We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idling a day away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babylonstoren Garden

Babylonstoren Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$153.11*
and up
Private Foodie Tour in Franschhoek from Cape Town
Ranked #87 of 997 things to do in Western Cape
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Idling a day away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Between wine tasting, browsing their great farm store, wandering around in the beautiful gardens and enjoying a break at their Greenhouse restaurant, it's easy to spend a few nice and relaxing hours in Babylonstoren. And as an added benefit you learn a lot about gardening...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    49
    12
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not a gardener but worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I am not a gardener but the garden at Babylonstoren is worth a visit. I think it must take more time and effort to maintain the garden than it does to maintain the vineyards. Lunch at the Greenhouse cafe was excellent. Although the menu is not very big, the food is delicious, especially when most of the salad ingredients come from the garden.
They charge R10 per person to visit the garden but it is worth it. You might struggle a bit with a wheelchair or stroller because the paths are mostly loose gravel.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank doppierunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McGregor, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magnificent, inspiring garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

If you are interested in growing food and like many people, think that a veggie and fruit patch is not attractive, this experience will change your mind. Forever. I have always had a penchant for growing herbs and vegetables and this garden really does show you how it can be done. We were advised to go on a guided tour; good advice. Gundula, our guide, is one of the original gardeners. She is passionate and enthusiastic, and has a great way with people, including children. The tour ends at the Greenhouse which is also a tearoom/bistro, with water on the house (great after a hot trudge through the garden). Our only regret is that we only had room for refreshing juice after a large, late breakfast! It's a place one wants to return to. We shall go back - one can't absorb everything in a single visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GingerMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real paradigm shifting experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

The owner allegedly was inspired to create a garden in the manner of the original Dutch East India company's garden in Cape Town. If true the result would have made van Riebeck jealous. To be taken around this enormous kitchen garden by one of the gardeners who spent many years in the world famous Kirstenbosch, and knows her plants and soil like few others was a privilege we will treasure. I was inspired to revise all my home food gardening and am going to return soon and often. A wonderfully refreshing two hours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The gardens here are well worth a visit especially if you want inspiration for your own vegetable patch. Apparently visitors are free to help themselves to any fruit in the trees. Top tip: go to the Greenhouse cafe for a salad or even better some scones. Absolutely delicious!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LMA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babylonstoren Garden also viewed

Simondium, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Paarl, Western Cape
Western Cape, South Africa
 

Been to Babylonstoren Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing