We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun City Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was here actualy in 2001 and I was with a group of Rotary Exchange Students friends and we had a lovely day! We stayed and enjoyed the pools because it was very hot and at night we went to the casino. We didn't spend the night because it seemed very expensive. Anway, the confort is there and I keep a good memory!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yohana_Stupar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Yohana_Stupar,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a brief review of the resort.

We are humbled to learn that you enjoyed yourself the first time such that you decided to visit us again. We shall endeavour to continually exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
The Sun City Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    145
    93
    50
    38
See reviews for
176
106
7
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We traveled in June 2012 as a couple. Firstly entering sun city itself makes you feel super nice! We checked in the hotel and this was the only disappointment that we had with this hotel was the location of the room. It was wayyy off from the hotel lobby and going to the room more than twice a day could spoil it.
We stayed there for 3 nights. The next morning we were served with one of the most grande buffet breakfasts ever had, it was amazing and super tasty! The balcony of the room opened into a beautiful garden. The hotel also had some slot machines of sorts!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMittal1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear MMittal 1987,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and giving us this feedback.

We are very pleased to learn that we managed to thrill you with the "grande breakfast" that you mentioned. We will endeavour to continually improve this.
We however apologise for the loction of the room, unfortunately, the design of the hotel has led to the distribution of the rooms. We are glad though that this was compensated for by its beautiful scenary.

We hope you will be visiting us once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
The Sun City Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Paid 1600$ for a weekend for 2 rooms and at breakfast we are still charged for a cappuccino.
Best to stay away unless u coming to gamble.
Looking at the service levels one can see this hotel has fallen away from its original ways which made it famous.
Also looking at the up keeping one can see that it's all about trying to make the most of the weekend guests instead of trying to offer maximum value.
I doubt the sun international execs know the facts on the ground.
If this is a 5 star then i would expect proper juice at breakfast instead we given a mixture of some chemical liquid resembling a form of juice

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Test T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Test T,

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback.

I would like to assure you that all the issues you have highlighted will be looked into with greater scrutiny and will be addressed accordingly.

We would like to sincere apologise for not living up to your expectations this time around but would like to believe this was an isolated occassion.

We hope this will not deter you from visiting us once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
The Sun City Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sun City hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Was hoping to have a great experience here, as the last stop on a long trip. Rooms and Sun City overall were much better than expected. And looks like recent renovations. Architects, designers deserve credit. Entertainment center and variety of hotels also very nice. Pools, maze, games, cinema, restaurants in the hotel - all good.

The problem is the management. Its clear at practically every turn - the behavior and policies are based on a belief that the guests and employees are potential thieves, rather than 'customers.'

Its prevalent from the downright nasty front desk supervisors, to the concierges with an attitude. Poolside, if you'd like a ratty beach towel that barely covers half of a chair, you need to sign forms in duplicate - and keep the receipt once returned, or else may be charged. We asked for an extra towel and the reply was 'do you promise to bring it back to the desk?'

If housekeepers come into your room for turndown service, they need to to sign a form that they've been there. (apparently not trusted by management.)

At check in, they didn't have anything close to the rooms we requested (adjoining since we have young kids.) the response from the supervisor: "We have you on the same floor, on the same hall. That's it. You want them or not?"

The bad attitude was also evident with policies and some staff at the Palace. Not a welcoming place, and everyone under suspicion under the guise of 'security.'

And then there is the baboon problem. One ran into our neighbor's room and took out handfuls of food. No floor is safe - they scale the walls - entering 6th floor windows with ease. (and taking towels without filling out a form.) And groups of monkeys also made an assault on the windows and doors, with less to show for it.

yes, we paid $1500/ night for this. Not going back unless they clean house in the management ranks. Too bad - guests, and South Africa deserve better.

Room Tip: keep your patio door closed on every floor. if you need adjoining rooms, good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Z1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Z1136

Serviettes
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City hotel. I apologize about the inconvenience you experienced during your visit. I am sorry that the processes that we use appeared to be too extreme for you; we will look in to them and review if necessary. I am not going to excuse the attitude of the staff; all I can see is that our teams are fully trained to deliver excellent service to our customers. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectation in this regard.

The processes and procedures implemented are intended at protecting you are valued client. we see and endeavour to treat you as our valued customer.

We trust you will give us another opportunity to service your lodging needs in the future.

thank you
Julius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited Sun City at the wrong time of year, We did not realise our summer was the coldest time to go.... But the Hotel was fab we had been on Safari and chilled out here for the second week. The afternoon teas are to die for
I would go again but research the season properly next time

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Kaz133,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a great review about the Sun City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to exceed our guests' expectations.

We hope that your next visit during our summer will be equally enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
The Sun City Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Entbbe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I was here for Conference,what lsft a mark was their ''Braai'' which was held at the Valley of Waves at night,bit chilly and food display was good!variety of salads and of course meat,and more meat! will come back when am not on business with my family!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biba096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Biba096,

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. We are very glad to know that we managed to exceed your expectations.

We hope to host you and your family in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manger
The Sun City Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Spent a week in the sun city hotel after 2 busy weeks in Cape Town. Reviews are mixed for this hotel but I had a wonderful stay here. The service from staff was excellent especially bell boys and guests service who sorted out my game drive and restaurant reservations In the palace of the lost city My room was very clean, comfortable bed and very nice bath. Breakfast in the week was a very relaxed with plenty of choice and good quality, on the weekend moved down stairs very busy and if your not there my 9.00 expect a wait for a table and average service at best. The pool area was peaceful over looking the Gary player golf course. Excellent location within the resort near the entertainment centre and most other attractions within walking distance there are shuttle buses available. Free entry into water park as a hotel guest and found prices for nearby game reserve very reasonable. I used the laundry service in the hotel very prompt and laundered to a high quality. Found the resort very quiet in the week but very busy on weekends. I found prices very reasonable but I am from UK with a very good exchange rate. Not the soulless vulgar resort that I was led to believe with something for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Bobcat70,

We would like to thank you for the extensive feedback that you have given us about The Sun City Hotel. It is very humbling to know that there is many apsects of our resort that your found beyond satisfactory. It is our daily endeavour to surpass guest expectations.

We sincerely hope to be hosting you and your family once more in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Julius Ramotse
The Sun City Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
238.5 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
238.2 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
25.7 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
202.2 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun City Hotel

Property: Sun City Hotel
Address: Sun City Resort | Pilanesberg National Park, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bushveld, overlooking valleys and surrounded by mountains, lies South Africa’s Sun City Hotel. With spacious rooms and exotic cuisine in any of the themed restaurants, this hotel embodies perfect luxury. Try a Big 5 safari, let the Sun City Casino dazzle you with its exciting slot machines and tables, take a ride with spectacular shows in The Sun City Theatre or travel the short distance to Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., South African Hotels, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing