We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missing a star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chapman's Peak Drive

Chapman's Peak Drive
Book In Advance
More Info
US$255.55*
and up
Sea Kayaking and Cape Point Private Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #18 of 997 things to do in Western Cape
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 9 km route runs between Houts Bay and Noordhoek.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Missing a star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because in adverse weather conditions it's not open. The view is wonderful-how can you not love mountain and ocean together? There are places to stop and park and take in the invigorating air and wonderful sites. Unspoilt beaches and ocean as far as the eye can see. Just pray you don't drive behind a slow granny, it's not that easy to overtake. But hey, if you do, just enjoy more of the view!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thandilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    117
    15
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stunning but short”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

For a few miles the views etc are very good, and the road is a spectacular achievement I(and an easy drive). However if you are expecting endless turns and views you will be disappointed, as the actual "stand out" part is really quite short. However I would recommend as part of a trip to Cape Point.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Family B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
402 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views even better on a Bicycle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Drove the Chapman's Peak Drive and this is a breath taking experience. in my view one of the best part is the concrete overhanging structures. Driving is good but the best way is to do this pass is to cycle it, do it if you can get a chance. Cycling up is tough but racing down with the wind in your hair is more than an unbelievable than driving it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelFeetZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An absolute must for if you're in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

It was winter when we went now, so the weather is changeable and questionable. The road was closed in the morning due to adverse weather conditions, but opened just as we got to the toll. The toll is well worth paying as this is a spectacularly stunning route, a scenic drive with various little stop-off next to the road to picnic, take in the views or photograph the magnificent scenery!! I cannot recommend it highly enough and I shall be taking that route a few more times to catch different times of day, different seasons and different weather conditions.
I saw someone else posted about rock falls and the like - I saw no evidence of that, so even if there have been those, the roads are clean, clear and well maintained!
A definite must do!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Such a good idea to pack a little picnic basket, drive to Chapmans Peak and find one of the parking spots, have a quick bite to eat for lunch and take in the absolutely most beautiful views! Toll fee is well worth the views!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LucyBerndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapman's Peak Drive also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 

Been to Chapman's Peak Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing