We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kingdom Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$344/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$286/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 21/07
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
150
165
117
56
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
165
117
56
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun city hotelsun terracevacation clubgolf courserelaxing holidaygary playerlost citynon smokingpleasant staybuffet breakfastwater activitiesvisited sun citypool sidewave poolpilanesberg national parkcasinovalley
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Overall the hotel is okay. The housekeeping came twice a day to do up the room, once in the morning and once in the evening.

I complained about the mulfunctioning electrical socket and they came quickly to assess the problem. As they ran out of spares, they came with an acceptable alternative.

The free wifi from the hotel is 30mins a day. One has to be careful to distinguish between 30mins a day and 30MB a day. In the former, 30mins run out very fast when you have to compose messages while the wifi is running. You may just send out 2 messages and the time is out. So compose all the things you want to send and send them out immediately after composing.

There is a Chinese Rest at this hotel known as Orchid Restaurant. They have Chinese chefs from Peking and Guangzhou and therefore food not bad. Pricing is ok but if you are from Asia, order the small portion type. They are actually quite big. Don't order the set menus as they are more expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huikwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Huikwan
Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent visit to Sun City Hotel and Casino. I trust you will give us another opportunity to service your lodging needs and if there is anything else we can do to improve our services to you, please feel free to share it with us.

kind regards

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Spent 4 days and 3 nights in the Sun City Hotel with a family of 4 (2 kids aged 9 and 12). Room facilities were fine with the kids sleeping on a sleeper couch although we had it replaced with 2 single bed mattresses. The room had a bath and shower with a bar fridge and air-condition unit (a definite in the heat) as well as a variety of TV channels. There is a balcony for most rooms but do not leave your door open as there are monkeys and even baboons around. We however only saw them twice and was no nuisance to us.
Service from staff were excellent and any guest request was completed with a smile.
Way to much to do as we did not get through half of the activities available in this time. However be prepared to pay for everything else as extra as only the hotel pools and the Valley of Waves are included in your accommodation price.
Was very hot (average of 32 degrees end of March) but that was fine so kids could swim and the parents lounge around the pool having cocktails or on the sand at the Valley of Waves having drinks. There is 4 tube rides in the Valley of waves in addition to the big wave pool (see photo).
We also did the newly built maze and the crocodile gardens where the kids could hold baby crocs for a photo opportunity.
At night there is quite a variety of restaurants to pick from across the 4 hotels (Palace, Cascades, Sun City Hotel and the Cabanas). We picked a buffet the first night in the Sun City Hotel (was not that great) but enjoyed the Asian restaurant in the Hotel the 2nd night. Our last night we ate at the Greek restaurant in the Cascades. All our meals for an average family of 4 worked out about R900 per meal (inclusive of a tip). Afterwards the adults could go gamble or spend it with the kids in a separate arcade.
Activities we did not get to were golf (2x 18 hole courses), Game viewing in the adjacent Pilansberg Game Park (big 5 viewing), various water activities on the lake, movies, dance shows, clay pigeon shooting, zip lining, archery and the day Spa.
Need to return again to try and get to the other activities we missed out on.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor and near the lifts of the Sun City Hotel (not sure about the other hotels) are close to the noisy section (gambling area of the hotel). For quieter rooms try on higher floors.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DyzellSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear DyzellSA

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your visit to Sun City resort. I will urge to really try one of our courses the next time you visit. please note that Gary Player Course is a walking course and the Lost City Golf Course is golf carts only. We also have the quad biking as well as the Segway tour.

thanks
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

At £140 per night, I do not think this hotel is good value for money.
We stayed in 2 family rooms which consist of a double bed and a sleeper sofa each. The rooms are nicely furnished and spotless. The bathroom was also very nice with a great free standing bath. Breakfast was very good and served outdoors.
Now, service. There were some very nice touches, such as opening our beds every night leaving a chocolate on the pillow or changing the towels twice in a day.
We had to phone twice to get some toothbrushes and after waiting for 45 minutes after the second phonecall and giving up, we were woken up at around 12 at night to ask us if we needed the sofa bed to be sorted (???) Very annoying. On the second day, housekeeping woke my daughter up when she was having her afternoon nap, even though there was a 'no disturb' sign up.
But I think the best part was when we tried to use their 'restaurant reservations' desk. We wanted to book a table for dinner at The Palace and they did not have a menu to show to us or even attempted to get one. Being a 'restaurant reservation' desk, is this too much to ask for? Eventually after many complains from my husband, they magically produced a menu. We booked a table and what a surprise! The menu was totally wrong and it was actually for a another restaurant.
Whenever we asked for assistance, we got this feeling of 'I can't be bothered to help you' from the hotel staff. At £140 a night, I certainly expect a little bit more.

Room Tip: Book a table for dinner at The Palace! Worth every penny.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quijanotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Quinjanotango
Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit to Sun City Hotel and Casino and your stay at Sun City Hotel. We strive to providing our valued clients with thrills during their stay and I sincerely apologize that this time we failed to meet your expectation. I really appreciate you bringing this experiences you had to our attention, because, it is feedback like this that will help us improve our services to you our valued client.

Sincerely
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Fortunately no one was murdered or injured but we were robbed at the Sun City vacation club whilst we were in our unit and our phones, camera’s and wallets were stolen from us. After reporting it to the GM at the vacation club who promised us that they would sort the matter out and claim it from their insurance, this was a blatant lie from them to our faces, they have since changed their tune.
So besides blatantly lying to us Sun international have shown us no support or any co-operation what so ever. They have taken over 3 weeks to look into the matter with no correspondence from their side. We have had to constantly follow up on the matter and ask for feedback from the un-cooperative and rude staff, who never respond to our emails or calls.

Not once did any one of their so called investigating team call us to find out what happened. Instead they went off on their own wild goose chase wasting 3 weeks of our time investigating the completely wrong leads.
On top of conducting the completely wrong investigation on what we reported in our case. They then send us an amateur looking and unprofessional letter which insinuates that we lied and that there was no substance to our story. After reading the letter we clearly realised that the investigation was completely out of context and had nothing to do with what we actually reported. (We were with their security for 7 hours on the Sunday writing reports and going back and forth trying to get the issue reported) Clearly a waste of our time.
We even tracked our phones to a nearby location called Chaneng outside Sun City using a tracking app and we did this with the Sun City security and their vehicle but unfortunately we were unable to pin point the phones because he must have switched them off when he saw us patrolling the area looking. Point is they were with us and knew exactly what happened but still screwed up the investigation.
They have left me with no choice but to resort to social media and sites like these so that everyone can see how they treat their guests in these situations. Had they kept their promise and claimed or paid us back for our stuff that was stolen I would have gracefully commended them on how they handled the situation. Instead they tell us to make our own claims and investigate a completely wrong matter which means that the suspect is still at large robbing people and stealing other people’s things.
So my advice to you is to stay away next time someone could get hurt

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We usually stay at the Cabanas Hotel but we were offered this upgrade. Our big thing at the Cabanas is sitting outside and watching the world go by and the boats etc. so we were a bit disappointed to find there was no outside space in our allocated room at Sun City and that all the balcony rooms were "full".

Anyway, we made a plan and sat outside near the very pleasant swimming pool.

The room was amazing, almost the size of two rooms with a nice seating area and double glass doors with the most spectacular view over the pool, the golf course, the lake and the hills. The room looked as if it had recently been refurbished and the bed was huge and very comfortable. The only downside was that the aircon didn't seem to be adequate for the size of the room and it got very warm during the day. The staff did their best to help.

Breakfast outside was good with lots of choice.

A pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homebody97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Homebody
Thank you for wonderful feedback on your last stay with us at Sun City Hotel. we appreciate you taking the time to give feedback and I am sure you will give us another oportunity to service your lodging again.

Kind Regards
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews