We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kingdom Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$387
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$347
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Magia Guest House(Rustenburg)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
150
165
117
56
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
165
117
56
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun city hotelsun terracevacation clubgolf courserelaxing holidaygary playerlost citynon smokingpleasant staybuffet breakfastwater activitiesvisited sun citypool sidewave poolpilanesberg national parkcasinovalley
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

my family and i started our south africa tour at sun city for 3 nights.the sun city hotel is right in the centre of all the entertainment.there is a small food court in the main entertainment area for those on a bodget is near hotel just 5 minutes by walk.i think the main issue is that the rooms are so expensive we paid 400 us dollars per night and this is just an average room.lovely view from the room.breakfast is excellent ,included in room rate and you are allowed eat your breakfast in other 2 hotels(cascades and cabanas if you are staying at resort.worth a try breakfast in cascades.pool area is lovely and we loved the small zoo and the play ground garden in the back of the hotel.the staff were ignorant and service is totally missing at breakfast.the staff generally have not been well trained.my mother asked a glass of water for her medicine and waitress show the other side and said the water is there!!!!!unfortunately wifi is not included room rate and it,s really expensive.the water park is free if you are staying in one of the resorts.the valley takes one day at most but it is man made and gets boring you can wander to the other hotels but this does not take up much time.i would only recommend if you are into gambling otherwise spend your time visiting real south africa not this man made so called sun city.if you are a natural lover and like to wonder around this is not the place for you.i would not come here again,although we had an enjoyable time here.3 days was more than enough and i would not recommend this place(the whole sun city)to stay but to those whowant to spend time at casino

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hamidrezamonshizadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear hamidrezamonshizadeh

Thank for the review on your recent visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City Hotel. We value your feedback and we will definitely look in to all the concerns you raised. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectation on some of the areas, but I am confident that there is a lot more within Sun City that you did not experience i.e. water world, Elephant ride, Sag way tour and the hot air balloon ride. This are some of the activities on offer when you visit Sun City.

Thank you kindly
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This was a wonderful stay we had in the Sun City Hotel. We had a ground floor room which opened out onto a patio with peacocks strolling past. The room was beautiful with big comfy beds.

Steps from our room and we were in a casino. It was great fun, but I think the Cabanas is better if you are staying with children. However, Sun City Hotel is nearer to the amazing swimming complex at this place.

We love Sun City, all on site accommodation is really good, its just a case of getting the right price for your visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Flowerbird
Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your previous visit to Sun City. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us and if there is any further that we can do to improve our service to you, please feel free to share with us.

thank you in advance
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A quick weekend getaway, in The Sun CIty Hotel, and found it quite basic but pleasant and affordable the hotel service was very helpful, and I found the rooms a bit small but was adequate for my hubby and me, the bathrooms need a upgrade as well as the towels I found a bit old and hard.....but the rooms and bathrooms were clean. The resort offers plenty of entertainment and it is very relaxing, recommend Gary Player health spa for a full body massage as well as a medi,pedi...also the Santorini restaurant at The Cascades Hotel for a lunch overall quick getaway from busy Johannesburg was well worth it, and safe as there was lots of visible security when we were there especially in the casino.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Rene C

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us at Sun City Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, I am sure we will certainly get another opportunity to service your lodging needs again. We strive to improve our service to you; our valued customer; and it is feedback like this that will help us achieve our goal. I recommend that on your next visit you try our other activities on offer like Segway tours, Elephant back safari and a cultural tour at our cultural village.

Thank you kindly
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Overall the hotel is okay. The housekeeping came twice a day to do up the room, once in the morning and once in the evening.

I complained about the mulfunctioning electrical socket and they came quickly to assess the problem. As they ran out of spares, they came with an acceptable alternative.

The free wifi from the hotel is 30mins a day. One has to be careful to distinguish between 30mins a day and 30MB a day. In the former, 30mins run out very fast when you have to compose messages while the wifi is running. You may just send out 2 messages and the time is out. So compose all the things you want to send and send them out immediately after composing.

There is a Chinese Rest at this hotel known as Orchid Restaurant. They have Chinese chefs from Peking and Guangzhou and therefore food not bad. Pricing is ok but if you are from Asia, order the small portion type. They are actually quite big. Don't order the set menus as they are more expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huikwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Huikwan
Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent visit to Sun City Hotel and Casino. I trust you will give us another opportunity to service your lodging needs and if there is anything else we can do to improve our services to you, please feel free to share it with us.

kind regards

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Spent 4 days and 3 nights in the Sun City Hotel with a family of 4 (2 kids aged 9 and 12). Room facilities were fine with the kids sleeping on a sleeper couch although we had it replaced with 2 single bed mattresses. The room had a bath and shower with a bar fridge and air-condition unit (a definite in the heat) as well as a variety of TV channels. There is a balcony for most rooms but do not leave your door open as there are monkeys and even baboons around. We however only saw them twice and was no nuisance to us.
Service from staff were excellent and any guest request was completed with a smile.
Way to much to do as we did not get through half of the activities available in this time. However be prepared to pay for everything else as extra as only the hotel pools and the Valley of Waves are included in your accommodation price.
Was very hot (average of 32 degrees end of March) but that was fine so kids could swim and the parents lounge around the pool having cocktails or on the sand at the Valley of Waves having drinks. There is 4 tube rides in the Valley of waves in addition to the big wave pool (see photo).
We also did the newly built maze and the crocodile gardens where the kids could hold baby crocs for a photo opportunity.
At night there is quite a variety of restaurants to pick from across the 4 hotels (Palace, Cascades, Sun City Hotel and the Cabanas). We picked a buffet the first night in the Sun City Hotel (was not that great) but enjoyed the Asian restaurant in the Hotel the 2nd night. Our last night we ate at the Greek restaurant in the Cascades. All our meals for an average family of 4 worked out about R900 per meal (inclusive of a tip). Afterwards the adults could go gamble or spend it with the kids in a separate arcade.
Activities we did not get to were golf (2x 18 hole courses), Game viewing in the adjacent Pilansberg Game Park (big 5 viewing), various water activities on the lake, movies, dance shows, clay pigeon shooting, zip lining, archery and the day Spa.
Need to return again to try and get to the other activities we missed out on.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor and near the lifts of the Sun City Hotel (not sure about the other hotels) are close to the noisy section (gambling area of the hotel). For quieter rooms try on higher floors.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DyzellSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear DyzellSA

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your visit to Sun City resort. I will urge to really try one of our courses the next time you visit. please note that Gary Player Course is a walking course and the Lost City Golf Course is golf carts only. We also have the quad biking as well as the Segway tour.

thanks
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews