conferencebuffet breakfastwater activitieswater parkvisited sun citypool sidecascades hotelwave poolpilanesberg national park
Filter
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

At £140 per night, I do not think this hotel is good value for money.
We stayed in 2 family rooms which consist of a double bed and a sleeper sofa each. The rooms are nicely furnished and spotless. The bathroom was also very nice with a great free standing bath. Breakfast was very good and served outdoors.
Now, service. There were some very nice touches, such as opening our beds every night leaving a chocolate on the pillow or changing the towels twice in a day.
We had to phone twice to get some toothbrushes and after waiting for 45 minutes after the second phonecall and giving up, we were woken up at around 12 at night to ask us if we needed the sofa bed to be sorted (???) Very annoying. On the second day, housekeeping woke my daughter up when she was having her afternoon nap, even though there was a 'no disturb' sign up.
But I think the best part was when we tried to use their 'restaurant reservations' desk. We wanted to book a table for dinner at The Palace and they did not have a menu to show to us or even attempted to get one. Being a 'restaurant reservation' desk, is this too much to ask for? Eventually after many complains from my husband, they magically produced a menu. We booked a table and what a surprise! The menu was totally wrong and it was actually for a another restaurant.
Whenever we asked for assistance, we got this feeling of 'I can't be bothered to help you' from the hotel staff. At £140 a night, I certainly expect a little bit more.

Room Tip: Book a table for dinner at The Palace! Worth every penny.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quijanotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Quinjanotango
Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit to Sun City Hotel and Casino and your stay at Sun City Hotel. We strive to providing our valued clients with thrills during their stay and I sincerely apologize that this time we failed to meet your expectation. I really appreciate you bringing this experiences you had to our attention, because, it is feedback like this that will help us improve our services to you our valued client.

Sincerely
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Fortunately no one was murdered or injured but we were robbed at the Sun City vacation club whilst we were in our unit and our phones, camera’s and wallets were stolen from us. After reporting it to the GM at the vacation club who promised us that they would sort the matter out and claim it from their insurance, this was a blatant lie from them to our faces, they have since changed their tune.
So besides blatantly lying to us Sun international have shown us no support or any co-operation what so ever. They have taken over 3 weeks to look into the matter with no correspondence from their side. We have had to constantly follow up on the matter and ask for feedback from the un-cooperative and rude staff, who never respond to our emails or calls.

Not once did any one of their so called investigating team call us to find out what happened. Instead they went off on their own wild goose chase wasting 3 weeks of our time investigating the completely wrong leads.
On top of conducting the completely wrong investigation on what we reported in our case. They then send us an amateur looking and unprofessional letter which insinuates that we lied and that there was no substance to our story. After reading the letter we clearly realised that the investigation was completely out of context and had nothing to do with what we actually reported. (We were with their security for 7 hours on the Sunday writing reports and going back and forth trying to get the issue reported) Clearly a waste of our time.
We even tracked our phones to a nearby location called Chaneng outside Sun City using a tracking app and we did this with the Sun City security and their vehicle but unfortunately we were unable to pin point the phones because he must have switched them off when he saw us patrolling the area looking. Point is they were with us and knew exactly what happened but still screwed up the investigation.
They have left me with no choice but to resort to social media and sites like these so that everyone can see how they treat their guests in these situations. Had they kept their promise and claimed or paid us back for our stuff that was stolen I would have gracefully commended them on how they handled the situation. Instead they tell us to make our own claims and investigate a completely wrong matter which means that the suspect is still at large robbing people and stealing other people’s things.
So my advice to you is to stay away next time someone could get hurt

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We usually stay at the Cabanas Hotel but we were offered this upgrade. Our big thing at the Cabanas is sitting outside and watching the world go by and the boats etc. so we were a bit disappointed to find there was no outside space in our allocated room at Sun City and that all the balcony rooms were "full".

Anyway, we made a plan and sat outside near the very pleasant swimming pool.

The room was amazing, almost the size of two rooms with a nice seating area and double glass doors with the most spectacular view over the pool, the golf course, the lake and the hills. The room looked as if it had recently been refurbished and the bed was huge and very comfortable. The only downside was that the aircon didn't seem to be adequate for the size of the room and it got very warm during the day. The staff did their best to help.

Breakfast outside was good with lots of choice.

A pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homebody97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Homebody
Thank you for wonderful feedback on your last stay with us at Sun City Hotel. we appreciate you taking the time to give feedback and I am sure you will give us another oportunity to service your lodging again.

Kind Regards
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We had a great family holiday, the rooms where ok and the staff did their best to make our stay enjoyable.
The kids events are brilliant and the facilities do accomodate children.
There is no facility for prams, only one elevator in the entertainment area, so this needs to be looked at.
The waterworld activities are very overpriced, certainly for the average South African holiday maker.
As mentioned in other posts, the hotel has not been maintained and really needs a revamp, it seems like it is still stuck in the 60's.
I would stay at the hotel again, i hope that when i do there have been some changes made. I got the feeling that Sun City is more for the "lower class" visitor and that more attention is on the Palace Hotel.

In general it was a great holiday getaway for our family. We will be trying out The Palace in 2013, so what this space for an update on our stay.

Thanks to the Staff at Sun City, they were great!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heyboyeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Heyboyeesa
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your visit to Sun City resort and your stay at Sun City Hotel. We are committed to given you our valued client million thrills. I apologize that we failed to thrill you in some of the areas of our services in this regard. I have noted your comments and concerns and I can assure you that an action has been taken to rectify the service lapses you experienced.

I trust you will give us another opportunity to satisfy your future lodging needs.

Sincerely
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Accommodation was fine,we had a ground floor room nice and spacious, soft beds with the bonus of outside space which was good as other friends had adjacent rooms. Shower and bath were v good.
The grounds and pool area were top notch with lots of loungers and good service.
Breakfast was extensive and when on the outside terrace at the weekend was a lovely setting.
Staff were very friendly.
Agree the golf course was a pleasure to play and for 96 pounds including club hire was good value.
Now the downside
We stayed for 7 nights and could not believe that there is only one bar in the hotel in the casino. For a hotel of this size thats awful. They had one other serving hatch for drinks in the lobby but no seating. As the casino is smoking your snookered if you want somewhere different to drink.
They had a girl singer on most nights who would not get through the auditions for X factor in the uk.
Its a joke to say Sun City is an alternative to Vegas.
The entertainment centre a 5 minute walk has a bar which closed at 10.30 during the week as did all the food outlets.
In the Hotel itself there is a Chinese which is fine, an Indian which was closed the night we tried and a buffet style which was average.
Best tip is book meals at the PalaceHotel which was superb.
Shame the accommodation and ground facilities were let down by everything else in the hotel or rather lack of it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Paulo
Thank you for the feedback on your visit to Sun City resort, and your stay in Sun City Hotel and Casino. We acknowledge your comments about the services on offer and the operational times of our dinning facilities. The resort offers a variety of restaurants from the Cabanas to the Palace, which, all the guests within the resort has access to. There is 24hours shuttle service too and from any of the Hotels around the resort to access this facilities.
We are committed to providing you with the Million Thrills, and if there is anything else we can do to improve our service to you please share with us.

Sincerely
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews