We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$363/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Kingdom Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$387
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
150
165
117
56
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
165
117
56
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun city hotelsun terracevacation clubgolf courserelaxing holidaygary playerlost citynon smokingpleasant staybuffet breakfastwater activitiesvisited sun citypool sidewave poolpilanesberg national parkcasinovalley
Filter
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

It is a beautiful hotel with nice scenic views from the rooms. The only problem was, most of the rooms are based on the lower floors. (The reception/lobby is on the third floor considered as ground, while most of the rooms are lower on the first & second). The breakfast spread was not interesting to me as most of it was meat & i am a vegetarian.
The rooms are quite spacious, having good ammentites. The staff was very friendly & prompt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rushik1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Rushik

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to Sun City and your stay at fun CityHotel and Casino. we appreciate your time and I trust we will get another opportunity to Service your lodging needs again.

kind Regards
Julius Ramotse
Sun City Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The Sun City Hotel is one of four hotels located in the Sun City Resort in the North West Province of South Africa. It is part of Sun International Group which operates hotels and resorts in Africa and Chile. The Sun City Hotel encompasses the gambling casino in the Sun City Resort having several slot machines and gaming tables.
This review focuses on the Sun City Hotel and not the resort.
On arriving at the entrance to the Sun City Resort as an independent traveller we were directed into a traffic lane reserved for residents. The guard, after cursory questioning, issued a receipt and told us to “follow the road” and we would arrive at the hotel. We actually arrived at two different hotels before locating Sun City hotel.
The car park was several hundred metres from the entrance to the hotel so leaving our luggage in the car we decided to check in first. When we went to do this we were told by the male receptionist that check in time was 02.00 pm and as it was only midday we should return at 02.00 pm. He then went to attend to other matters. This on a mid-week day.
At 01.00 pm we went back to the reception desk and this time a different male receptionist checked us in without any fuss. However when we asked where the room was he pointed and said “this side” and indicated if we needed any further information to ask the concierge. Not a great start to our stay at this hotel.
When we got out of the lift at our floor we were surprised to find what looked like crushed egg shells on the carpet at the lift lobby. It was still there three days later.
Our room, a “luxury” room, was relatively small with an en suite bathroom containing a separate bath tub and shower. An arrangement of artificial flowers was displayed in the bathroom and there was a cake of used soap, new soap and some vials of shampoo and conditioner and body gel provided. A fully stocked mini bar, referred to by the hotel as an “in room bar” was in the room. An indication of prices charged for the items can be obtained from the following examples: a 375ml bottle of white wine was Rands 90.00, a can of Coca Cola was Rands 16.00, a 50ml bottle of Bells Whisky was Rands 37.00 and a 340ml can of Millers beer was Rands 22.50. (US$1=Rands 9.50 approx.) There was a menu provided in the room which indicated that 24 hour room service was available.
Broadband is available but at a cost. The hotel charges Rands 40.00 for 30 minutes, Rands 60.00 for 1 hour and a one day access costs Rands 205.00.
The room and en suite were clean, however the carpet had stains on it and some of the furniture, and particularly the desk had seen better days. There was a flat screen TV with a wide range of TV channels including some in French, German, Portuguese languages as well as English.
In the evening a bed turn-down service was provided, rubbish bins emptied, fresh towels provided and a chocolate placed on the pillows.
When we went to use the hand basin we found that the plug did not work. We contacted housekeeping and after two reminders a maintenance man came and fixed it by replacing the mechanism. The reading light over the bed, which was also broken, could not be repaired because we were told a new fitting was needed and none was available at the time.
As it was our first time at this hotel we looked for a guide to facilities available at the hotel. We could not find one. I then went to the concierge to ask if he had one. The answer was “no”. I went to reception and was told to ask the concierge again. This time he provided me with a guide entitled “A Bird’s Eye View of Sun City”. Just what we needed. Later, when flicking through the TV channels we discovered that this information was available on the in-room TV set but no one thought to tell us this.
A buffet breakfast was served at the Sun Terrace, an outside dining area. At 7.30 am it was quite cold and the staff was rugged up with scarves and coats. Heaters were provided but only one was turned on. There was an ample supply and range of food to satisfy the most discerning. What made breakfast entertaining was the efforts of a troop of Ververt monkeys to steal food off the table. To discourage the monkeys a security guard armed with a pellet rifle to shoot the monkeys when they came too close was present. (See photo) But the monkeys were quite cunning, seemed to be aware what his role was and avoided being shot but at the same time while he was diverted by some of the troop another was able to gather some sugar off empty tables. It should be mentioned that feeding the monkeys and baboons is strictly prohibited by the hotel.
The grounds of the hotel are neatly manicured and there is a large swimming pool. However during our stay after the first day it was closed and being drained for maintenance. Some of the gaming tables were also closed as was the Chinese restaurant on the Monday night.
There were a number of fast food restaurants in the nearby entertainment centre, a short walk from the hotel.
At the rate we paid, Rands 3 406 per night (approx. US$358.50), in our opinion, the hotel is definitely overpriced and does not represent fair value for what is provided. The services and room facilities fall well short of what is provided by other international hotels. Would we stay at this hotel again? The answer is a definite “No!” Would we visit Sun City Resort again? Yes, but we would probably stay at the Cascades.
As an aside we hired a car from Johannesburg’s OR Tambo airport to drive to the Resort. Being new to South Africa we expected to find at least one or two petrol stations along the 185 km (approx.) route. Once out of Pretoria we did not find any until we reached the resort. Ensure you have enough fuel in your car before setting out to reach your destination.

Room Tip: Keep outside windows and doors closed or you might find you have an inquisitive monkey as an uninvited guest.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crocnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Crocnsw
Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit to Sun City resort, and your stay at Sun City Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback, as this is the only way we can improve our service to you our valued client. We strive to Thrill our guests at all times, and I apologize that in this regard we failed to meet your expectation.

I am personally addressing all the concerns that you mentioned, and I can assure you, a different experience on your next visit.

I trust you will give us an opportunity to service your lodging needs again.

sincerely
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager, SCH and Casino.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

my family and i started our south africa tour at sun city for 3 nights.the sun city hotel is right in the centre of all the entertainment.there is a small food court in the main entertainment area for those on a bodget is near hotel just 5 minutes by walk.i think the main issue is that the rooms are so expensive we paid 400 us dollars per night and this is just an average room.lovely view from the room.breakfast is excellent ,included in room rate and you are allowed eat your breakfast in other 2 hotels(cascades and cabanas if you are staying at resort.worth a try breakfast in cascades.pool area is lovely and we loved the small zoo and the play ground garden in the back of the hotel.the staff were ignorant and service is totally missing at breakfast.the staff generally have not been well trained.my mother asked a glass of water for her medicine and waitress show the other side and said the water is there!!!!!unfortunately wifi is not included room rate and it,s really expensive.the water park is free if you are staying in one of the resorts.the valley takes one day at most but it is man made and gets boring you can wander to the other hotels but this does not take up much time.i would only recommend if you are into gambling otherwise spend your time visiting real south africa not this man made so called sun city.if you are a natural lover and like to wonder around this is not the place for you.i would not come here again,although we had an enjoyable time here.3 days was more than enough and i would not recommend this place(the whole sun city)to stay but to those whowant to spend time at casino

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hamidrezamonshizadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear hamidrezamonshizadeh

Thank for the review on your recent visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City Hotel. We value your feedback and we will definitely look in to all the concerns you raised. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectation on some of the areas, but I am confident that there is a lot more within Sun City that you did not experience i.e. water world, Elephant ride, Sag way tour and the hot air balloon ride. This are some of the activities on offer when you visit Sun City.

Thank you kindly
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This was a wonderful stay we had in the Sun City Hotel. We had a ground floor room which opened out onto a patio with peacocks strolling past. The room was beautiful with big comfy beds.

Steps from our room and we were in a casino. It was great fun, but I think the Cabanas is better if you are staying with children. However, Sun City Hotel is nearer to the amazing swimming complex at this place.

We love Sun City, all on site accommodation is really good, its just a case of getting the right price for your visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Flowerbird
Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your previous visit to Sun City. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us and if there is any further that we can do to improve our service to you, please feel free to share with us.

thank you in advance
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A quick weekend getaway, in The Sun CIty Hotel, and found it quite basic but pleasant and affordable the hotel service was very helpful, and I found the rooms a bit small but was adequate for my hubby and me, the bathrooms need a upgrade as well as the towels I found a bit old and hard.....but the rooms and bathrooms were clean. The resort offers plenty of entertainment and it is very relaxing, recommend Gary Player health spa for a full body massage as well as a medi,pedi...also the Santorini restaurant at The Cascades Hotel for a lunch overall quick getaway from busy Johannesburg was well worth it, and safe as there was lots of visible security when we were there especially in the casino.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Rene C

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us at Sun City Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, I am sure we will certainly get another opportunity to service your lodging needs again. We strive to improve our service to you; our valued customer; and it is feedback like this that will help us achieve our goal. I recommend that on your next visit you try our other activities on offer like Segway tours, Elephant back safari and a cultural tour at our cultural village.

Thank you kindly
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews