We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you absolutely have to go to Sun City”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you absolutely have to go to Sun City”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you are looking to experience that true "African Vibe" with unique shops, fantastic sightseeing and fabulous entertainment DONT GO TO SUN CITY!!!

Being a South African myself I have been at Sun City plenty of times, and each time I go I am less and less impressed. I actually wonder how this relic "lost city" is still operational after all these years?

Its almost like the Las Vegas of Africa. Set in the middle of no where, Sol Kerzner decided it would make a perfect spot for a Holiday resort / entertainment city. Sun City was officially opened in 1979, and I don't think they have changed the linen on any of the beds since then. You can forget about decor too. Everything looks and feels old. From the carpets, to the fake "cave man" type rocks everywhere. It is quite kitch to be honest and unlike Las Vegas it doesn't feel like any of the profits made over the years has been spent maintaining not only the Hotel, but Sun City as a whole. The casino is depressing too, the carpets smell of vomit and dust, and 1986.

Prices are Hyper inflated. A normal 500ml Draught beer will set you back anywhere from R15 (USD1.50) to R25 (USD2.50) throughout pubs and restaurants in SA. At Sun City you will pay in excess of R35 (USD3.50)
To make matters worse the service throughout Sun City is probably up there with the worst Ive ever experienced. I have been in the US, and I realize that $3.5 is not a lot for a beer, hell you will be lucky to pay $5 for a Draught at a pub. Its not that its expensive actually, its just that you constantly feel like you being ripped off, and there are places so much better, for less!

All in all I can not recommenced for anyone to go to Sun City. Its too expensive, too dated, too bland, too average, too fake. It will leave you disappointed. If you are planning a trip to SA rather spend your hard earned cash on a game reserve or something where you will get an African experience.

Room Tip: Dont book a room at any hotel in Sun City. Rather go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Tinus H
Thank you for giving us feedback on the recent visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City Hotel and Casino. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation, and sincerely apologize for the inconvinience caused to you as a result. We value your feedback and I can assure you that we are doing everything posible to ensure that we meet and exceed our customers expectations.

I trust you will give us an opportunity to service your lodging needs again in th future

Sincerely

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    149
    98
    52
    42
See reviews for
188
112
7
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at the Sun City Hotel on the weekend of the 4 October 2013 and checked out on the 6 October 2013. We welcomed the birth of our baby girl in August 2013 and needed to getaway for a small break and this was the perfect place. From the time we arrived to the time we left the staff and service was amazing. At breakfast the staff even carried the baby while we got something to eat. Travelling with a 2 month old baby is not easy but they made a lot more easier with the great service. Thank you for the great weekend and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Rodney

Thank you very much for the excellent feedback about your recent visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City Hotel and Casino. We strive to thrill all our guests and I am glad that we made you stay a memorable one.

If there is anything that you think might need improving, please feel free to communicate it with me directly.

I look forward to seeing you again soon

Sincerely
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed in Sun City earlier this year with my family. I found the rooms to be fair and comfortable, however I didnt expect fair. I expected a fantastic room considering we spent over $400 per night for each room x 4 nights. The plus side however was that the kids loved the hotel and resort so I couldnt put a price tag on that.

Furniture was basic, bathroom was huge. We opened up on a balcony via a sliding door in our room. The big problem here was that all the rooms on the same side opened up on the same balcony / courtyard area. The kid next door kept kicking the ball on our sliding door. The parents were drunk and aggressive when we approached them, so we contacted the hotel security. They did nothing as the guests next door were apparently big gamblers.

The walk to the main pools is quite a distance but the Cabanas is further. If you want to swim alot and enjoy the entertainment secton then book at the Cascades.

The fact that there are only 4 hotels in this resort doesnt leave you with much choice. So if you are visiting Sun City and get a good rate at this hotel, book it, its not special but it will be comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiamondMerchant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Diamond

Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City Hotel and Casino. We strive to thrill all our guests and I am sorry that this time we failed to meet your expectation. I also apologize for the unacceptable response you received after highlighting your concerns about the guests who were staying next to your room.

I can assure you what you experienced is not what we all about at Sun City Hotel. We are definitely look in to the turnaround time and response from management and team to ensure that our guests receives excellent service.

thank you again for the feedback, as this is the only way we can improve our services to you.

I trust you will give us and opportunity to service your lodging needs again.

Sincerely

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great Hotel- just missing the finishing touches- but great for an African hotel.
Rooms were clean and quiet. Excellent golf course- close to all Sun City events- but so are all Sun City hotels as there is an excellent transit system.

Room Tip: 3rd floor south facing room was away from the casino - near the breakfast area- and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ehmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Ehmtl

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit and stay at The Sun City Hotel. We appreciate your support and are looking forward to satisfying your lodging needs again.

thank you in advance
Julius Ramotse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of the best hotels. I have enjoyed my vacation. It is a wonderful place. The entertainment center, casino, hot baloon ride, morning safari, the restaurants are superb. It is a wonderful place to enjoy vacation.

Room Tip: Travel to south africa with vacation at sun city hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaiprakash2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Jaiprakash

Thank you very much for the excellent feedback on your recent visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City Hotel and Casino. We appreciate your comments and we trust you will give us an opportunity to service your logging needs again.

thank you in advance

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Visited this hotel for a company conference. 40+ people in our group. Lots of activities to do near by. The food was tasty but repetitive. rooms were modern and very clean. the grounds are huge and you need a map for the first few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetKamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Clive V

Thank you very much for the feedback on your recent visit to Sun City. We value your comments and highly appreciate you taking the time to write to us. We apologize for the inconvenience suffered during your visit and I trust this will not deter you from returning to the Kingdom of pleasure.

Please make sure you experience some of our unique attractions next time you visit the resort, i.e. Horse riding, Crocodile Sanctuary, Elephant safari and the Maze of the Lost City.

thank you in advance
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
SCH and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Sun City Group of hotels have very disparate qualities of rooms. The rooms at the Lost Palace and Cascades are superb. The Main Hotel are good whilst the rooms at the Cabanas are basic.
They have a full entertainment Centre for children which is great and a stunning man made beach including waves in the 'sea'.
They have 2 golf courses and the hotel is on the border of a game reserve.
All in all it is a great place for a visit.
However while we were there they were busy with renovations so the heated swimming pool was not working, a number of the restaurants were out of service and, more importantly the was no place after 17:30 where we could relax and have a beer.
The only ' bar where you could actually sit down and have a drink was in the smoking area. That is unacceptable.
Really Sun City you have a great resort, please get your act together.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool in peak periods
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Clive V
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to Sun City. Thank you for the comment on our rooms at the Main Hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience caused by the renovations at the Cascades. You comments on the lounge bar is noted and we will sure look in to it with new development and renovations that will be taking effect in the new future.

Thank you again for your feedback

Regards
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
238.5 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
238.2 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
615 reviews
23.5 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
480 reviews
238.0 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
712 reviews
234.7 mi away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Property: Soho Hotel
Address: Sun City Resort | R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bushveld, overlooking valleys and surrounded by mountains, lies South Africa’s Sun City Hotel. With spacious rooms and exotic cuisine in any of the themed restaurants, this hotel embodies perfect luxury. Try a Big 5 safari, let the Sun City Casino dazzle you with its exciting slot machines and tables, take a ride with spectacular shows in The Sun City Theatre or travel the short distance to Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing