We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe and beautiiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Route

Garden Route
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.29*
and up
2-Hour Game Drive at the Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve
Ranked #318 of 997 things to do in Western Cape
Certificate of Excellence
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Safe and beautiiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Feb and March are good months to visit with long hot days and very little rain. One of the best drives is along the 7 passes road between George and Knysna with a few Baines bridges if you are into history. Buffalo Bay is worth a visit. Knysna is worth a stay over and Tsitsikama National Park is stunning and worth a couple of nights to do all of the walking and trails and the snorkeling trail.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank payback21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    13
    3
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Koh Samui
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A pleasure to drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We were concerned about a self drive in South Africa as we are nervous drivers. but the Garden Route has good roads, awesome scenery and plenty of people around. Knysna is a must and the surrounding area has plenty to see and do for families. Lovelly beaches. We went inland to Robertson and rhe scenery was amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
14 Thank zannaevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“High expectations ; nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We drove from Knysna to Cape Town as we wanted to see part of the Garden route. This part was not special. Knysna and Mossel Bay has nice parts but if you are expecting this to be a very beautiful and scenic drive, you will be disappointed. A visit to Mossel Bay can be done to relax, or see the seals/sharks but dont do it just for the garden route.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgetown
Level Contributor
915 reviews
608 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“Beautiful Southern Coast of South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I actually wrote reviews of all the individual things we did and places we stayed on our tour of the garden route of South Africa before I ever thought of reviewing the route itself. It is a beautiful, comfortable and safe part of South Africa but if you are expecting to see lions, go to Kruger. Our favourite stops were Knysna and Cape Town. Our favourite things to visit were Table Mountain and the Featherbed Nature Reserve.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Experience Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Is a place worth visiting. very beautiful ...a lot of backpackers on the way for a stop over.i liked wilderness, mossel bay, jeffery's bay,Durban, and my personal favorite was coffee bay

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Florence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden Route also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Western Cape, South Africa
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Western Cape, South Africa
 

Been to Garden Route? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing