We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend getaway”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at the Sun City Hotel on the weekend of the 4 October 2013 and checked out on the 6 October 2013. We welcomed the birth of our baby girl in August 2013 and needed to getaway for a small break and this was the perfect place. From the time we arrived to the time we left the staff and service was amazing. At breakfast the staff even carried the baby while we got something to eat. Travelling with a 2 month old baby is not easy but they made a lot more easier with the great service. Thank you for the great weekend and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Rodney

Thank you very much for the excellent feedback about your recent visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City Hotel and Casino. We strive to thrill all our guests and I am glad that we made you stay a memorable one.

If there is anything that you think might need improving, please feel free to communicate it with me directly.

I look forward to seeing you again soon

Sincerely
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed in Sun City earlier this year with my family. I found the rooms to be fair and comfortable, however I didnt expect fair. I expected a fantastic room considering we spent over $400 per night for each room x 4 nights. The plus side however was that the kids loved the hotel and resort so I couldnt put a price tag on that.

Furniture was basic, bathroom was huge. We opened up on a balcony via a sliding door in our room. The big problem here was that all the rooms on the same side opened up on the same balcony / courtyard area. The kid next door kept kicking the ball on our sliding door. The parents were drunk and aggressive when we approached them, so we contacted the hotel security. They did nothing as the guests next door were apparently big gamblers.

The walk to the main pools is quite a distance but the Cabanas is further. If you want to swim alot and enjoy the entertainment secton then book at the Cascades.

The fact that there are only 4 hotels in this resort doesnt leave you with much choice. So if you are visiting Sun City and get a good rate at this hotel, book it, its not special but it will be comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiamondMerchant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Diamond

Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City Hotel and Casino. We strive to thrill all our guests and I am sorry that this time we failed to meet your expectation. I also apologize for the unacceptable response you received after highlighting your concerns about the guests who were staying next to your room.

I can assure you what you experienced is not what we all about at Sun City Hotel. We are definitely look in to the turnaround time and response from management and team to ensure that our guests receives excellent service.

thank you again for the feedback, as this is the only way we can improve our services to you.

I trust you will give us and opportunity to service your lodging needs again.

Sincerely

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great Hotel- just missing the finishing touches- but great for an African hotel.
Rooms were clean and quiet. Excellent golf course- close to all Sun City events- but so are all Sun City hotels as there is an excellent transit system.

Room Tip: 3rd floor south facing room was away from the casino - near the breakfast area- and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ehmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Ehmtl

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit and stay at The Sun City Hotel. We appreciate your support and are looking forward to satisfying your lodging needs again.

thank you in advance
Julius Ramotse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of the best hotels. I have enjoyed my vacation. It is a wonderful place. The entertainment center, casino, hot baloon ride, morning safari, the restaurants are superb. It is a wonderful place to enjoy vacation.

Room Tip: Travel to south africa with vacation at sun city hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaiprakash2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Jaiprakash

Thank you very much for the excellent feedback on your recent visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City Hotel and Casino. We appreciate your comments and we trust you will give us an opportunity to service your logging needs again.

thank you in advance

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Visited this hotel for a company conference. 40+ people in our group. Lots of activities to do near by. The food was tasty but repetitive. rooms were modern and very clean. the grounds are huge and you need a map for the first few days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetKamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Clive V

Thank you very much for the feedback on your recent visit to Sun City. We value your comments and highly appreciate you taking the time to write to us. We apologize for the inconvenience suffered during your visit and I trust this will not deter you from returning to the Kingdom of pleasure.

Please make sure you experience some of our unique attractions next time you visit the resort, i.e. Horse riding, Crocodile Sanctuary, Elephant safari and the Maze of the Lost City.

thank you in advance
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
SCH and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Sun City Group of hotels have very disparate qualities of rooms. The rooms at the Lost Palace and Cascades are superb. The Main Hotel are good whilst the rooms at the Cabanas are basic.
They have a full entertainment Centre for children which is great and a stunning man made beach including waves in the 'sea'.
They have 2 golf courses and the hotel is on the border of a game reserve.
All in all it is a great place for a visit.
However while we were there they were busy with renovations so the heated swimming pool was not working, a number of the restaurants were out of service and, more importantly the was no place after 17:30 where we could relax and have a beer.
The only ' bar where you could actually sit down and have a drink was in the smoking area. That is unacceptable.
Really Sun City you have a great resort, please get your act together.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool in peak periods
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Clive V
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to Sun City. Thank you for the comment on our rooms at the Main Hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience caused by the renovations at the Cascades. You comments on the lounge bar is noted and we will sure look in to it with new development and renovations that will be taking effect in the new future.

Thank you again for your feedback

Regards
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed for four nights for a conference, the room was fine, the bathroom a little compact perhaps and only a very small bottle of water each day necessitating the purchase from the heavily marked up hotel shops. Walking into the hotel lobby is an insult to the senses with neon lights everywhere you look. the view from the room over the surrounding hills and lake however was ver pleasant and it doesn't take more than a few moments to escape to neighbouring Pilansberg and enjoy a little peace. Breakfast was good and there are a range of reasonably priced outlets in the neighbouring entertainment centre, Nandos, Spur etc. I really have nothing in particular to criticise this place for, it simply isn't my think but if you like hustle and bustle and bright lights then maybe its yours.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Smarshy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Smarshy12

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback on your recent visit and stay at Sun City Hotel and Casino. I am sorry that you were not impressed with the glitz and glamour of the of our hotel. We appreciate your honesty and I trust you enjoyed your stay and the conference was a success.

thank you in advance
Julius Ramotse
hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
635 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,779 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
595 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#48 of 110 in Cape Town Central
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Address: | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: £156 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soho is located at Sun International’s flagship resort, Sun City. Originally built in 1979 and named Main Hotel, the hotel was recently rebranded to encapsulate the essence of the renowned Soho destinations located in London and New York – known for their popularity with the in-crowd, eclectic vibe and non-stop action. Sun City’s other hotels – the Cabanas opened in 1980, Cascades in 1983 and The Palace of the Lost City in 1992 – each have strong identities and are independent brands under the Sun City banner. The new brand launches the ‘always on’ Soho hotel, boasting the iconic casino that started it all alongside a host of food and beverage outlets, revitalised bars and nightclubs. The Sun City Theatre inside Soho has been transformed to make space for the millennial bar called Vibes and the nightclub Encore, a modern dance venue. The Revue Bar offers adult entertainment for discerning guests, while the Prive Salon welcomes high-rolling gaming guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing