We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic!”

Babylonstoren Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$147.38*
and up
Private Foodie Tour in Franschhoek from Cape Town
Ranked #88 of 1,025 things to do in Western Cape
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Laguna Hills, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Idyllic!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A highlight of the wine country portion of our South Africa trip and a very memorableexperience. The combination of the landscape architecture with the Cape Dutch architecture gives you the best of a farmhouse and botanical garden setting. The stroll through the grounds was so relaxing and a photographers paradise. The restaurant is lovely with unique offerings uniquely presented.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MFKiesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    56
    13
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolute must see!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The first time I visited Babylonstoren was with my best friend on a girls morning breakfast...it was so beautiful & tranquil. R10 gets you in the gate. We spent hours walking through the gardens looking at the fruit, veggies & herbs...and all the other plants in between. I never imagined that the gardens would be so spectacular. On my second visit I took my husband & 3 year old son along for a leisurely family walk. My little boy had so much fun seeing the squirrels and messing in the water. Really fun place for the kids as long as you keep them hydrated :-) Was quite a warm & sunny day. On this visit I also found that I hadn't even seen half of the gardens on my first visit...so that was another treat. Lovely walk along the river to end off the day. The little shop was also amazing...bought a nice selection of breads & condiments.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieP1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Favorite Vineyard in South Africa”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I will preface this by saying that my wife and I care as much if not more about the look and feel of a vineyard as we do about the wine. The gardens, greenhouse, and outdoor seating area at Babylonstoren are just awesome. You could spend hours just wandering around the gardens and make a great day of it. I would rather drink a glass of wine outside at Babylonstoren than in a stuffy tasting room any day. I highly recommend making it part of your tour through the Winelands.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Walking through the endless gardens consisting of flowers, vegetables, fruits and herbs, this setting is something out of this world. A perfect family outing with a welcoming bistro-style restaurant and lots of space for kids to play.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yolande P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Idling a day away”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Between wine tasting, browsing their great farm store, wandering around in the beautiful gardens and enjoying a break at their Greenhouse restaurant, it's easy to spend a few nice and relaxing hours in Babylonstoren. And as an added benefit you learn a lot about gardening...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babylonstoren Garden also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Babylonstoren Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing