We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, if you like casino, many variety of breakfast, good view from the room, watchout for the monkey.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, if you like casino, many variety of breakfast, good view from the room, watchout for the monkey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Over all is very good, food variety in breakfast is very good.
Room decorarionis very good, very modern, bathroom a bit small with bathtub and shower.
I close my door to the balcony, as soon as I saw a monkey start climbing the wall. I believe the hotel should put wire, to prevent the monkey to climbing the wall.
If like to gamble, Casino is inside the hotel.
It is still under renovation when I was there, so it should be better after the renovation is finish.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agustinus U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Agustinus
Thank you for the feedback on your stay at Sun City, we trully appreciate the effort. As you are aware we are an environmentaly friendly City, and we treat our animals with care. We always urge our guests to not feedback the monkeys and to keep their doors locked at all times.

thank again for the feedback

Regards
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    139
    87
    49
    36
See reviews for
170
102
7
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Nearly turned around and left - the foyer of this hotel is under construction so it is really not really inviting with the cordoned off areas,noise from the construction, garish and very tired carpeting, exceptionally lethargic reception staff and bell men who wait until you are queuing up to check in before they offer to help you with your luggage - then when we finally checked in at 3:15pm we were told that the room is not yet ready....??? This bad attitude generally permeates throughout the hotel.
The room looks like it has recently be refurbished and the standard room is very basic so do not expect any 5 star amenities. The TV set is ridiculously small ( never knew they ever made such small TV sets). There are no bath robes or slippers and only the very basic toiletry amenities.
Fortunately we were attending a conference so didn't need to spend much time in the room but would not recommend this hotel unless you are at the Sun City complex for business. I would however recommend the Cascades as a much better option....stay away!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Dear Satain2014

Thank you for the feed back on your recent visit to Sun City. We apologise for the inconvenience that was caused by the refurbishment. We truly appreciate the feedback as this will assist us to improve our services to you our valued guests. We have included the information about the refurbishment in all our guest confirmation letters, including the information to all our travel agents.

Thank you for the feedback.

Regards
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sun City hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel under major renovation and the hotel did not tell the travel agent. Rooms on the 6th floor had great views, quite spectacular in fact. Staff generally not that friendly but those in the dining room -Sun Terrace - are very good. Reception needs a lesson in friendliness compared to some other hotels in South Africa which are first class and perhaps this is where the problem lies- in comparison to others!
Lots to do in the area and the kids really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: 6th floor is great but even that high up, monkeys visit your room to steal coffee, milk, tea from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sartain2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Dear Satain2014

Thank you very much for the respond on your recent visit to Sun City. We are in the process of refurbishing some of the areas around the complex and I am confident the finished product will wow you. Please make an effort to experience all our services in your next visit.

Thank you again for the feedback

Regards
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Sun City Hotel and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed at the Sun City Main Hotel with my family, and overall, we really enjoyed the stay. The rooms were quite comfortable, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Also, the pools and water parks were beautiful. However, it was winter and none of the water features were heated, so we didn't get a chance to experience them. My 12 year old grandson did venture on the Tower of Courage and went back for two more slides. He was shivering but very excited. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The forest and aviary were a treat. We would like to go back - but only during the summer months!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Langsuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Langsuan,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give s this feedback. It is truly refreshing to get such positive feedback from our valued guests.
We endeavour to always live up to our guests expectations and deliver on our promise of a “million thrills.” Unfortunately our winters can get a bit chilly, but generally the afternoons are quite warm for those adventurous to swim.
We look forward to hosting you and your family in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Suncity is something if you miss you will not regret about. We stayed in Sun City Main Hotel. Hotel is dated and was under renovation. Service is good. Breakfast is also good. Pool area is exceptionally well. But, If you are visiting Pilanesberg National Park then only you may stay here or else you are not missing anything here

Room Tip: I guess almost all rooms are pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Gunjan M,
Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback.
I would like to take this opportunity to advise you of the exciting changes that will be as a result of the current refurbishment. These changes are in line with world class standards and some will be very unique to Sun City.
We look forward to getting your feedback on the refurbished property once all has been completed.
Kind regards,
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent 5 days there for a convention in May. During a cocktail party we stayed in the lobby for few hours and we had all the money stolen from my bag in the room. The police came to our room at midnight, discouraging and official complaint. The hotel tried to arrange a sort of investigation but all we had was a letter few days after saying that "they had found nothing sospicious around our room"..... Thank a lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Morena772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Morena772014

Thank you for responding to our survey. We value your business and sincerely regret that the service was not what you expected and deserved. I am sincerely sorry about your experience.

Your comments will help us address the issue you brought to our attention so we can improve our service.

We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.

Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
The Sun City Hotel and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valsad, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

EXCELLENT PLACE.. LOTS OF TO SEE.. NICE FOREST
I m traveled in august-2013. the hotel is having only two elevators and management gives rooms which is too far from elevators.. you have to walk walk and walk.. the pool is excellent but the wave timing is only for 2 hours in the morning.. This place is shawn in many indian movies like Herapheri. Phirherapheri and many mores..

Room Tip: Please ask rooms which is near to elevator else you have to walk walk and walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VKalpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Manager at Sun City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Kalpit01

Thank you for staying with us recently and your feedback.

We really appreciate you taking the time to help us enhance our services. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Julius Ramotse
Hotel Manager
The Sun City Hotel and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
238.0 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
238.8 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
22.9 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
22.5 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun City Hotel

Property: Sun City Hotel
Address: Sun City Resort | Pilanesberg National Park, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the bushveld, overlooking valleys and surrounded by mountains, lies South Africa’s Sun City Hotel. With spacious rooms and exotic cuisine in any of the themed restaurants, this hotel embodies perfect luxury. Try a Big 5 safari, let the Sun City Casino dazzle you with its exciting slot machines and tables, take a ride with spectacular shows in The Sun City Theatre or travel the short distance to Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sun City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing