We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great way to end our trip.”
Review of Compass House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass House
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great way to end our trip.”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

this was the last place we stayed on our journey through part of south africa and we have no regrets. we had a confirmation email requesting our arrival time and were met by the owner for our off street parking, tour and welcome drinks. we were given a room upgrade (thanks!) and our night was off to a fabulous start. the house is simply stylish..........love it! we had excellent service including multiple sprucing of our rooms each day............the decor was shaken up (changed slightly) and our turndown service included candle lighting and blankets on the balcony. dinner recommendations were spot on.......views were outstanding and it was a great location for all we wanted to see and do in cape town! we will be back!

Room Tip: all rooms looked to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
156
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We regret that the anyway short time planned for Cape Town was further shortened by a 12 hours delayed arrival. The remaining two nights at Compass House where just enough to decide, that we will have to come back one day. It is ideally located, a little outside the center and hence off the hustle and bustle (which anyway in Cape Town is not yet as much as in other cities of this size). I would always come back for any trips to Cape Town or the peninsula.
If you want to explore the city, one of the best ways is the hop-on-hop-off bus. You will find a station in walkable distance (5-10 mins) from Compass House.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodBoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Compass House, its location, accomodation and staff are simply out of this world.

I really don't understand the comments by KatieDuncs. All the signs , in my opinion, are simply to guarantee that everybody is able to enjoy Compass House at its best. After all I wouldn't like to use the computer after somebody had been droppîng crumbs on the keypad or find sand in the very comfortable settee!!!!

Our room had a vast private terrace with an incredible view of the ocean where we were able to totally unwind and recharge our batteries.

Oliver and the staff were very helpful, efficient and friendly, what a pleasure to find such a high level of service.

Rudolph, the hotel manager is simply The Best Hotel Manager, my husband and I have ever met and we both travel extensively for business and pleasure.

Nothing was too much bother for him. Thanks to his advise regarding sightseeing trips, restaurants etc.etc we saw Cape Town at its best and made our holiday a unique and unforgettable experience.

Thanks so much; We'll be back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

What kind of a place has an HONESTY bar with a large yellow sign warning you are being monitored by CCTV in it? What kind of a place assumes you're out to steal the toiletries and frames, on the bathroom wall, a patronising request for you not to pinch the goodies when you can purchase them at reception? What kind of a place is littered with laminated signs telling you not to do things-eat or drink near the computer, bring sand into the house, etc. What kind of a place has PRIVATE marked on the beach towel cupboard and PRIVATE marked in the kitchen drawer where you go to get a knife for breakfast? What kind of a place is so obsessed with telling you what not to do and fastening the toiletry pump dispensers shut that it can't be bothered fixing a faulty shower door and malfunctioning safe? What kind of a place 'welcomes' you with a massively off-putting legal disclaimer upon check-in, then continues the theme if you dare to park your car in the garage? What kind of a place has a state of the art sound system that limits you to one channel when other rooms have tuned in first? Answer- a place that occupies an undoubtedly stunning location in Bantry Bay but just needs to get over itself because it is too consumed with image and not guest comfort. Shame.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KatieDuncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

For the first time we did not want to return home from a holiday. Not that we haven't experienced lovely hotels and holidays, but Compass House was "something else". The rooms were immaculate, with a stunning view over a gorgeous infinity pool out to the Atlantic Ocean. The relaxing pool area was the perfect place to chill in the afternoon and watch the sun set!
The breakfast at Compass House was a feast and easily got you through the day! Being able to eat out on the terrace was very special and a fantastic start to the day. Uncomplicated and charming is the idea of the "honesty bar" from which you could help yourself - and we DID! Important to us is always the interior decorating. It is unpretentiously classy with a very cosy touch. Wonderful!
What makes Compass House so very special and unique however, is the Team. For them, the well-being of the guests is paramount. And what a job they did. The rooms were always spotless, Ethel was a darling - and I'm sure we all slept so well, because she turned down the beds every evening. Last, but by no means least, Rudolph, the hotel manager. Rudolph could not have made us feel any more welcome and comfortable. He made every guest feel special and left no question unanswered, no favour undone. To top it all off, Rudolph's sense of humour is one of a kind. Intelligent whit that elegantly covers up the extensiveness of his perfession.
On behalf of my family I would like to thank the Compass House Team for "the perfect experience".

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Petra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamatave, Madagascar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Compass House is a very special place to say the least. The very first night, the warm greeting we were given by Rudolph and Ethel set the tone for what was to be a truly unique "hotel" experience. The accommodations, much like the scenery, are divine and incomparable. From the turn down service to the delicious breakfasts, the remarkable staff strives to ensure that no detail is left out when treating the guests with class. The comfort of each guest is a priority and any need, if not already anticipated and addressed, is met quickly and expertly. Rudolph especially is always ready with excellent recommendations, smooth assistance, and stimulating conversation and company. Vacationing at Compass House is like visiting with friends and inspires the desire to visit again and again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

These days it is difficult to find the quality of service and excellence that a five rating implies. From the moment we arrived to the the moment we left for the airport we were treated as though we were family. Not only is the location superb and simply beautiful, the atmosphere of the house is very intimate and classy. Rudolph was a magnificent host, there was nothing that was too much to ask. He went above and beyond to ensure that we not only enjoyed our time at the house, but also had many great suggestions for restaurants and day trips.

Compass House is in a class by itself.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tlf431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
260 reviews
1.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
303 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,104 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass House

Property: Compass House
Address: 154 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Compass House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass House, perfectly positioned on the shores of the Atlantic Seaboard, promises its guests the ultimate in style and comfort. Located in Bantry Bay, just two minutes from the beach-front and ten minutes away from the city center, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of the ocean from every room. Compass House enjoys a warm atmosphere. It has wooden floors throughout. The biggest swimming pool in Cape Town and patio lend themselves brilliantly for daytime relaxation and witnessing the beautifully blissful South African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Compass House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass House Hotel Bantry Bay
Compass House Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing