We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm”
Review of Compass House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass House
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This is certainly the place to stay in Cape! From the first moment you feel yourself warmly welcome, safe and relaxed. The Swiss owner (nice young fellow) has truly succeeded in making Compass House an oases of calm. This place is not too big so all the guests can enjoy the calmness and quiet atmosphare. And what the best: NO KIDS in this place!

The fancy rooms add your feel of comfort as well as the garden with the pool. The pool is something special!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelsinkiHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

Anybody who doesn't agree that Compass House way exceeds the norm for service, style, comfort and that unquantifiable special atmosphere that few achieve obviously have way bigger problems in their lives other than a label on a light. What a special three nights we had. Rudolph and Oliver are the perfect foil for each other, then there's the lovely women that seamlessly produce beautiful breakfasts and keep the rooms and rest of the house looking stunning and......the view - a perfect pool and the ocean. Until our next visit we will remember the warmth of the people and the sun not to mention the humour. The happy Kiwi's

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwibird54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is the most relaxing place we have ever stayed! Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived, the view, service, room, pool area, staff, exceeded our expectations. We stayed for two weeks and by the time we left we felt part of the family. We stayed in room 7 which has its own entrance from the outside which suited us really well. The balcony with the two sun loungers was perfect for chilling out in the morning after breakfast and in the evening. It was very private from the rest of the house which we liked and was very spacious for a two week stay.

The house is absolutely gorgeous and extremely comfortable. The drinks bar is extensive and very reasonable – I recommend the Graham Beck (bubbles!)

The staff are extremely attentive and nothing is too much trouble. The attention to detail provided is second to none from the blankets provided outside for chilly evenings to the book torches provided in the rooms!

We would definitely like to return one day and would like to thank Oliver, Rudolph and the rest of the team for a wonderful stay.

Much love
Kat and Lee xxx

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didsbury1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

this was the last place we stayed on our journey through part of south africa and we have no regrets. we had a confirmation email requesting our arrival time and were met by the owner for our off street parking, tour and welcome drinks. we were given a room upgrade (thanks!) and our night was off to a fabulous start. the house is simply stylish..........love it! we had excellent service including multiple sprucing of our rooms each day............the decor was shaken up (changed slightly) and our turndown service included candle lighting and blankets on the balcony. dinner recommendations were spot on.......views were outstanding and it was a great location for all we wanted to see and do in cape town! we will be back!

Room Tip: all rooms looked to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We regret that the anyway short time planned for Cape Town was further shortened by a 12 hours delayed arrival. The remaining two nights at Compass House where just enough to decide, that we will have to come back one day. It is ideally located, a little outside the center and hence off the hustle and bustle (which anyway in Cape Town is not yet as much as in other cities of this size). I would always come back for any trips to Cape Town or the peninsula.
If you want to explore the city, one of the best ways is the hop-on-hop-off bus. You will find a station in walkable distance (5-10 mins) from Compass House.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoodBoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Compass House, its location, accomodation and staff are simply out of this world.

I really don't understand the comments by KatieDuncs. All the signs , in my opinion, are simply to guarantee that everybody is able to enjoy Compass House at its best. After all I wouldn't like to use the computer after somebody had been droppîng crumbs on the keypad or find sand in the very comfortable settee!!!!

Our room had a vast private terrace with an incredible view of the ocean where we were able to totally unwind and recharge our batteries.

Oliver and the staff were very helpful, efficient and friendly, what a pleasure to find such a high level of service.

Rudolph, the hotel manager is simply The Best Hotel Manager, my husband and I have ever met and we both travel extensively for business and pleasure.

Nothing was too much bother for him. Thanks to his advise regarding sightseeing trips, restaurants etc.etc we saw Cape Town at its best and made our holiday a unique and unforgettable experience.

Thanks so much; We'll be back

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

What kind of a place has an HONESTY bar with a large yellow sign warning you are being monitored by CCTV in it? What kind of a place assumes you're out to steal the toiletries and frames, on the bathroom wall, a patronising request for you not to pinch the goodies when you can purchase them at reception? What kind of a place is littered with laminated signs telling you not to do things-eat or drink near the computer, bring sand into the house, etc. What kind of a place has PRIVATE marked on the beach towel cupboard and PRIVATE marked in the kitchen drawer where you go to get a knife for breakfast? What kind of a place is so obsessed with telling you what not to do and fastening the toiletry pump dispensers shut that it can't be bothered fixing a faulty shower door and malfunctioning safe? What kind of a place 'welcomes' you with a massively off-putting legal disclaimer upon check-in, then continues the theme if you dare to park your car in the garage? What kind of a place has a state of the art sound system that limits you to one channel when other rooms have tuned in first? Answer- a place that occupies an undoubtedly stunning location in Bantry Bay but just needs to get over itself because it is too consumed with image and not guest comfort. Shame.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KatieDuncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
692 reviews
1.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
335 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass House

Address: 154 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range: £204 - £606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Compass House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass House, perfectly positioned on the shores of the Atlantic Seaboard, promises its guests the ultimate in style and comfort. Located in Bantry Bay, just two minutes from the beach-front and ten minutes away from the city center, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of the ocean from every room. Compass House enjoys a warm atmosphere. It has wooden floors throughout. The biggest swimming pool in Cape Town and patio lend themselves brilliantly for daytime relaxation and witnessing the beautifully blissful South African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Compass House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass House Hotel Bantry Bay
Compass House Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing