We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but unremarkable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable but unremarkable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Since its heydays 3 decades ago, Sun City has changed from being a gambling destination to a conference and events venue. There's lots of buzz on events weekends like the annual Golf Challenge or big overseas act like Kylie Minogue, but at other times it's just a soulless space full of bright lights and quiet passageways. Service is largely average though often poor at the pool areas. A good base for a night or two of activities, but otherwise totally unmemorable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear FontyZA,

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback on Trip Advisor. This will certainly assist us in our constant endeavour to improve our service levels in all aspects of the resort.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    145
    94
    50
    38
See reviews for
176
106
7
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I think everybody agree that the whole resort is over priced and no value for money. Specially seeing the service level in the general area such as reception ; porter or waiter at the restaurant.
No passion , smile and enthusiastic. Try to get anything or service to be delivered to you, I guarantee you, minimum waiting time is over 15 min at least and they might not even deliver you the correct stuff you request it. I must give the gardener a big credit, to look after such huge garden area in the middle of no where isn't a easy task. But other then that, Africa is all about wildlife and nature, there are much better places than Sun City that worth your while visiting. This resort is pretty much an " once off" visit will be enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cola0452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Cola0452,

Thank you for taking the time to give us the feedback on our property. This will definitely go a long way in assisting us improve our service levels. It is very disheartening that we failed to deliver on our "million thrills" promise. Having said that, we assure you that we will strive to restore the highest level of customer servcie that we have been known for over the years.

We hope that your last visit will not deter you from visiting us once more in the near future.

Kind regards,
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sun City hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed for two nights, whilst attending a conference. The hotel is good, but there was nothing that made it particular great. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well cleaned. The hotel is looking a bit shabby and I think it needs a bit of a revamp. The setting is lovely and the gardens and extremely well maintained. Breakfast is average.

Room Tip: Make sure it's a non smoking room if you're not a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Kathy M,

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. We humbly appreciate the positive aspects that you pointed out in the survey and will certainly share this with all the team members in the Sun City Hotel.

We are looking forward to hosting you once more in the near future.

Kind regards,

Julius Ramotse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and 3 days, glad it was no more. Room in main hotel lovely but had to change because first one was smokie from previous occupant despite being a non smoking room. Great breakie but you need to be there before 9:00 or you'll be waiting for a table. Food nice and choice plentiful. Service a bit slack... For such a major facility, Internet terrible. Really antiquated system and costs. Unlike Sun Boardwalk PE, which is modern, easy to use, broadly accessible across entire site and FREE. Found the Entertainment Centre bit old and dated. Whilst we were there, very quiet and not much going on for us (50 Ish) or kids (19 Ish). Restaurant choice so so. Santorini at Cascades really nice and typical Greek. Good service, good food and nice atmosphere by the pool. Would recommend. Peninsula looks great but food lousy. Do not go there. We went 20 years ago, won't be rushing back for another 20 (if ever) unless you like the casinos. Much nicer places to see in S Africa.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Callum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Callum M,

We would like to first thank you for taking the time to give us this invaluable feedback.

We would like to acknowledge and appreciate all the positive aspects that you mentioned; it is very motivating and refreshing to learn that we are exceeding some of our guests' expectations.

With regards to staff attitude, internet connectivity and the food at the Peninsula; please be assured that all this areas are being looked into, with definite promise for improvements. This will take the form of re-training, benchmaking ourselves against the competition and also bringing in new and innovative ideas.

As for the "feel" of our resort; we have a very vast and diverse clientelle; locally and internationally that we labour to satisfy. It is always a challenge to incorporate the feel for first timers and our frequent travellers; but nonetheless, we will try and strike a favourable balance.

We hope the few negative aspects will not deter you from visiting us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had holiday points which we used to stay at the Sun City Hotel for the weekend. The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are really nice and the beds are so comfortable! I had heard great things about the buffet breakfast but did not try it as it was R160 a person which I felt was a bit high for a breakfast, given the other restaurants that are available. The resort itself offers a wide range of activities so all-in-all, an excellent stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyD132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Tracy D

Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your stay at Sun City Hotel and Casino. I am sure next time you visit you will try our breakfast buffet. If there is anything further that we can do to improve our services to our valued guests please feel free to share them with us.

thank again for the feedback

regards

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hote and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

From the moment we arrived till the time we left, we had a wonderful family holiday at The Sun City Hotel. I was a little bit concerned about a number of negative reviews on this site prior to our travels but I can confidently say that we had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful and friendly - from the porters to the housekeepers. Even the security guard at the main gate who asked us if we had a good stay.

With a large swimming pool and lots to do, the only problem we had was that we didn't have enough time to do all the activities we had planned to do. Guess we will just have to book another trip sometime again...

Really a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaydnHopewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Hopewell

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City Hotel. I am glad that you were not scared by the negative feedback that you sometimes read about our Hotel. We are committed to wowing our guests at all times.

We hope to see you again soon,

thank you kindly
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Where to start always such an amazing experience, Sun City has always been great and when we visited in July (it was winter) but still amazing! The main hotel always clean and great views over the pool are a bonus especially waking up to the beautiful sunrise. Staff always friendly and helpful it the main hotel.

The Palace needs to lighten up as tourists come from Thousands of miles to see this Marvel but are shown away by a unfriendly man at the door (yes privacy of its customers are needed but we are talking about the Lobby entrance being off limits? Really? ridiculous to say the least.

We had dinner at The Crystal Court and was served by the friendliest person who has been working at Sun City since it opened (30years ago) who was extremely knowledgeable about the resort and menu as well as being a great server.

The Resort had a lot of fantastic walkways and scenic paths very picturesque and great for photo's, The Valley of the Waves as always super clean for those who braved the cold of winter the rides are always good fun.

The wildlife all around you is just amazing the vervet monkeys are too cute and always animated to watch until security starts shooting at them with air guns (very silly as we are actually in their habitat) just leave them be, its nature, its what we come to south Africa for.

All in all a great experience time and time again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Mr. Derek M,

I would like to thank you for the positive feedback that you have posted about Sun City.

We shall continue to labour tirelessly in order to fulfill and exceed all your expectations. We are waiting to welcome you back on your very near future visit.

Kind regards,

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
238.5 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
238.2 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
25.7 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
202.2 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun City Hotel

Property: Sun City Hotel
Address: Sun City Resort | Pilanesberg National Park, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bushveld, overlooking valleys and surrounded by mountains, lies South Africa’s Sun City Hotel. With spacious rooms and exotic cuisine in any of the themed restaurants, this hotel embodies perfect luxury. Try a Big 5 safari, let the Sun City Casino dazzle you with its exciting slot machines and tables, take a ride with spectacular shows in The Sun City Theatre or travel the short distance to Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., South African Hotels, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing